We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farmers Boy Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband & I were looking for somewhere local to our holiday cottage that allowed dogs so went here after reading the great reviews. It was about 3pm on a Saturday and the pub was fairly quiet. We chose to sit outside as it was a sunny day. Our food took around 50 minutes to arrive & even by this point the waitresses still hadn't managed to bring us any cutlery. Our meals were then brought out in about 5 trips although there were only 2 of us. My husband had a pie
& I had the cajun chicken & red onion bloomer. The pie was ok (although nothing outstanding) but the bloomer I cannot say the same for. Over cooked, rock hard, grisly chicken (of which most went to the dog) and no red onion in site. We ordered extra chips which we were glad of as I had to check with the waitress what we had was definitely 3 portions! Overall we thought the pub was disappointing given what we were expecting. Poorly cooked food and below average service. We overheard locals on the next table questioning whether there was a new chef as their meals had also been below the standard they usually expected...



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Apologies for the late delay in replying. I have looked into your comments and i apologise and admit that on this occasion it looks like we got it wrong. Once we "the Public" find a negative "rightly or Wrongly" we start to look for more and if we are not on top of our game we will struggle.
Our Job is to make people happy "a difficult but rewarding job" when its going right. On this occasion it looks like we fell short. My apologies once again.
Big Respect
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    155
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
104
441
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely pub friendly staff great food. Accomodation clean and comfortable. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but due to a long term health issue had to return home on 2nd morning. We were both very disapointed as we had already planned what we would be eating that evening from the very interesting menu.
We would highly recommend The Farmers Boy to everyone we know and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-you Rosemary For Your Great Review, We Are Very Glad You Enjoyed Your Stay At The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.

We Are Very Sorry That You Had To Leave Early!

But We Look Forward To Welcoming You Back To The Farmers Boy Inn In The Near Future.

Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The curbside appeal of this pub could be a little off putting, 3 union flags flying from the building, novelty signs on pavement. However,this unpretentious establishment has well equiped ensuite courtyard rooms that are very clean. The reataurant has a good varied menu offering well presented food which is extremely well cooked along with a nice selection of ales, ciders & wines to suit all budgets. The staff are warm & friendly providing an excellent service & nothing is too much trouble. This pub is run by a guy who is at the top of his game, don't miss out. John & Helen, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-you very much for your kind comments, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.

We Hope To See You Again In The Future.
Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely time last week (Weds, last day of summer!) Our son very kindly paid for us as a treat, and because the weather was so good we had our lunch outside in the beautiful garden. My husband actually summed it up perfectly on the way back home, he said "what a way to spend a sunny day - fantastic company, fantastic food and fantastic service, what more can a man want?" We will certainly be back - can we book some sunshine now please? The meals are plentiful as well, so would suggest wearing elasticated waists!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We Are Glad You Enjoyed Your Visit! Thank-you Very Much For Your Kind Comments!

I Think You Picked The Right Day, The Weather Was Brilliant! Maybe Next Time You Visit It May Be Too Cold Outside So You Could Sit By Our Open Log Fire!

We Look Forward To Seeing You Again Soon!
Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I went for an evening meal on Saturday night as we were visiting the area.

An excellent meal and great value for money. Great choice on the menu. The service was excellent for the most part.

The atmosphere was cosy and relaxing.

I would definitely recommend. A nice spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had such a good meal and an enjoyable evening.
We hope to welcome you back to The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn very soon.
Kind regards, Kathryn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just stayed for one night, found the room spacious, clean and tidy. although the water pressure seemed low on the hot tap, other than that, no complaints.
Staff were friendly and polite, so decided to have the evening meal here. Ordered one of the "famous" pies and was quite disappointed, not only did it take 45 minutes to arrive, it tasted no different to a pie you'd buy in the local chippy.
Breakfast, on the other hand, was very enjoyable.
Would stay here again, just wouldn't bother with the evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a one night stay for myself and my sister in law (birthday treat) its a great pub, the signs outside are funny 'free beer tomorrow' and 'this pub may contain nuts' . The staff (especially Paulina) are very friendly and the room small but comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our night stay and the food was good breakfast was a bit slow but I think they may have been short staff, as one person was trying to serve and cook until eventually the owner arrived. would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn. Glad you enjoyed and noticed our funny signs.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing