We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stonesfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I booked a single night at The Farmers Boy on my daughters .recommendation from her work colleague. What a superb place. Staff we're very friendly.homely and helpful. Room was very good however the food was excellent. My wife and myself both had the steak and kidney pie it was superb. Breakfast before we left very good . I hope we manage to return in the near future a really lovely place

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank You for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and our award winning gourmet Pies.
Look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Download our NEW EXCITING App by going to our website Now.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    158
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
109
451
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Dropped in whilst travelling from Hereford to Dorset - knew nothing - but liked the outside and thought it would be ok - what an understatement - it was excellent. What a great find.
Very friendly welcome, lovely staff excellent food and excellent service.
The steak and ale pie was outstanding - wonderful place truly lovely lunch. thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi and thank you for your review. I remember you dropping in and sitting in the lounge by the open fire. Thank you for your kind words and when your passing please drop in again.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just popped in on the off chance for a bite to eat on my wifes birthday weekend
we both had the most amazing pies we had ever tasted even beat the 3 shoe pie at Frampton on Severn.
Great service landlord extremely friendly, will be back on many occasions with our friends and the dogs
Thankyou so much for a great time
Grant B

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi, thank you for your review and kind words. I remember you both well and delighted that you enjoyed your visit at The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn. "Great Pies" Couldn't agree more.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Purchased this accommodation as part of a Groupon offer and we were not disappointed, Just had 2 great days at this lovely pub, really relaxing and dog friendly, great food at breakfast and in the evening, some of the best pies we have ever tasted and great beers and really enjoyed the black stout.
Really nice place to be based and explore the area. Great walks to nearby May Hill.
Difficult to fault the room was compact but functional with a large bed and shower.
Everything you need.
Download the free app as there are offers, we got free wine with our Meals if we spent over £25.
Kieron and his team were great hosts and we would highly recommend and would like to return again one day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn.
Also that you enjoyed the Pies and its OK we still have a few left.
Download my New Exciting Farmers Boy Inn App by logging on to
www.thefarmersboyinn.co.uk & See You Soon in 2014
Kind Regards Phil Kiernan Proprietor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandwell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 3rd January 2014, everything about this place is superb the room was beautiful has everything you need, the pub itself is homely, quirky and very welcoming,, the service from the staff is second to none and the food what can I say delicious good choice large portions superb,, will be going back and anyone who has the chance to go do it, the location is beautiful and for a mini break away from the norm this is the place to go

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Sam, come and stay again if you keep writing reviews like that. Thanks for the review. It means a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you in 2014 again.
Happy New Year
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent rooms, super staff who made every effort to make our stay wonderful.Plenty of coffee and tea etc.Both sky and digital TV. The bed was huge and the heating very effective. We took advantage of coming to breakfast just before cut off at 9.30 as the staff said we could.Next time we will have to take away some pies from their shop. It did seem that nothing was too much, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maestro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in 2014...
Happy New Year..
Phil Kiernan. Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I cannot express how warm, friendly and welcoming the Farmers Boy Inn is, traditional, comfortable, tasteful and a real air of quality about the place. Phil, Manda, Hannah and all of the team could not have been more welcoming and professional. From the moment we arrived it was evident that this was an establishment of high standards, beautiful clean en suite rooms, excellent food, quiet rural location but with real energy amongst the whole staff team. We were welcomed by Phil and his whole family to join in their New Year celebrations and felt most welcome and comfortable. Had a marvellous sleep in lovely comfy beds and then were treated to a real high quality breakfast with much to choose from. The restaurant menu is as good as I have seen anywhere but where these guys have the edge is in their attitude and "can do" approach, nothing we requested was too much trouble! I cannot recommend this place enough, suffice to say we arrived as strangers but left feeling like we'd met new friends! Just awesome!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
It was a pleasure to spend New Years Eve with you both Siobhan. Great night had by all. Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we all look forward to seeing you soon in 2014.
Many Thanks
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
14.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing