We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milton Of Buchanan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Schoolhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“AMAZING”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at this fantastic property. The pictures although great don't even do the property justice. The location is perfect secluded but close enough to walk for a pub lunch, scenery is stunning and the properties are more like a luxurious home from home than a holiday home as they have thought on everything to make your stay a fantastic experience. The hot tub was amazing and really made us feel that we had booked luxury cottages that were great value for money. The owners can't do enough for you even offered to drive over himself with extra towels for us. Honestly can't praise this place enough we booked 3 of the properties and can't wait to book again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Modern accomodation not too far from Glasgow but far enough out that you feel you are away from the city. Nice big rooms with all mod cons like Wifi, SKY TV, BOSE speaker and Hot Tub. Robes in the rooms were a nice touch. Would recommend for groups of 4-6 people. A short distance away is a few good pubs in Drymen if you fancy getting out for a bit.

Thanks for a great weekend!!

Room Tip: Grab the upstairs room with the ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocknRollStar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This property has been refurbished to a very high standard and has Sky, Wi-Fi and a Bose docking station as well as the hot tub and is a great place to relax.

It is a great location for walking and pubs in Drymen are close by too.

As a group, we go away every year and have stayed in properties all over Scotland. We all agreed this was the best property we had stayed in so far and the owners, Claire & Graeme were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our party of 8 enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Old Schoolhouse. The property is well finished and benefits from an excellent location that lends itself well to outdoor pursuits such as hillwalking and golf. My favourite feature was the outdoor hot-tub, the perfect way to relax after a long day.

I found the price very reasonable in comparison to other lodges I have booked, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey1983burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Let me start by saying there were only two of us, and a dog, so I can't really comment on the validity of the criticisms below, as we wouldn't have encountered any of them.

Let's get the niggles out of the way first - let me stress that these are very minor issues, which in no way spoiled our enjoyment of our stay:

* The windows in the front downstairs bedroom didn't seem to close completely, so any traffic could be heard really clearly (although there wasn't much traffic). This also caused the bedroom to be a little cold.

* Don't try to have a bath! The hot water pressure was low, so it took ages to half fill the bath, by which point the hot water had run out anyhow.

* If you have a bunch of young guys staying in the house next door, make sure they tell the Chinese delivery man which house to go to at 11:30p.m. :-)

Having said that though: it's an old building; to stick uPVC windows in it would have been a travesty and would have completely spoiled the character of it. The heating issue can be resolved by moving the thermostat to the bedroom or giving the electric fire a quick blast, and the duvets are so good that you don't even notice after a while. And you'll be so knackered you won't notice any traffic noise!

You also don't really need a bath, as you have two showers, and a hot tub for occasions where you want to chill out, so it isn't an issue.

Claire and Graeme have done an excellent job with the house - the decoration is stunning, and everything is provided which you could possibly need. The fact that the house has Sky Plus and reasonably fast wireless broadband is a massive bonus. The aforementioned hot tub is also an excellent feature - very few self-catering houses would give you this.

The garden is big and is an excellent sun trap, particularly at the rear of the house. The location itself is superb; you're away from the touristy hustle and bustle of Balloch, Luss, Balmaha, etc., but within easy driving distance of all of them. The eastern side of Loch Lomond is gorgeous, particularly up towards Rowardennan. But the house is also within easy reach of Glasgow, so it's the best of both worlds really.

If you're looking for somewhere to get away from it all, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

After recommending a friend to the Old School House i was dissapointed to learn that the contructive critisism i gave on my own return was not taken into account. The kitchen remains poorly stocked with basic utensils such as a tip opener not being provided. There is also only 4 knives and forks provided which is baffling as the house is supposed to accomodate 6-8 people. There are no blinds on the windows in the living room, meaning whoever is unfortunate enough to sleep on the sofabed will be woken up early by the day light.
The comments in the guest book reflect what i have said so it is very dissapointing and frustrating to hear that they have simply been ignored. Such a shame, as the property has the potential to be superb if only these simple problems were rectified.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, Dunbartonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Absolutely stunning location and first class accommodation, Was there pampering the lovely ladies from Edinburgh who were on a hen weekend. www.lomondbeauty.co.uk, would love to pamper you here!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lomondbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Of Buchanan
5.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
2.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,055 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Schoolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse

Property: The Old Schoolhouse
Address: 1 The Old Schoolhouse, Milton Of Buchanan G63 0JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Milton Of Buchanan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Milton Of Buchanan
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star, self-catering accommodation in Loch Lomond. 3 luxury bedrooms, living room with exceptionally comfy leather corner sofa bed, flat screen TV, sky and ipod player. Extensive kitchen with beautiful dining table and patio doors leading to decked area, hot tub and garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing