We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Authentic' but inedible”

S'Amfora Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 318 Restaurants in Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Authentic' but inedible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

After being hassled in from the road we ordered Tapas.The potatas bravas were like fat chips and the tomatoes on fresh bread were tinned,mushrooms were swimming in oil etc.When the owner came over to the table and we explained it was horrible,that I personally have eaten tapas in Barcelona,,Seville,Granada and Cordoba he got very upset,told us we were wrong didn't offer anything else or a refund etc so we paid for our meal 31 euro and left.The wiater explained again this tapas was authentic to Majorca so we didn't eat tapas out again and luckily had self catering apartments.Maybe stick to the Paella and don't complain unless you want to feel uneasy at expressing your opinion.Very sad evening eating out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank kas377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    79
    38
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and a passion for excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently stayed in Alcudia and after our initial lunchtime visit for the 6 tapas for 25 Euros, we returned a further 2 lunctimes and once in the evening. The proprieter has been there for over 30 years and many of the dishes are his own creation. The restaurant is run with a passion for excellence and I truly find any negative reviews on here astounding. I would rate this as the best restaurant we visited in our time, including some of the much pricier ones recommended on here. I'd highly recommend the Pork loin with mushrooms and the Paella is fantastic. Testemant to this is the procession of Spaniards and locals taking great bug pans of it to the beach to feed their families each lunchtime. I might not know a great Paella, but I'm pretty sure that they do. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TherealDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Paella!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having had some awful meals in Alcudia we were worried about trying somewhere new but we loved it so much we went back 3 times and had the fish and shellfish paella twice. It was so amazing with a huge amount of fish in it. The children were given colouring to keep them entertained and there meals were very well priced and included and drink and ice cream. Other people in our group had lasagne, carbonara and spaghetti bolognese and it was all of a high quality. Definately one to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazza1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful family run restaurant with a passion for quality food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've been coming back to S'Amfora over and over during our stay in Alcudia as it stands out from the tourist traps with its friendly atmosphere and excellent homemade quality food. The fact that we've been renting the landlord's son's house as a holiday home made it the obvious choice for the first night, but the fact that the owners extended such an open and warm welcome to us and patiently explained the ins and outs of Mallorcan cuisine which never dissappointed, made us come back.
While S'Amfora can't deny that it's one of many tourist restaurants in Port d'Alcudia, amongst the ones we visited it stands out as the one that has heart and soul.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKlawitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We must have been very unlucky......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

After seeing so many 5* reviews for this restaurant I simply could not believe it. We actually rated this our worst. We were 2 adults and 3 kids and none of us were able to eat the food. It was not nice at all. We ordered tapas 6 dishes for €25 and added a few more to it. We seriously did not like any of the dishes despite having the same/similar dishes elsewhere which we all loved.
We must have been very unlucky judging by othere feedbacks but to me and my family this was the worst for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinMcMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javi c, Propietario at S'Amfora Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello Mr McMonagham!

First of all I want to apologize in the name of my hole family and staff. We really don´t understand what could happen with your table because we only try to do it the best that we can. We try to sell best quality (everything is fresh and homemade) and want everybody happy in our restaurant.
Now is too late to try solve the problem but we do not usually have any problems with Tapas or any other dishes, the fact is that is just the opposite, people often congratulate ourselves on our food and come to repeat for 30 years.

Anyway we are human and can make mistakes but to solve them we need to know at the time. If ever you and your family return to visit Alcudia I would ask you please give us a second chance because I´m sure you do not disappoint.

Best Regards!

S´Amfora Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S'Amfora Restaurant also viewed

Alcudia, Majorca
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 
Alcudia, Majorca
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 

Been to S'Amfora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing