We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, the last being a few days ago. The H.I. is located at the southern end of the Parramatta shopping district, in a side street which is reasonably noise -protected from busier streets. Reception staff are always polite and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are modernish, and a nice touch is the selection of soft or firm pillows. These are already in the room so you don't have to await their arrival. There are multiple restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Room service menu is limited, and as usual, somewhat overpriced with a $5.00 tray delivery fee as an additional charge. Undercover parking is available, however if it's raining you will get wet moving from the car park to Reception. A huge Westfield shopping centre is a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for an easterly facing room if you don't like the summer sun heating your room. They can als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Richard T

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to note that our staff provided you with excellent customer service and were able to assist with your enquiries. Holiday Inn Parramatta is in a great location close to the Parramatta CBD and great shopping and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    169
    68
    13
    11
See reviews for
72
63
19
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the weekend of the Monster Jam show at Sydney Olympic Park and I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Our first experience at Holiday Inn Parramatta and I would stay again. Very clean and presentable. love the king size bed and comfortable pillows. Coming from a womans perspective, the large mirror in the bathroom was a plus! There was a function being held downstairs but if we didn't leave our room we wouldn't have known as there was no sound travelling up the elevator or hallways, only as you enter the lobby which is understandable so that didn't bother us at all. Travelling to Sydney Olympic Park was fast and easy too (took us 10 minutes but beware of peak hour traffic!). Was also impressed by the cheap prices. I would and am going to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sydney and looking for great, cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATMR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear ATMR95

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation. It is great to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations and met your needs. Holiday Inn Parramatta is in a great location, close to the Parramatta and Sydney CBD and is a perfect choice for events at Olympic Park. Guest comfort is our number priority and I am pleased to advise that we are now offering a mini bus pick up service to and from Olympic Park events and concerts

Please keep Holiday Inn Parramatta when next visiting Sydney.

Kind Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having stayed at this very same hotel many years ago when it was part of the Marriott Courtyard, I resigned myself to the fact that this is an old hotel and things may not be up to the standards of hotels I would normally choose. In this instance, the hotel choice was more to do with its close proximity to the Westmead hospital and the availability of the Accessible Room designed to suit the needs of the elderly/wheelchair guests..

I was in for a very pleasant surprise as I entered the lobby - clean, fresh, and modern. A lobby bar/coffee shop and restaurant with a reasonable variety of beverages completes the ground floor. Check-in was quick and efficient. A quick test run of the Lobby bar (ordered coffee and alcoholic beverage) shows a capable and willing bar staff. Later, a 2 course a la carte dinner for 5 people, including wine proved inexpensive (around $50 per head) with good service from all staff. The hotel GM introduced himself during dinner and invited us to provide feedback, leaving us his business card.

The Accessible Room was on the ground floor, clean and spacious. It's off in its own corridor (with other rooms) so minimises noise from the Lobby area.

The other room that was booked contained a king sized bed with both soft and firm pillows as standard. It is very comfortable to sleep on. The room is bright and cheery with enough lighting, power sockets etc. The recent refurb was modern, functional and in good taste but err on being a little bland. LCD TV with Foxtel and standard free to air channels works as expected, An iPod/MP3 dock produces good quality sound (Philips brand I think).

The bathroom has been remodeled also and is simple and functional. The towels are variable - some were nice and thick while others were on the thin side (all new - which was a little puzzling). Showers - water was hot and has good pressure, It was great to have Molton Brown (London’s bath and body connoisseurs and supplier of Toiletries” to HM The Queen of England) as the 'house' body wash and shampoo. Pity there was no corresponding Molton Brown hair conditioner (hair conditioner was provided separately in a small squeezy tube, but was of a different brand). Only slight downside is that parts of the shower recess tiles needs to be cleaned better with traces of mold showing,

On check-out a nice touch (and unexpected) was a bouquet of flowers from the hotel for the guest in our party who stayed in the Accessible Room - with best wishes from the Hotel and staff. Big brownie points right there!

As I will be making same trip again in the coming months, I will be choosing this hotel again as the room rate was very reasonable, service very good and the refurb rooms is like a breath of fresh air in Parramatta.

Well done, Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi TheUnicorn

Thank you for your patronage and time taken in providing your review from your recent stay.

We are pleased that you all enjoyed our hospitality and services. Your sentiments are similar to other guests who had stayed at the hotel when it was previously known as Courtyard, they too have welcomed this change; from the refurbishment to our focus on delivering great customer service thus making Holiday Inn Parramatta as their preferred hotel.

I can advise that the bathroom tile issue has been already rectified.

For Holiday Inn it is about the personalised touch and it is pleasing to hear that our gesture was well received.

Together with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Parramatta, please feel free to contact me directly on 02 9891 1277 when you are ready to confirm.

Best regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on various occasions and have consistently found the staff to be very professional, trustworthy, friendly and provide a great service. The rooms have been very clean, tidy and comfortable. We would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony and Est... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Anthony and Est… F

Thank you for your patronage and feedback on your regular stays with Holiday Inn Parramatta. It is pleasing to note that you have experienced the great customer service focus of our valuable staff. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Parramatta is celebrating it's First Birthday today, Congratulations.
I would like to pass on my complete recommendations to all trip advisor users.
I have stayed in this hotel every second week if not more for the past year and will be continuing to stay in this hotel in the future. It is extremely friendly, clean and welcoming.
I return every second week, if not more frequently, why would I do that if the standards were not exceptional?
Not only are the standards well maintained, the hotel is set in a quiet location, just off the busy main road and with in easy walking distance to the Town Centre, Shops and Dining.
Thoroughly recommended, Thank you to the team for a year's great stay in The Holiday Inn Parramatta .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rreevviieewwss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi GBlairH

Thank you for your recommendation and kind words. Holiday Inn Parramatta is pleased to have reached the first birthday milestone and it is even more exciting to have repeat guests who continue to enjoy our product and services. Thank you for your support.

Kind Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydneyt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would like to thank and congratulate the management and staff of the Holiday Inn Parramatta for their excellent level of customer service.

On my recent stay staff were courteous and efficient in addressing my needs.

In today's world people are very quick to criticise; too few are quick to compliment and to show gratitude.

For me I say well done to the staff at Holiday Inn Parramatta and I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is my preference over looking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Pat A

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Holiday Inn Parramatta. It is also pleasing to note that our staff anticipated and met your needs. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Now and then I'm forced to stay at a particular property due to attending conferences that I wouldn't otherwise stay at, and it's at these times I need to remind myself to view it with the eye of someone who would generally use a chain of this caliber, not the eye of someone who generally stays at Virtuoso properties more often than not.

As the title suggests, this property was 'As expected', clean, run of the mill, good not great.

The rooms were clean if not a little bland, the bathrooms pokey but overall aside from the horrendous pillows which left me seeking out Westfield's on the second day to buy a pillow it was fine, no complaints.

If you're looking for a 3.5 star'ish property in the Parramatta area that is clean and comfortable, this one will serve you well.

- My overall rating of 3/5 was more due to the property being good but not very good, so was forced to scale it down rather than up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priveluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear TravellerAgent

Thank you for selecting Holiday Inn Parramatta and for your valuable feedback. I am disappointed that you did have a great sleeping experience.

Please feel free to contact our reception team on your next visit, and we will certainly do our utmost to accommodate your pillow preference as guest comfort is our main priority.

Best regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 12 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Parramatta

Property: Holiday Inn Parramatta
Address: 18-40 Anderson St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn ParramattaSet in the heart of Western Sydney’s commercial district, Holiday Inn Parramatta offers accommodation within walking distance of major retail, commercial & transport interchanges. With 181 Deluxe guest rooms including 30 Spa Suites, the Holiday Inn Parramatta is the perfect base for anyone vising Parramatta.With wireless internet access in guest rooms & all public areas, a heated outdoor pool and spa, on-site gym, 7 meeting and boardroom venues, plus undercover secure car parking; Holiday Inn Parramatta offers accommodation for all your needs. Our restaurant Twenty One Fifty offers daily buffet breakfast, and a la carte dining for lunch and dinner daily. The restaurant is fully licensed with an extensive wine list and offers a relaxed atmosphere with professional service. Our chefs bring his passion for food and his hearty personality to his kitchen and menu. Also open daily, The Lobby Bar offers wireless internet, a fireplace and a large plasma TV to catch up on any sport or news action; there is no better place to relax and unwind. If you’re searching for a function room or meeting space for your next event in Parramatta, or the Western Sydney region, look no further than the Holiday Inn Parramatta. The Anderson Ballroom boasts an abundance of natural sunlight and is completely pillar less making it the only one of its kind in the area. The flexible facilities can be combined or divided, depending upon the size of the group, enabling you to host any event, from a briefing or a board meeting to a wedding or birthday party, ensuring your Parramatta function is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sydney
Sydney Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing