We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ripped off @229.00 for a room and a deposit for room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Certificate of Excellence
huskisson
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ripped off @229.00 for a room and a deposit for room”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

ripped off by charging us for the room but when we got in we found that they tried to charge us an extra 150 as a room deposit. Rang and was put through to someone in the Philippines and put us on hold for 45 mins and rang the motel twice.
was transferred four times and ran out of credit waiting to be transferred again. spoiled our entire weekend will never go back there again due to poor service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mroutdoorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear mroutdoorsy

I am disappointed that you did not have a great experience. I can advise that our after hours reservations team is based overseas however they do not have the authority to charge guest credit card, therefore I will appreciate it if you can please contact me directly on 02 9891 1277 so I may investigate this further.

Best regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    175
    72
    13
    12
See reviews for
76
66
19
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a family of four, two adults and two children. We stayed in a room with two double beds. The beds were very comfortable and had a great choice of pillows which is really nice and often seen in hotels with a more expensive price tag.

Rooms are recently updated and are nice and clean. Our children did look at the pool in an attempt to go swimming and upon looking at it and seeing how dirty it was decided against it. As a pool owner, I wasn't impressed with the the cleanliness of the pool and was quite happy the children decided against it,

We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't make a comment. The hotel is in close proximity to the shopping centres and there are plenty of places to eat.

The only negative is that it would be nice to see some and I say some of your staff look a bit happier to be at work, some of your reception staff are sour and a little rude. I wasn't impressed when a staff member stuck their head out from behind a wall and spoke over the top of the front of house staff when I had asked them a question. Overall I would be happy to stay here again, just maybe clean your pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bribrendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi bribrendy_12

Thank you for your patronage and valuable feedback. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your overall stay and had a great sleeping experience.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the pool as we had some equipment failure; however I am pleased to advise that this has now been rectified and is back to a high standard again. Furthermore your comments regarding reception staff have also been addressed with our Front Office team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all soon.

Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for six nights with our 3.5 year old. It was our first holiday as a family, and we had been looking forward to it for some time. We found the motel easy to find, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had the breakfast buffet, and found it to be great value and a wonderful way to start the day. The room was neat and clean, and serviced well. Staff were particularly friendly and accommodating of our little boy, and as a result, our visit was one we will remember for quite some time! Access to public transport and shopping was excellent, and this will certainly be the place we will return to when we again visit Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lnevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Lnevin

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am further delighted that we made your first holiday as a family very memorable. Your sentiments have been shared within the team as we did enjoy meeting you all.

Being within easy walking distance to public transport certainly makes us a highly preferred hotel for both leisure, in particularly families or business travellers.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all to Holiday Inn Parramatta.

Warm Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice surprise. The hotel is clean and comfortable with nice spacious rooms. We arrived very early and the staff were excellent. They not only stored our luggage until our room was ready, but placed all of our luggage in our room before we arrived back from the Westfield shopping centre, which is a 5 minute walk away.

The rooms are large, comfortable, quiet and we had a great nights sleep. Trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. If your in Parramatta on business or pleasure this hotel is in a great location.

The only criticism, and this is not directed at the Holiday Inn specifically, but on most Australian hotels, why do your charge for Internet access? Just spent three weeks in Asia and even some of the local laundries offer free WiFi!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D and C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi D and C L

Firstly thank you for your patronage. At Holiday Inn we strive towards providing a relaxing stay for all our guests and we do our utmost to ensure that guests have more time for themselves by letting us take care of their needs, such as storing luggage in your case.

I have taken on board your feedback regarding free WIFI and pleased to advise at Holiday Inn Parramatta we offer all our guests complimentary 30 minutes free WIFI in our hotel lobby.
Once again thank you and please keep Holiday Inn Parramatta in mind when next visiting Sydney.

Stay relaxed
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The service was abysmal. If you book a double queen superior, you come to a double single. Then they run out of extra beds and tell you to pay more money to get another room.

This hotel breaks its promises and tells you to suck it up.

One word: yuck.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank famishedq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear famishedq

On behalf of Holiday Inn Parramatta I extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience encountered as we were not able to provide you with a memorable experience that we strive on providing each guest daily.

Feedback is very valuable to us and I will welcome the opportunity to discuss the matter further with you thus have sent you a private email through Tripadvisor services. I look forward to your reply, alternatively please feel free to contact me directly on 02 9891 1277.

Best regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything was perfect for us. Excellent location, very near to rail station and west field mall. three nights stay was good, clean and tidy room. would like to go again. good restaurants around. :-) .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy_sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi jimmy_sr

Thank you for your positive sentiments of Holiday Inn Parramatta. We are delighted that you both enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We now look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm Regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my first stay at this location. The hotel is a very easy walk from the train station so I tried the Airport train to Sydney and connection to Parramatta. It worked fine in 1 hour 10 minutes.
My check in was quick and easy and I received an upgraded room. Very comfortable!
Bed was great. Bathroom was upgraded, but the maintenance on it was lacking (evident by repairs around the tub).
There was an ok on site restaurant, but within easy walking distance was many additional choices.
The on site restaurant had buffet breakfast which was too expensive, but I was disappointed by the staff rushing to close down the seating areas to convert to lunch. On two days their attitude was less than accommodating as they were rushing to get their section changed over. Other than that they were cordial.
Parking was available for a fee.
Internet was included for my room, but speed was nothing special.
I would consider this location again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesh M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Parramatta, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Pine129

Thank you for your patronage and for your overall positive sentiments of Holiday Inn Parramatta. Your feedback is valuable to us and has been shared within the team in particular Food and Beverage Manager to assist our ongoing commitment to greater customer experience.

Once again thank you and please keep Holiday Inn in mind for your next stay.

Best regards
Yesh Mudaliar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
952 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
0.1 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Parramatta

Property: Holiday Inn Parramatta
Address: 18-40 Anderson St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn ParramattaSet in the heart of Western Sydney’s commercial district, Holiday Inn Parramatta offers accommodation within walking distance of major retail, commercial & transport interchanges. With 181 Deluxe guest rooms including 30 Spa Suites, the Holiday Inn Parramatta is the perfect base for anyone vising Parramatta.With wireless internet access in guest rooms & all public areas, a heated outdoor pool and spa, on-site gym, 7 meeting and boardroom venues, plus undercover secure car parking; Holiday Inn Parramatta offers accommodation for all your needs. Our restaurant Twenty One Fifty offers daily buffet breakfast, and a la carte dining for lunch and dinner daily. The restaurant is fully licensed with an extensive wine list and offers a relaxed atmosphere with professional service. Our chefs bring his passion for food and his hearty personality to his kitchen and menu. Also open daily, The Lobby Bar offers wireless internet, a fireplace and a large plasma TV to catch up on any sport or news action; there is no better place to relax and unwind. If you’re searching for a function room or meeting space for your next event in Parramatta, or the Western Sydney region, look no further than the Holiday Inn Parramatta. The Anderson Ballroom boasts an abundance of natural sunlight and is completely pillar less making it the only one of its kind in the area. The flexible facilities can be combined or divided, depending upon the size of the group, enabling you to host any event, from a briefing or a board meeting to a wedding or birthday party, ensuring your Parramatta function is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sydney
Sydney Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing