We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This visit was our fourth, please Phil move closer to us, in Oxford. On every visit the food has been exceptional. The staff are always very friendly and efficient. This visit we used the accommodation, and found it to be comfortable and my wife slept extremely well ( sometimes it take a night to settle into a strange bed) as I did. when you go you've got to try the legendry pies, they are awesome. keep up the good work everybody, and see you soon.
Steve Huish

Room Tip: Only having experienced the one room ( room 2 ), there isn't much I can say, except I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review!

I am glad you've enjoyed your experiences at The Farmer's Boy!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    166
    48
    19
    8
See reviews for
125
472
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the middle of yet another storm. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was I of 8 annex rooms at the rear of the pub. The room was well decorated clean with a spacious shower room. We decided to eat in the pub restaurant on the first night. What a great decision. The food was locally sourced and cooked to perfection. The cost was what you would expect to pay for such quality. Breakfast was equally as good with good choices. Again the traditional English breakfast was locally sourced. In view of the food standard we had no hesitation in again eating in the pub on the second night. We were not disappointed. The pub has great character and the staff are a credit to the proprietor. Nothing was too much trouble.
In conclusion having read previous reviews I am not an American or a member of the proprietors family. I am a Brummie who likes good quality in accommodation ,food and service. All these were achieved at The Farmers Boy. It is quite evident the staff enjoy there job and being part of a well managed team. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Derek,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm glad you had a great stay and my team looked after you! I think the pot of tea helped!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Don't forget to download our APP on our website!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for a night after watching the rugby in Gloucester, and they very kindly allowed us to do a very late check in without any problems at all. The room was lovely and comfortable and very nicely decorated. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning was excellent. Our only regret is that we were unable to be there longer in order to try their legendary pies, but hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiaCatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Nia,

Thank you for your great review! You really will have to come again and try the food!

We look forward to seeing you again

Don't forget to download our APP on our website

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Comfortable accommodation..
Friendly and efficient staff.
Interesting, wide ranging menu offering very good food and a good selection of wines, beers and soft drinks.
All of our group made positive comments about our visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
It is one of the best venues that the group has been to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 260Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Colin, Thank you for your review and delighted all you party enjoyed their stay at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future and maybe on one of your biking holidays in the Forest of Dean.
Hi, can we place the following order please,
Dont forget to download our New App on our website..
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have enjoyed meals at The Farmer's Boy Inn for many years now. Last weekend we arranged to meet up as a family for a post Christmas gathering. The table set up for the large number of us was comfortable - not at all squashed.. There were twelve of us in total and each of thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The menu is varied, the presentation beautiful and the portions generous! Thank you - look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
To one of my favourite Families. The Hart Family. Always a pleasure and thank you Lorna for your kind words. Looking forward to see your daughter taking on The Big Ugly Burger Challenge.
Dont forget to download our New App on our website too.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This birthday treat was given to us as a present from out family, We were given a very warm welcome when we arrived then shown to our room, The room was lovely, we had a brilliant meal in the restaurant and again the staff were very attentive, So thanks Phil we will be back Brian and Helen

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandollar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you Brian & Helen. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and also thank you for your kind words regarding Team Phil. Look forward to seeing you v soon in 2014.
Dont forget to download our New App on our website too.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonesfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I booked a single night at The Farmers Boy on my daughters .recommendation from her work colleague. What a superb place. Staff we're very friendly.homely and helpful. Room was very good however the food was excellent. My wife and myself both had the steak and kidney pie it was superb. Breakfast before we left very good . I hope we manage to return in the near future a really lovely place

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank You for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and our award winning gourmet Pies.
Look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Download our NEW EXCITING App by going to our website Now.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
729 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
3.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yew Tree Inn
Yew Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Longhope
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing