We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food's very good but.........”

The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Longhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Award Winning Farmer's Boy Inn Longhope Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation, attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After an evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter in front of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic Gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The food's very good but.........”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Made a lunchtime visit on a bitterly cold day, four friends on a jolly. Received a cool welcome and offered a table right in front of the door which we declined in view of the weather. We chose to sit in a small snug at the end of the bar as opposed to the empty restaurant, this was comfy and warm enough but quaint to say the least. The large pink rubber bucket on chair at the next table turned out to be a laundry 'basket' as we found out when the 'Jill of all trades' behind the bar started folding her washing up. The lap top on the chair next to mine never was claimed! The food more than made up for these slight eccentricities and we chose from the pie, fish and 'pub grub' menus. All dishes were excellent, perfectly cooked, on hot plates, portions just the right size. Service was casual and had the place been a bit tidier I would have said 'Excellent'

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    82
    37
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Family Friendly”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited this Restaurant as a party of 7 adults and 2 toddlers. High chairs were provided for the children. this pub is famous for its pies and they are fantastic. However, you certainly need a big appetite to eat one- even the mini pies are huge. If you are not a pie eater, there is a wide choice of other dishes on the menu, so everyone is catered for. There is also a children's menu.
The atmosphere is very warm and friendly- partly due to the lovely log fire. There is a children's play area outside where kids can play safely.
The service is excellent and all the food is freshly cooked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A long over due first visit - the first of many more to come!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited for the first time last night. Wonderful meal - thank you so much. And no problem that we were half an hour late due to accident on A48 and resulting congestion on A40!!!!! Friendly yet professional service. DELICIOUS pies! Will definitely be back very soon (in fact, have just made a booking for Sunday lunch in 2 weeks time!). Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenJC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, good atmosphere, very welcoming hosts !”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

After much deliberating I decided to book our family Christmas Meal at the Farmers Boy. There were 16 of us, 6 of those were children and a baby. We had a fantastic evening, the food was amazing as was the service and atmosphere. We also had a disabled child with us that was made very welcome and comfortable. The evening was faultless we would definitely do it again, very much recommended ! Phil and his good lady and all the staff do a fantastic job at making you feel very welcome. We also went for ' Burns Night' and again the food and atmosphere was amazing could not fault it. If your local or on your travels and thinking of trying the Farmers Boy I would definitely recommend !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy6622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well impressed”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends for a meal, staff were brilliant and very professional, food was excellent, sampled the gourmet pies which were just delicious along with the vegetables and super tasty mash. Could not fault the food and the menus was extensive, want to go back and try something else soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Longhope, Gloucestershire
 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Newent, Forest of Dean
Longhope, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing