We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night stop over at farmers boy inn. What can I say great welcome, accomodation, food just lovely. The staff were helpful and jolly 5*. Perfect place for roaming around glous/hereford area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Farmers Boy Inn....
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 848 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my family stayed here we had a very nice stay staff was very helpfully and polite the owners were very friendly and would help u in every which way food was excellent rooms were very clean would defo recommend the farmers boy inn

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Boy Inn. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I work quite a bit in this part of the world and can't think of anywhere else I'd rather stay. Food is great, rooms are really comfortable, the staff friendly and efficient and the atmosphere very welcoming.

I always enjoy my visits and I'm a pretty fussy traveller!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is vital to the growth and success of our family business. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn very soon.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you for a great break my husband has just had knee operations so this was our first break although he is still on crutches!! Also his sister & husband live in Newent which is only 6 milesaway so needed to call on them as his sister is not well
After seeing 4 in a Bed CH4 have been on mailing list for offers etc,& wanted to visit
We had a great deal met welcoming staff & Phills lovely wife Manda =+ Archie he is lovely Archie (the puppy not Phil) !! only joking we never really got to meet you as you were off duty
First of all a little disappointed as Manda on booking because my husband has had op said best room would be Room 8 so booked it as a little larger but on arrival we were allocated Room 3 on peeping into room 8 on leaving would have preferred it but an older couple maybe deserved it more as maybe more disabled than us because we maybe are luckier in our health so okay but I was hoping for it as told never told that we would not have that room !!
Great dinner Irish Mussels wow!! My husbands Black pudding & battered Brie Wow!! & then 2 Sirloin steaks to die for the worst thing to recomend were the Rustic Chips the best chips I have ever had crispy & floury inside /Maris Piper/King Edward tried them all but the sad thing I had to leave some broke my heart!!
Breakfast so sadly forgot to ask member of staff her name she waited /cooked & so perfectly perfect eggs bacon etc nothing was to much trouble even though can we come back and have new bedrooms
Thank you
GreatnPub
Alan &Shirley Howells

Room Tip: All good only 8 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyH737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Lets start by Thanking YOU.
Delighted you had a great stay and break at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn and i look forward to welcoming you back v soon.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July while touring the area. The rooms are in a small courtyard behind the inn and at first glance resemble small mobile homes. They are indeed small, but the beds are large and comfortable, and the showers are really excellent. Despite being on a main road, we did not hear any traffic noise. Also, despite being in the middle of the heatwave, the rooms were not too hot. The breakfast was very good if rather on the large side with two doorstops of toast with each order. We did eat in on one of our evenings, and although at first glance the menu seems quite expensive, in fact the pies included the vegetables and potatoes, and were really, really good.

Overall I would not rate this very highly, but the staff were very friendly, and it was very convenient as a base for the Forest of Dean and the surrounding towns like Monmouth and Chepstow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wewozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for you review. The team is a little confused as your review is very well written and seemed to compliment all at The Farmers Boy Inn. We Thank you for this but cant understand why you have decided not to recommend us further. Once again a little strange but as we say in the emerald Isle "Enjoy the Craic"
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

arrived for a one nite stay with a groupon voucher.. check in ok friendly staff you book what time you want breakfast.. stayed in rm1.. went into rm the smell of dogs hits you straight away damp doggy smell.. chair and beds had dog hair on.. really do need to advertise as dog friendly.. rooms could do with a proper clean filthy skirting boards radiators.. cob webs in corners of room.. staff in bar friendly didn't eat there as a bit over priced.. nite very noisy you can here everything that goes on in room next door inc using the toilet! no signal on tv.. very noisy road as a40 main road..breakfast we were accused of being late even though we were there at our allocated time.. turns out it was another couple who were late.. breakfast ok.. glad we hadn't paid full price..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Another Voucher deal that never understood the passion, the atmosphere, the warmth, the fine wines, the amazing food and the delights of this 17th century building which does have a little dust and a few cobwebs in the corners. We have been on the A40 for a long time which has easy access but I do agree can get a little busy from time to time. I scratch my head at times.
Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited the area for my Mums 80th birthday celebrations.

Easy access for Ledbury, Hereford, Ross on Wye, Coleford and all the forest attractions. Not a lot to do at the Inn itself, as it is on a busy main road (not that you were aware of that as the accommodation is behind the Inn). There is nowhere to go for an after dinner walk, you do need a car.

Accommodation was clean, en suite facilities excellent and the bed real comfy!

Food was superb and reasonably priced.

All round as a stop off place, it would be hard to fault, stop the car, have a great feed and a good nights sleep followed by a hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: Parents were in room 4, mum remarked that the boiler was noisy ( suspect this fed all the 'bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank your for your review and kind words.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Team Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yew Tree Inn
Yew Tree Inn
#4 of 4 in Longhope
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
New House Farm
New House Farm
#2 of 4 in Longhope
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Kings Head Inn
#3 of 4 in Longhope
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range: $97 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing