We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night following a visit to Wye Valley. Great place and friendly staff who helped with everything I needed. Pies are legendary and were fabulous. Rooms comfortable with tea/coffee and fantastic shower.
Only two minor issues which I also shared with staff prior to departure. Firstly, rooms do not have solid walls. I could hear full conversation of people next door as well as what programmes they were watching. Not pleased when TV was on at 6.30am! Secondly although the pies are very yummy regarding the filling my pastry was quite soggy which made me think it had been in the microwave.
Saying that with the fantastic staff, easy bus journey into Gloucester and good food I would recommend this hotel and gladly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your Great Review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will definitely look into your constructive comments.

I Look Forward to seeing you again! Don't forget to Download our APP!

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    164
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
118
470
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for one night Friday 27th June.
Once again a great welcome from Phill and his team, if you like pubs with a good atmosphere then this is the place to stay, excellent food, although we did have to wait a while because it was so busy on Friday night, but that's not a criticism, just shows how popular the restaurant is!
Phill is a great character, and his pub and pies have won more awards than you can shake a stick at!
Will definatley be coming back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blastersump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your Great Review! I am pleased you enjoyed another Great Stay with us!

I Look Forward to seeing you again! Don't forget to Download our APP!

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCT Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the 22nd and 23rd of june 2014,lovely accommodation, clean and very comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, the food was wonderful, must try the home made pies especially the venison. Will definitely be returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Julie,

Thanks for your Great Review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, including The Deer Deer Pie!

I Look Forward to seeing you again! Don't forget to Download our APP!

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night via a Groupon deal and thought it was great value for money. It's in a good location for sightseeing and easy to find. The rooms are ground floor double bedroomed apartments behind the pub with tv,coffee & tea making facilities and good sized shower room. It was well furnished and comfortable. We had dinner at the pub which was very nice and the breakfast (which was included in the deal) was ample - I had the vegetarian option and didn't have a meat substitute, which would have been nice, but it was still enough. The only downside is as it's on a main road I was woken up fairly early by lorries speeding past.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mayolite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your Great Review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will definitely look into putting a Meat Substitute on the Vegetarian Breakfast!

I Look Forward to seeing you again! Don't forget to Download our APP!

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a wowcher deal, bought last minute, and what a find!Sally who meet us on arrival is just a brilliant, jolly, great host. The range of food is superb and the pies are just amazing! The Inn is very traditional and just the ticket with so many naff 'new' pubs springing up. Looking forward to going back soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Stew, and thank you for your kind words. Sally sends her regards and was delighted that she got a mention AGAIN on Trip Adviser. A bit of a Fan Club starting. All good and deserved. If you haven't already downloaded our new App just go to our website or your app store now and start benefiting from 100's of FREE Accommodation offers. Dont miss out.
Warmly
Phil Kiernan MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited The Farmers Boy Inn on an overnight stay using a wowcher voucher on the 22nd June. It was going to by my own and my husband's birthdays on the 25th and 26th June and when mentioning this in an e-mail and talking to the staff on arrival they bent over backwards to make sure it was very pleasant for us. We had a bottle of wine with our meal followed by a birthday cake compliments of Phil.

The room was quite small but it met our needs as we were only staying for one night. The only complaint I had was that there was no slip mat in the bathroom and when the floor was wet, was quite dangerous but apart from that, there was tea & coffee facilities and a very comfy bed. The decor was right up my street.

The food is to die for, so much choice and nicely presented.

They have a nice garden and although being on a fairly busy road was quite quiet at night but in the morning the cows in the overlooking field do like to give you a wake up call.

The Inn is suituated in a very pretty location and not too far from Ross-on-Wye, Clearwell Caves and Symons Yatt.

I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is passing through.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Linda, the Shower Mats are on order. Thank you for your kind & constructive review. Delighted you both had a nice stay enjoyed your bottle of vino and cake of us. We look forward to welcoming back soon again to the FBI. If you haven't already downloaded our new App just go to our website or your app store now and start benefiting from 100's of FREE Accommodation offers. Dont miss out.
Warmly
Phil Kiernan MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited midweek using a gift voucher from a present.
On arrival made welcome, rooms are out back of pub, they're in smallish separate buildings which makes a change and means they're away from any noise from pub or road.
We sat and had a beer in seats outside room after arrival.
Ate that evening in the bar area, food was good, I had a steak which was OK but not outstanding, the steak and ale pie was though apparently amazing.
Room very clean and comfy with tea making kit & biccies provided.
Breakfast in bar area pretty good, plenty of it and tasty.
All in all would recommend a stay if visiting the Forest of Dean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Henry, a man well travelled from looking at your reviews that you have already placed on Trip Adviser. Thank you for your kind words and constructive reviews. I look forward to having a beer with you on your return to the beautiful Forest of Dean. If you haven't already downloaded our new App just go to our website or your app store now and start benefiting from 100's of FREE Accommodation offers. Dont miss out.
Warmly
Phil Kiernan MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
3.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
176 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing