We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem....in the Cotswolds”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Inn
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem....in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Recently returned from a two night stay at the Red Lion ......Our room was delightful.....beamed ceiling....comfortable bed.... with quality bedding, furniture and lighting. Nice hot powerful shower with soft towels...... Breakfast was delicious.....The food in the restaurant ....coupled with the service.....was exceptional......Thankyou Jamie.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
62
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Six of us elderly friends dined here : two couples are local, so this is always a good recommendation. We couldn't fault the varying dishes we had which were very good, tasty and there was plenty of it. With drinks beforehand and two bottles of good Rioja, it was £60 per couple plus tip, so not the cheapest, but we felt we got what we paid for.

The only distaff side for me was the over-the-top enthusiastic waitress who seemed to think that constant loud jollity was essential in a country pub lunch, and also treated the other lunchtime customers the same : I don't like being talked down to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We are here twice whilst staying at the near by Old School House the (thoroughly recommended).

It's a quaint traditional pub which was a little quiet when were there, but that was March may be busier in the summer. The service was friendly, may be even over friendly. The food was good although perhaps not brilliant. Anyway we enjoyed it enough to go two nights running and I'd go again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My partner and I picked the Red Lion from Internet searches and hit the jackpot. This place is faultless in every way and is amazing value for money. People, Food and rooms are of the highest quality and it is situated in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: either of the two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited lunchtime between Christmas and New Year for lunch. The regular menu and the specials board gave more than enough choice. Attention to my wife's need for a Gluten Free diet was excellent. The staff are incredibly enthusiastic and the whole atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Service is first class. The food was excellent and the overall event could not have been better. Fantastic all round

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I originally stayed here in early October and vowed that we would be back. We have never returned to the same place twice before as we feel that we could easily be disappointed and that it wouldn't be as good as the first time we stayed. This is not the case at the Red Lion. We have just spent a fantastic weekend in this Jewel of the Cotswolds. Jamie and Esme are the perfect hosts and together with their team provided us with a perfect pre Christmas break. We will be back-again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having stayed at another local hotel the night before and not received the friendliest of service, it was with some trepidation we made our way to the Red Lion. Our fears were totally unfounded when we were met by the incredibly friendly landlord Jamie. The room was cosy and quaint, with an amazingly comfortable bed and super strong shower.
Dinner was fabulous, the prawn cocktail and pork belly far superior to those eaten at Marco Pierre White's Frogmill Inn. My mussels with cider, cream and bacon were delicious and filo pastry chicken and ham hock pie was sublime.
Following a good night's sleep, our only gripe was having breakfast at 845am the next day, but it was seriously tasty and much needed after a few beers with Jamie and some entertaining games of pool with one of the locals.
We will definitely be back, just trying to fit it into our plans!

Room Tip: The first smaller room as you come up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Compton
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,907 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#5 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfast
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Little Compton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Compton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Little Compton
Red Lion Moreton-In-Marsh
Moreton-In-Marsh Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Little Compton, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing