We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to stay...home from home in...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Valley View Mews

Valley View Mews
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley View Mews
lounge area with flat screen tv / dvd lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Valley View Mews
lounge area with flat screen tv / dvd
lounge area
small reading area
dining area
lounge area
kitchen area
kitchen area
hallway
bedroom
bedroom - bed can be set as a 6' double or 2 x 3' singles
bedroom - showing bed set as 6' double
walk-in wardrobe off bedroom
bathroom - has bath with shower over
Sunset down the valley - Autumn 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Longhope, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
flower682...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay...home from home in every way!”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay at The Mews and we enjoyed it even more than the first time round. The cottage is ideally located for exploring so many places within a radius of 50 miles and has attractions to cater for all tastes. We particularly enjoyed days out at Slimbridge Wetlands, Westonbirt Arboretum and the International Centre for Birds of Prey at Newent, alongside Sunday Lunch and later in the week cheese scones, tea and cake at The Old Dairy Tearoon at Harts Barn. The cottage has everything you could possibly want. It is comfortable, warm and cosy, and an ideal place to stay. Gillian and Chris are perfect hosts who are there if you need them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Many thanks for a great review
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay many thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wrightjac...
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely comfortable, spacious and well equipped.”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Mews is an excellent place to stay for access to The Forest of Dean and beyond. The accommodation is extremely well presented and comfortable. There is plenty of information to hand regarding places to visit and enjoy. The owners were helpful and on hand if needed but also respected our privacy. There is a wonderful bakery in the village which is also a café - open Wednesday to Saturday. A real treat for budding bakers like my wife! The Mews is close to a main road which has fast moving large vehicles. However this did not detract from the enjoyment or interfere with sleep or relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the property
Liked least: The main road close by
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katkins12...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mews Magic”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay at Valley View Mews was super. The property was well maintained, extremely comfortable and had everything we required to make our stay most enjoyable. We had good weather overall and a couple of days were extremely warm, so I chose to sit out on the front doorstep to read my book. Chris came round after seeing me and offered us garden chairs for the rest of our stay which was really thoughtful. (The front of the property is a real sun trap so a couple of chairs outside the door would be well worthwhile). Gill's communication before, during and after our stay was first class. We had no trouble with internet access during our stay. The property is really well situated to visit many places and as keen walkers also has walks from the doorstep, though, yes, the roads nearby are busy and have to be negotiated with care. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real homely feeling property offers
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a good review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thanks for the review.. We do mention in our advertising that the Internet can be intermittent due to the location of the property.. The shower bracket had never been flagged up before and will have to be put down to bad luck... It's now of course been replaced.
C'est la vie!... Can't do much about the Rd I'm afraid.. Chris and Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharne123
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Glorious stay, great base”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just back from a three night stay. The Mews was very comfortable and had everything we could need (and more). The owners gave great directions, were very welcoming and clearly thought about how we could have the best stay. There is plenty of information about the local area (and beyond) at The Mews and it is a great location for venturing out and exploring. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Chris & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the cottage
Liked least: the traffic from the main road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review.. Pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing