We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality In San Jose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4 Nudos

4 Nudos
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Quality In San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

4 Nudos or Quatto Nudo's as the restaurant is actually called is a fantastic Place. We enjoyed four great evenings at 4 Nudos whilst visiting San Jose.  The restaurant is the port area tucked around the corner from the main strip of touristy restaurants.  The atmosphere is casual but more upmarket than other restaurants in town.  The staff are very friendly, Rosa the restaurant manager is extremely helpful in guiding you through the menu, she is also very funny!!  There is a daily tapas menu also so you can mix tapas & meals if you chose.  Each time you dine there are a platter of the days fish presented to you & the fish & best cooking method is explained to you or you can select meals from the main menu.  We tried lots of different meals, the stand outs being the whole fish grilled to perfection, the tomato raf salad (like no other tomato salad), the potato, egg & truffle dish, the tuna steak with wasabi & the octopus with olive oil ice cream.  All the other meals sashimi/calamari etc were also fresh & full of flavour.  The wine list has plenty of choice & is reasonable.  We completely
enjoyed Quatto Nudos and would recommend it to anyone visiting San Jose.  The pricing reflects the quality of the restaurant, for the 2 of us with wine & water the bill was approx 60-80euros depending on meal selections.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuatro Nudos R, Propietario at 4 Nudos, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Lisa;

Thank you very much for your time to write on Trip Advisor about our restaurant.

It is a pleasure to have customers like you.
Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    216
    42
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best fish in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Best fish, best salad, very good wine, ver good desert. Everything is fresh and you will be shown the fish you will eat. We had exqusit tomato salad (after this you will never want to eat a tomato from a supermarket again) and yummy octopus for starters. For mains the best tuna staks I have ever had anywhere. We had a very good wite wine with our food and a very nice nice chocolate cream as desert. The service is exelent, competent and frienly. While the place is a bit more pricy it is worth every penny. We were lucky to get a table without reservation. The place fills up quickly even out of season.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish lovers heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent restaurant run by very nice and friendly staff .
They bring the choices for the fishes of the day on the biggest platter that i have ever seen . Dont know how the staff can carry its so big and the quality of the fresh fish is outstanding - what you see is what you get - a fantastic selection we were offered turbot , hake , tuna , gurnard , prawns , monkfisk and grouper . If you are a fish lover dont pass by this fine restaurant just beside the harbour . Note in busy season you will have to book to have any chance of getting in - not a lot of tables available ,. If windy go for indoor seating .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MacSkerriesIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If I lived here this would be my local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This bar and restaurant is in a wonderful spot in the harbour. I visited every day of my stay in San Jose to have a drink and read my book in the afternoon sunshine. During low season the restaurant is open only at lunchtime and on Friday and Saturday evening. I ate there last Friday. the food was very lovely. An appetizer called langoustine cigars were utterly delicious. The local winter tomato called Raf - eat no other if you are in Almeria in the winter - served simply with olive oil and black pepper were as yummy as a tomato can get. We all ate fresh fish, some grilled, some fried and finished off with pineapple in cream. The wine list is sensational. Local whites and a wonderful cabernet from northern Spain. Highly recommended. The bill for six of us was 180 Euros. Great value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank vegahoilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Nudos also viewed

San Jose, Province of Almeria
San Jose, Province of Almeria
 
San Jose, Province of Almeria
San Jose, Province of Almeria
 

Been to 4 Nudos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing