We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value 10 euro set menu”

Restaurante Mediterraneo
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value 10 euro set menu”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The first meal out of the holiday was brilliant. Although we were wary of trying out the 10 euro set menu, we gave it a go anyway and were not disappointed. There was plenty of choice for the first two courses and lots of fresh seafood on the menu.

My starter was a nice tapas-style plate of mejillones (mussels) and the main course a deliciously messy seafood paella. For dessert, you could have anything you liked as long as it was a bowl of cinnamon ice cream but the good quality and refreshing taste of this made up for the lack of pudding choice (and we were also offered coffee).

Service was polite and friendly but nothing memorable and the views of the beach and the sun setting behind the mountains were fantastic. Would definitely recommend it over the other places along the same street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    49
    24
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Service and Surroundings!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I have recently visited the Restaurant Mediterraneo and were very pleasantly surprised. There are actually two restaurants owned by Dani and Momo separated by a pizza restaurant in the middle, therefore the menus are extensive and excellent boasting fresh fish, meats, pastas and freshly made authentic Italian style pizza and a menu of the day, the sweets are also fabulous (looking at my waist line). The food is fabulous and lovingly prepared and cooked by owner Dani. we could not fault the meals we had (several throughout our 3 week stay). The service is also excellent and waiters eager to help, knowledgeable and friendly. We ate in both restaurants and found them to be worthy of 5 Stars. We will definitely visit again and its my pleasure to write this review as my wife and I travel the world and this is a definite stop off point that will become a well used one by ourselves!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best fish in San Jose”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Mediterraneo for Sunday lunch with our family and had some delicious fish. Dani, Momo and staff are very friendly and welcoming. It's in a great location with sea and mountain views and is warmly recommended for anyone who likes good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always enjoy coming here when I visit san jose”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Food is delicious and hosts dani and momo make you feel very welcome ... a lovely spot to enjoy a drink and snack or a full meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friends and I visited this restaurant twice on our recent visit to San Jose.
The owner, Danni and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always greeted us with a warm welcome. The restaurant is near the port and there is a lovely terrace to sit on and enjoy the views. The ingredients were fresh and beautifully cooked. On our first visit we had paella, sea bream and chiperones (baby squid) which are to die for. On our second visit had chiperones again,who can resist them, pizza and Moroccan chicken and it was all well cooked. The food is reasonably priced and we will cerainly return on our next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c23spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mediterraneo also viewed

San Jose, Province of Almeria
San Jose, Province of Almeria
 
San Jose, Province of Almeria
San Jose, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Restaurante Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing