We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cortijo el Sotillo
Nearby Hotels
Santuario San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dona Pakyta(San Jose)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Agades(San Jose)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
39
50
36
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
50
36
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspaghetti westernsclint eastwoodhorse ridingmany placeshalf boardfantastic viewsroundabouthorsesscenesspainfridgesergiotownfilmbeachessupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 144 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a terrible shame there seems to be no-one looking after the Cortijo el Sotillo! The pool was a lovely area and very clean, as were the rooms. However, the bread was dry for breakfast, the orange juice processed, and the welcome non-existent. Why couldn't the two girls in the dining room open the terrace, rather than the guests being stuck in a dark and gloomy room to eat? The dinners were not even worth eating, the food was disgusting, greasy badly cooked old meat, the same greasy grey vegetables with each plate, dry fish, and total lack of puddings - the 'flan' was grey and old and tasted nothing like the creme caramel I've had all over. One evening we had to eat at a sister hotel, but there was no-one to come and take us there, without waiting and keeping on asking the surly girl on reception, who told us the manager was busy and at another hotel, and eventually one of the waitresses took us. We asked her about the food in the hotel, and she told us the chef had left.

Having seen negative reports of the food on Trip Advisor, I did contact our travel company, Inntravel, with my concerns. They told me words to the effect that they had their eye on the hotel and I wouldn't have a problem. Fine to stay there if you need to be in this location (a good 10-15 minute walk into town) but it's definitely not worth eating there.

Room Tip: We were given a room in an out-building which, although a nice room, had a terrace which overlooked the main road, so it's noisy!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carringtoncraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We live in Spain and two of our friends have a holiday home near Torrevieja. We thought it would be nice to catch up with them and meet halfway between our two places. We had been wanting to visit Cabo de Gata natural park for some time. We chose San Jose as the place to stay because it was on the coast and well located to visit other parts of the park. We then set about choosing a hotel. Unfortunately, most of the hotels seemed full, probably because it was a weekend and San Jose is quite small. After studying the Trip Advisor reviews the hotel Cortijo el Sotillo was far from our first choice, but we could not change the date of our rendezvous and so settled for this hotel anyway.

After staying at the hotel. It is my opinion that the very average reviews were accurate.

As others have said the hotel is situated on the edge of San Jose about 10 min walk from the centre. 10 min sounds okay but not everyone, including our wives, wanted to walk into San Jose in the evening to go out for a meal, which, after reading the bad reviews about the hotel restaurant we were inclined to do. The walk is not particularly pleasant in the dark and involves negotiating a main road, and a roundabout We could have driven but then we couldn't have had a couple of glasses of wine with our meal. The first night we asked the hotel reception to call a taxi. The receptionist did this for us, seemingly reluctantly, and appeared a little incredulous that we would want a taxi into San Jose. In fact, a very accommodating driver arrived quite quickly. We asked him to recommend a restaurant and we had a great evening. The restaurant arranged for him to return at the appropriate time. When we tried to do the same thing the following night (Sunday night) we could not get a taxi and faced the prospect of eating in the dreaded hotel restaurant. Everything everyone said about the food in the restaurant is true and worse. There was a poor choice on the menu. One of the group ordered a salad as a main course, which had the ingredients clearly listed on the menu. The salad that appeared bore no resemblance to the salad on the menu apart from the lettuce and tomatoes. It also included, tuna, which was not shown on the menu and my friend, who is allergic to fish was unable to eat any of the salad. The price of the salad was taken off the bill, but this is not the point. Had she not spotted it she could have been made very ill. She had chosen the salad as just about the only thing she was prepared to eat on the menu and so went without anything other than her starter. Please do not bother to eat in this restaurant. They seem to have learned nothing from all the adverse comments. The menu needs completely revamping and they need a new chef. The service was pretty bad too. This is not to blame the poor man who was trying to be bartender, waiter and receptionist. He seemed to be doing his best, but had no chance to do anything particularly well. He was also quite pleasant in an understated way.

The rooms are all at ground level in a terraced chalet sort of arrangement. They were clean and comfortable enough and the bathroom was okay, but they were a bit dated. Do not expect to get any English-language TV programmes.

This swimming pool was fairly decent.

To be fair, this hotel is probably more suitable for "Outward Bound types" who were going to go off walking, mountain biking, or all-terrain vehicle driving. However, if they want to do this on a budget this hotel did not provide good value for money. We simply wanted to tour around in the car, do a little walking and see the natural beauty, as well as having a taste of the local cuisine. We were not disappointed by Cabo de Gata, which is a beautiful natural park and we would like to go back. We enjoyed the meals we had out in restaurants, but we will not be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was great to stay in a hotel with so much cinematic history. The location was amazing, really beautiful, it was like something out of the wild west - then we found it was!!

Its about a 10minute walk to the centre of town which we found fine and quite liked being away from the noise of the town. This also made it really quiet but we did have a room away from the road.

The rooms are a really good size, lovely and spacious with all the facilities. It was just the bed that was extremely hard - which was a shame as the whole experience of staying there was really good, even if we didn't sleep much.

The staff were helpful and friendly, especially the young lady on reception who was great and helped us out when we were struggling

The pool area was lovely to lounge around and a great backdrop of the hills.

We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.

Would recommend this to anyone who likes something a bit different with some history thrown in.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidecatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On the outskirts of San Jose is this clean and quiet hotel. I expected the hotel to be very quiet, But found that one of the buildings is facing a road, so not so quiet all the time. The rooms are clean and well kept. Make sure to visit the nearby beaches. We only had breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank WebbDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having read other reviews of this place AFTER we had already booked, it was with some trepidation that we ventured in, but we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely suite (it was sold as a double room with 2 extra beds, but the kids' beds were in a separate room), fascinating building - a lot of spaghetti westerns - and other films- had been filmed there. Pleasant staff - although few and far between- , nice pool and tennis. And a pool table. What more did we need? We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, but breakfast was ok. A 10 minute walk to town, another 5 to the beach. As it's not a 5 star we weren't expecting luxury and didn't get it, but it was great value! It was just what we were looking for. We only stayed one night but will probably be back, as we loved San Jose too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zofia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews