We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Star Cottage, in the lovely village of Little Compton
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Star Cottage, in the lovely village of Little Compton
Entering into the dining room Perfect for families and friends...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Welcome to Star Cottage, in the lovely village of Little Compton
Entering into the dining room
Perfect for families and friends...
...just pull up a chair and relax!
Cosy Cotswold furnishings
Spacious and comfy living room
Beautiful character
The country style kitchen
Ideal for home cooking
Downstairs cloakroom and utility room
Bedroom 1, with a king size bed and TV
Great for reading in bed!
There are period features throughout the cottage
Bedroom 2, also with a king size bed
Lovely dressing table
A classic country style property
The family bathroom, with a unique, original wall mural
Star Cottage's front garden
A wonderful cottage for a Cotswold holiday
The local pub!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GARRY S
Perton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Spacious and beautiful cottage with everything you would need for a holiday. Warm, very homely and situated in a peaceful location in a lovely quiet village. Good dog friendly pub just two minutes walk away that also serves delicious food. Excellent service and communication from the cottage management team when I let them know I had left some clothes behind. Very highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review of Star Cottage, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinbtk...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Star Cottage”
Reviewed December 25, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Star Cottage is a perfect home from home, supremely quiet and private, beautifully comfortable and warm, tastefully furnished and as cosy as one could wish for. Christmas decorations were provided and the kitchen is superbly equipped for cooking and baking. Beds are like floating on air, towels are luxurious and the entire house is spotlessly clean. This is a cottage to return to and I can’t rate it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2018
Thank you for your delightful review of Star Cottage! We're pleased to hear you had a wonderful break away. We hope you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD0592
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Cottage. Would highly recommend.”
Reviewed November 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful Cottage, we really enjoyed our stay in Star Cottage. Fantastic Location and the owners had thought of everything in their welcome binder of information, which was extremely helpful. Star Cottage was like Home from Home. Also, a huge thank you to the staff at Character Cottages for all your help with the booking to find us the perfect cottage to stay in, and all your help with allowing my two dogs to join us. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2017
Thank you for your review Lucy, we're pleased to hear you had a wonderful trip. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM60...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cotswolds getaway for a couple or family”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Such a wonderful cottage! Very well equipped. Nice personal touches like wine and cake waiting for us. We’ve stayed in many cottages in the UK & this is definitely one of the best. We travelled with our two year old and found the cottage suitable for a toddler. We were provided with a nice solid travel cot and a high chair, and our daughter really liked the little garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're pleased to hear you had a great time at Star Cottage. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise G
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We (couple early 60's, mother 81 year old Mum and puppy cocker spaniel!) booked this cottage for a week.

It had everything we could possibly need, excellent quality bedding (essential for us) and even a welcome pack.

Very warm...also essential for elderly Mum.

Well located for touring the area and plenty of local walks, quiet village.

We would recommend the local (Red Lion) for Sunday lunch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea D
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stunning, home from home”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were enchanted from the moment we arrived, would love to keep this place a secret, but that wouldn't be fair. It's an absolutely delightful, cosy, yet spacious cottage. The kitchen is better equipped than my own, nice to have all the basics, salt, sugar, cooking oil, washing up liquid etc available, it's good that things left behind aren't thrown away, or removed on changeover day.
The quality of the bedding, mattresses, towels etc is superb, and all the books, paintings and personal touches make it a real home from home. The sheltered garden at the back is delightful, we managed lunch outside the first week in March, only sorry we won't see the wisteria flower.
The village is lovely and very convenient for many of the Cotswold towns. We were made very welcome at the Red Lion, it has a great atmosphere, and had such a good meal we returned the next night. I could go on, but in summary this is one fab place!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, relaxing stay at Star Cottage.”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Star Cottage for a weekend with my fiancee and our small dog. It was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience. The cottage relaxes you from the moment you set foot in it. The living room has a log fire, which is fantastic for cosy evenings in. There are also great walks nearby and decent local pubs, including the Red Lion, which is a very short walk away. I can't recommend this cottage enough for anyone who is looking for a short break in the Cotswolds (with or without pets).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing