We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dick Whittington Farm Park”

Dick Whittington Farm Park
Ranked #9 of 10 things to do in Longhope
Attraction details
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have returned to this venue after approximately 4 years with my two children today. The reason for the long absence was due to me finding the park scruffy and dirty when I last visited!
I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before returning, particularly noting the owner's comments on the vast upgrades that the park is currently undergoing.
I duly handed over my £19.50 for myself and two children (full price for me!) only to find that it was still the dirty, scruffy place that it was 4 years ago. I can see no improvements, only worsening conditions - a small holding with animals kept in filthy, stinking conditions, delapidated sheds, poor walkways around the site, unmanageable for those with buggies or wheel chairs due to the stones and field mud, go karts which should be condemned and have clearly not been passed as fit for use by any health and safety advisor!
The toilet facilities are awful. I would have hoped that some of the revenue that this place is making could have been spent on a pot of paint, a few tiles, toilet paper and an air freshener - I have been in nicer public toilets!
The shacks that are scattered around the outside of the main play barn make the place look like 'the house that Jack built', and their is no care taken over the entrance walkway or surrounding area to entice the customer or to justify that this 'farm park' is an award winner!
Save your money and make the trip to Gloucestershire's Cotswold Farm Park in Guiting Power.

5  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Management Response - Review 1st November, 2012

We were rather surprised by this review to the extent of being a little suspicious of its motive. It is contrary to the many positive reviews that we have received this year including those in the local and national press and the feedback from many of our visitors.
We always welcome constructive criticism but, in this case, the reviewer seems to be criticising the building works that are in progress and then complaining that nothing is being done.
Perhaps we are guilty of having too many improvement works underway at one time. However, we do hand out explanatory leaflets, have display plans pinned up, and our staff are briefed to explain the projects in hand so we are baffled as to why this review is critical of buildings awaiting demolition, building works in progress and the obvious temporary bird housing.
The new Aviary Centre will be completed by the end of November. The birds are therefore in temporary accommodation until they are re-housed. The pedal kart course is undergoing further extension work. We have experimented with electric go-karts this Summer which have proved very popular and we are now building up the number of karts. We are well aware of the shortcomings of the present toilet facilities although they are perfectly functionable and clean. Work on the new toilet facility is about to commence.
A number of buildings are earmarked for demolition. Planning consent and all the associated conditions have now been obtained for the new replacement building that will more than double the size of our existing facilities. The suggestion that no money has been spent for four years is ridiculous as we have an on-going programme.
There are only two animals that are kept in 'filthy conditions'. These are the two pigs and it's called 'mud'. The reviewer ought to have noticed that the pigs are kept in three compartments, one is a dry area, one is a feeding area and the third is a wallowing area. Pigs enjoy wallowing in mud. Nature made them to root up the ground and roll (wallow) in mud. To suggest that they ought to be kept in a clean concrete blocked pen all the time is unnatural.
It concerns us that no mention was made of our very popular massive indoor heated Play Barn, reptile and pet houses, the pets encounter sessions that occur and the opportunity to feed the chickens, pigs, goats and deer. Why no mention of the extended carp lake and nature walks plus our wide range of animals or the fact that we are breeding endangered species? There was also no mention of how their children enjoyed themselves and thus indirectly learned more of the countryside through their fun, which is what our Farm Park is all about. It really is disappointing to see a review criticising building work and missing the many positives. Could we suggest that, those who do not understand what we are doing, and why, talk to us or read our explanation leaflets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 169 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went here yesterday as a group of 20 after reading some of the negative reviews on here was not expecting much bit I have to say this place is great loads to do the play barn kept all the children who's ages ranged from 1/11 entertained and there were plenty of animals to feed . All the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the ones who did the animal encounter where the children learnt about and got to touch a snake a bearded dragon ,cockroaches,chickens and a rabbit

2  Thank cma0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have visited this farm many times, it is getting more run down and neglected the toilels have never been great but now they are bad! The cost is high £5.50 OAP all I do is sit and give children money that is what grandma's DO. ON the up side cafe reasonable price for drinks (i drink a lot of coffee while there) gift shop lots of inexpensive nonsence for the kids to buy. The kids are gettin older 9 11 hence last visit. IN concultion lots of better places to visil.

Thank gilly122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lots to see and do. There was a pets corner session when we visited and the kids got to handle a snake, spider, chicken,rabbit etc and loved it.
I just wish there was a lower entry price for adults. After all we don't use the large soft play area!

Thank troutins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a lovely day at Dick Whittington today with a very active 15 month old and 9 month old. Indoor soft play was great for the toddler - felt very safe and secure and lots and lots of different things for him to go on. The baby enjoyed sitting in the ball pool and watching the world go by. We also liked feeding the animals, particularly the pygymy goats! We didn't see much of the animal show as we were a little bit late going through to the showing area and it was quite full, but the bits we did see (yellow snake! aaargh!) seemed great - knowledgeable staff who gently encouraged questions and gentle touching of the animals.

The staff were universally lovely - really friendly and relaxed - and it very much feels like a real "family run" place - not corporate, not particularly polished, but just people who seem to enjoy what they do.

Taking that into consideration, some of the facilities do feel a bit tired, as mentioned by previous reviewers - for example the toilets were not particularly sparkly but they were clean and functional - how much time do you spend in the toilets anyway! They also provide a large nappy-change area - the free nappies were a nice touch, as were spare umbrellas and strollers available in the foyer if you arrived at the park without these items.

Entrance fee as £6.50 - I thought this was really reasonable (some of the big soft play places charge more than this just for entry in Cardiff) and we spent 4 hours there easily without getting bored.

Definitely look forward to revisiting when the kids are a little bit older.

We had lunch in the cafe - this was good, although I did think £4.50 was possibly a bit overpriced for a simple jacket potato, but not much.

Thank Gooddenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Whittington Farm Park also viewed

 
Longhope, Gloucestershire
Longhope, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Dick Whittington Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing