We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a family day out” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dick Whittington Farm Park

Dick Whittington Farm Park
Ranked #9 of 10 things to do in Longhope
Attraction details
1 review
“Not a family day out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My friends and I recently visited this "farm park" with a 3 year old little girl. We hoped this would be a pleasant day out and a chance for her to interact and feed the animals.
It was not. The animals did not seem happy in their surroundings as they bit at each other to get near the food we had and were very violent, jumping up at gates and fences. All in all quite distressing for a young child.
We moved away from these animals in the hope those in the fields maybe calmer, whilst standing near to these animals a pony then attempted to snatch the food out of the young girls hand and luckily only bit her coat but scared her so much we proceeded to leave.
Up to this point we had to walk between what can only be described as metal freight containers full of random furniture and general junk. There was also further piles of this junk stacked in a field next to the animals as if to become a bonfire.
The most pleasant part of this trip was the digger (which we had to pay extra for) in the carpark.
To think in total 4 adults and 1 child paid over £20 for this shoddy, somewhat disturbing 30 minutes is a disgrace.
This place needs some serious TLC and so do the animals before summer when I imagine more people may dare to visit here.

Helpful?
Thank Jow1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
One of the joys of livestock farming is to witness the turn-out to grass of animals that have been cooped up in sheds over a long Winter. They react by running around and jostling with one another. The arrival of visitors only adds to their excitement. What this visitor therefore witnessed was not unhappy, fighting goats. Quite the opposite, it was excitement that was being displayed.

Our Farm Park targets families with children from toddlers to ten year olds. The young children can be introduced to animals initially in our Pets Room and our Reptile House. It may not have been the best idea to put a nervous three year old straight in front of a pony! We do have signs up stating that parents and guardians are responsible for supervising children in their care. We do encourage visitors to talk to members of the staff to understand the ways of the countryside.

We have notices on the Reception door, on the Reception and a large development plan on our café wall explaining about the re-development project of the Visitor Centre. The start of this development programme has been badly delayed by the atrocious weather of the last eighteen months.

This visitor clearly wandered into our storage/development area and seems to have taken great interest in our material storage units which obviously have got nothing at all to do with our Farm Park. The visitor then describes a structure that looked like a bonfire. In fact, it was a bonfire which was lit with the arrival of dry weather two days after their visit and has now burnt away all the debris and rubbish.

What is surprising is what is not mentioned by this visitor. There is absolutely no comment about our Small Pets Room, the Reptile House, the new Aviary Centre, the Birds of Prey units, the Nature Trails, the orchard full of all traditional apple species, the Deer Park, the trout lake, the arboretum, the hazelnut grove and, most important of all, the massive indoor heated Play Barn full of slides, trampolines, climbing frames, ball pools and so forth.

This visitor has therefore seen probably less than 10% of what is on display and yet is criticising the pricing. Again, no mention was made of the fact that adults with paying children are coming in free of charge. This special offer runs right through now until 30th June, 2013.

We are indeed ideal for a family day out. Preparations are well advanced now for Easter with bottle-feeding of our lambs, Easter egg hunts and, of course, fun in our massive Play Barn regardless of whether it is snowing, raining, or blowing a gale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    22
    29
    46
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to take children:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My grandson is 22 months old,and I have taken him to this park twice now,he loves it,and I (his nan) think it is a great place for children,yes the outer is hard to push a buggy around or wheel chair,so take this in when you visit this park (but this is only around the top half of the farm).My gandson just heads straight for the soft play area which is large,safe and oh so much fun.I would take him their more often but to pay full price for an adult (I usually take 2 other adults with me his aunt and uncle) it can work out expensive.Shame you couldn't pay just for the soft play area at a lower price.Think it's worth a visit just for the soft play area (there is know where else to take children when it's such awful weather.At the end of the day it is a working farm and you need to take this in to consideration when you visit this farm:)Give this farm park a chance:)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The Management and Staff at the Dick Whittington Farm Park were delighted that this lady and her grandson had enjoyed their visits to our Visitor Centre. We have some good news regarding this lady’s observation about the price of adult entry.

For more details visit either our website or telephone on 01452 – 831000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“School holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

great place for my child and his friends to let off steam. Always seems to be lots of people here. Good cafe facilities. Had a few Birthday Parties here too. Animals close at hand, some baby ones if you visit around lambing season. opotunity to feed animals with bags of food and even give milk to the lambs at feeding time. Outdoor Go Karts are fun but need supervision as some children stay on them for too long. Tractor ride around the farm is good on warmer days and the sandpit and castle are fun but could be bigger. Some out buildings could be made to better use rather than left empty!!! Certainly a good place to bring the kids.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dick Whittington Farm Park”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have returned to this venue after approximately 4 years with my two children today. The reason for the long absence was due to me finding the park scruffy and dirty when I last visited!
I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before returning, particularly noting the owner's comments on the vast upgrades that the park is currently undergoing.
I duly handed over my £19.50 for myself and two children (full price for me!) only to find that it was still the dirty, scruffy place that it was 4 years ago. I can see no improvements, only worsening conditions - a small holding with animals kept in filthy, stinking conditions, delapidated sheds, poor walkways around the site, unmanageable for those with buggies or wheel chairs due to the stones and field mud, go karts which should be condemned and have clearly not been passed as fit for use by any health and safety advisor!
The toilet facilities are awful. I would have hoped that some of the revenue that this place is making could have been spent on a pot of paint, a few tiles, toilet paper and an air freshener - I have been in nicer public toilets!
The shacks that are scattered around the outside of the main play barn make the place look like 'the house that Jack built', and their is no care taken over the entrance walkway or surrounding area to entice the customer or to justify that this 'farm park' is an award winner!
Save your money and make the trip to Gloucestershire's Cotswold Farm Park in Guiting Power.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Management Response - Review 1st November, 2012

We were rather surprised by this review to the extent of being a little suspicious of its motive. It is contrary to the many positive reviews that we have received this year including those in the local and national press and the feedback from many of our visitors.
We always welcome constructive criticism but, in this case, the reviewer seems to be criticising the building works that are in progress and then complaining that nothing is being done.
Perhaps we are guilty of having too many improvement works underway at one time. However, we do hand out explanatory leaflets, have display plans pinned up, and our staff are briefed to explain the projects in hand so we are baffled as to why this review is critical of buildings awaiting demolition, building works in progress and the obvious temporary bird housing.
The new Aviary Centre will be completed by the end of November. The birds are therefore in temporary accommodation until they are re-housed. The pedal kart course is undergoing further extension work. We have experimented with electric go-karts this Summer which have proved very popular and we are now building up the number of karts. We are well aware of the shortcomings of the present toilet facilities although they are perfectly functionable and clean. Work on the new toilet facility is about to commence.
A number of buildings are earmarked for demolition. Planning consent and all the associated conditions have now been obtained for the new replacement building that will more than double the size of our existing facilities. The suggestion that no money has been spent for four years is ridiculous as we have an on-going programme.
There are only two animals that are kept in 'filthy conditions'. These are the two pigs and it's called 'mud'. The reviewer ought to have noticed that the pigs are kept in three compartments, one is a dry area, one is a feeding area and the third is a wallowing area. Pigs enjoy wallowing in mud. Nature made them to root up the ground and roll (wallow) in mud. To suggest that they ought to be kept in a clean concrete blocked pen all the time is unnatural.
It concerns us that no mention was made of our very popular massive indoor heated Play Barn, reptile and pet houses, the pets encounter sessions that occur and the opportunity to feed the chickens, pigs, goats and deer. Why no mention of the extended carp lake and nature walks plus our wide range of animals or the fact that we are breeding endangered species? There was also no mention of how their children enjoyed themselves and thus indirectly learned more of the countryside through their fun, which is what our Farm Park is all about. It really is disappointing to see a review criticising building work and missing the many positives. Could we suggest that, those who do not understand what we are doing, and why, talk to us or read our explanation leaflets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went here yesterday as a group of 20 after reading some of the negative reviews on here was not expecting much bit I have to say this place is great loads to do the play barn kept all the children who's ages ranged from 1/11 entertained and there were plenty of animals to feed . All the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the ones who did the animal encounter where the children learnt about and got to touch a snake a bearded dragon ,cockroaches,chickens and a rabbit

Helpful?
2 Thank cma0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Whittington Farm Park also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Dick Whittington Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing