We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great food and very accomadating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Who would have thought I could ring a place at 7 pm on a saturday night to get 12 people in and they would do it. Albeit we were outside under the pagoda but they looked after us, kept us supplied with drinks and the food was fantastic. Even the landlord came out to chat. We were on a camping trip so were just grateful to not be cooking on a camping stove.

Thank you for your hospitality and the great food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

You welcome Chrissie. Was a busy night but i could see the look of PIES on all your faces.
See you again i hope real soon.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 837 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

having a senior moment and arriving a day early, Phil was great and re-arranged every thing so we didn't have to go home again,. we had room no.1 which was very stylish , clean and good bed,did'nt notice the noise from the busy main road. very good breakfast ,well presented and cooked, lovely garden at the side of the pub, we did take our dog (£10 extra per night) which is pretty standard
all in all a very nice stay and we would go back again..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra Catherin... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and i am delighted that you had a great stay at the Farmers Boy Inn.
A day early or a day late, who cares as long as your stay was everything you expected.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Farmers Boy Inn has been mentioned a few times in the last couple of weeks amongst our circle of friends so we decided to try it out last night.

We were immediately acknowledged by the barmaid and made to feel very welcome. The pub itself is very cosy and suprising larger than first expected. Considering they obviously had a full house of diners the atmosphere was very relaxed.

It was lovely to be able to dine at leisure and not feel as though your being rushed to free up the table.

After studying the menu for some time, so many delicious dishes to choose from, we decided to try the famous pies. They didnt dissapoint! Real home cooked food, what a refreshing change!

Lovely to meet you Phil, although I'm still trying to work out how you knew we were there? lol.

We'll be back soon for the scallops and tiger prawns :-)

Regards

Siobhain

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Siobhain, delighted you enjoyed your time at The Farmers Boy Inn.
To answer your question i asked one of my staff if a lady called Siobhain was booked in after reading your prebooked email at 8pm, the time you had booked the table for. Hope that makes perfect sense. Confused already...
Kind Regards
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights in the family rooms, which were not spacious but very well appointed,clean and comfortable (with a generously-sized shower!).

The evening meal was very good, despite the chips being forgotten until we reminded them. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts almost faultless - the black pudding was exceptional, a little more generous with the baked beans and it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyHB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank You for your wonderful review. Delighted you have a great stay at the Farmers Boy Inn.
Extra BEANS for everyone...
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights and can highly recommend it. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The owner spent time with all guests and customers making sure everything was ok. The rooms were of a very high standard and the food excellent. Will definitely stay here again. A great base to tour the Forest of Dean and surrounding area

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, but all rooms were of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maycol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi and a big thank you for sharing your review with Trip Adviser. Delighted that we managed to tick all the boxes for you and look forward to seeing you very soon at The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We bought a 2 night Wowcher deal to allow us to see this beautiful area and its surroundings - we were not disappointed. Check in was smooth and helpful, we were shown to our room where we found a huge bed, tastily furnished with all required ancillaries including free wi-fi! which we neede fr our geocaching holiday. Breakfast was sumptuous and a good choice available. Dinner was excellent and portions more than adequate but all served in a quirky fashion which added to the pleasure. All the staff were more than helpful and made our staff very enjoyable. Had a long discussion with Phil's wife before we left and we will definitely be booking a further stay very soon.
Thank you all for making this short break so very enjoyable.
Roger G Hampshire

Room Tip: Spacious rooms with all amenities and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadleytrailblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi Roger, delighted your enjoyed your stay and found your visit relaxing and entertaining.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and Manda sends her warm wishes to you both.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night stop over at farmers boy inn. What can I say great welcome, accomodation, food just lovely. The staff were helpful and jolly 5*. Perfect place for roaming around glous/hereford area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Farmers Boy Inn....
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yew Tree Inn
Yew Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Longhope
66 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Longhope
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
New House Farm
New House Farm
#2 of 4 in Longhope
57 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range: $94 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing