We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Farmers Boy Inn
Nearby Hotels
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveler rating
598
184
56
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
598
184
56
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiesthe pubforest of deansteakevening mealhuge bedwarm welcometake homeshort breakboth nightsgreat nightfood was fantasticbooked a tablesmall courtyarda lovely staylovely atmospheretwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
683 - 688 of 874 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Farmers Boy Inn has been mentioned a few times in the last couple of weeks amongst our circle of friends so we decided to try it out last night.

We were immediately acknowledged by the barmaid and made to feel very welcome. The pub itself is very cosy and suprising larger than first expected. Considering they obviously had a full house of diners the atmosphere was very relaxed.

It was lovely to be able to dine at leisure and not feel as though your being rushed to free up the table.

After studying the menu for some time, so many delicious dishes to choose from, we decided to try the famous pies. They didnt dissapoint! Real home cooked food, what a refreshing change!

Lovely to meet you Phil, although I'm still trying to work out how you knew we were there? lol.

We'll be back soon for the scallops and tiger prawns :-)

Regards

Siobhain

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Siobhain, delighted you enjoyed your time at The Farmers Boy Inn.
To answer your question i asked one of my staff if a lady called Siobhain was booked in after reading your prebooked email at 8pm, the time you had booked the table for. Hope that makes perfect sense. Confused already...
Kind Regards
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights in the family rooms, which were not spacious but very well appointed,clean and comfortable (with a generously-sized shower!).

The evening meal was very good, despite the chips being forgotten until we reminded them. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts almost faultless - the black pudding was exceptional, a little more generous with the baked beans and it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyHB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank You for your wonderful review. Delighted you have a great stay at the Farmers Boy Inn.
Extra BEANS for everyone...
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights and can highly recommend it. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The owner spent time with all guests and customers making sure everything was ok. The rooms were of a very high standard and the food excellent. Will definitely stay here again. A great base to tour the Forest of Dean and surrounding area

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, but all rooms were of the same standard
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maycol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi and a big thank you for sharing your review with Trip Adviser. Delighted that we managed to tick all the boxes for you and look forward to seeing you very soon at The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We bought a 2 night Wowcher deal to allow us to see this beautiful area and its surroundings - we were not disappointed. Check in was smooth and helpful, we were shown to our room where we found a huge bed, tastily furnished with all required ancillaries including free wi-fi! which we neede fr our geocaching holiday. Breakfast was sumptuous and a good choice available. Dinner was excellent and portions more than adequate but all served in a quirky fashion which added to the pleasure. All the staff were more than helpful and made our staff very enjoyable. Had a long discussion with Phil's wife before we left and we will definitely be booking a further stay very soon.
Thank you all for making this short break so very enjoyable.
Roger G Hampshire

Room Tip: Spacious rooms with all amenities and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadleytrailblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi Roger, delighted your enjoyed your stay and found your visit relaxing and entertaining.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and Manda sends her warm wishes to you both.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night stop over at farmers boy inn. What can I say great welcome, accomodation, food just lovely. The staff were helpful and jolly 5*. Perfect place for roaming around glous/hereford area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Farmers Boy Inn....
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews