We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfy, Homey, Relaxing”
Review of Merryfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fifield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merryfield B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Fifield B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Merryfield B&B for 4 nights this past fall. The hosts, John and Tina, are warm and welcoming, providing a comforting reception after an overnight flight and long day of sight seeing.

We chose the B&B as it was centrally located to Oxford, Warwick and the Cotswolds, but was still rural in a small pituresque stone town of about 20 houses. There's a pub about a 10 minute walk away with typical tasty food in large portions and exceptionally good veg on the side.

The location is secluded and quiet. As our room faced the garden we did not hear a peap during the night and slept with the windows open. I'm a light sleeper so it's crucial for me to find a quiet place if i'm to enjoy the waking part of my holiday.

The house is set back from the small street that loops through the town, so there is only a small bit of traffic from the locals and no through traffic. Even at that we never heard a single car as the house is a bit off the street with the garage backing the street.

There are only 2 rooms each with private bathrooms. Ours was upstairs with a nice view of the backyard which we've posted along with other photos. The bathroom was just outside the door but as there are no other bedrooms upstairs it was quite private. The room was large with plenty of room to lay out our stuff and move around. There was wifi and tea, coffee and cocoa along with fresh milk for a nightly cup of whatever which we looked forward to each day. The bed was very comfortable, not too firm and not too soft.

Breakfast was delicious with a choice of cereals, oatmeal or full english with lightly herbed mushrooms, tomato, egg (we chose poached as it was so light and tastey), sausage and bacon. There was also a selection of home-made jams from the fruit in the backyard. The tea was top quality (we could tell the difference when we went to london later in the week and had the cheap stuff).

John and Tina helped us with information about what to do and how to do it including suggesting things we hadn't considered. I can not think of any way to improve what I can only describe is a perfect quintessential cotswold bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms. The upstairs room is probably a bit quieter, but the downstairs room a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2010

My friend and I came for a night away (a yearly event-a girls' night away without husbands and children, but the first time here.) It was a lovely B and B in a delightful setting. It was situated perfectly for getting out and about to all the delights that the Cotswolds have to offer. The B and B has a lovely garden with beautiful views across fields. It was a perfect spot for unwinding and getting away from it all. John and Tina, who run the B and B, couldn't have been more helpful. They were so kind and treated us so well-it was like having our Mum and Dad looking after us! The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We had a perfect stay and recharged our batteries!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

What a home from home, we stayed just 2 nights as a quick get away and if you want good old fashioned English hospitality then John and Tina couldn't do more.
Location is super in a sleepy little hamlet between Stow-on-the-Wold and Burford and easy travelling distance to Oxford or Warwick/Stratford. The breakfasts were delicious, with home made bread and marmalade and the room was spacious and comfy, we had the upstairs room which overlooked the Cotswold countryside, beautiful.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AberconwyHouseOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Set off the main road from Stow on the Wold and Burford this was a tiny hamlet of a village that was so pretty that it totally epitomised our idea of a Cotswold village. Finding the B&B was easy and the welcome was warm and relaxing. The room, which was upstairs in the dorma bungalow was spacious and clean and we had a private shower room, albeit a tad small but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was when we wanted it, rather than a set time, and the sausages, bacon, eggs and field mushrooms were what we had always dreamt of from a country house. The views from the breakfast room were lovely across fields of horses and sheep. The location was perfect for touring the area, with Burford no more than 5 mins away and Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the Water and Cheltenham within easy driving. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and Tina and John were the most welcoming hosts to their home. We would definitely recommend and would love to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CharlieCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merryfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merryfield B&B

Address: Merryfield High Street, Fifield OX7 6HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Fifield
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fifield
Price Range: $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing