We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THANK YOU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THANK YOU”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you for a great break my husband has just had knee operations so this was our first break although he is still on crutches!! Also his sister & husband live in Newent which is only 6 milesaway so needed to call on them as his sister is not well
After seeing 4 in a Bed CH4 have been on mailing list for offers etc,& wanted to visit
We had a great deal met welcoming staff & Phills lovely wife Manda =+ Archie he is lovely Archie (the puppy not Phil) !! only joking we never really got to meet you as you were off duty
First of all a little disappointed as Manda on booking because my husband has had op said best room would be Room 8 so booked it as a little larger but on arrival we were allocated Room 3 on peeping into room 8 on leaving would have preferred it but an older couple maybe deserved it more as maybe more disabled than us because we maybe are luckier in our health so okay but I was hoping for it as told never told that we would not have that room !!
Great dinner Irish Mussels wow!! My husbands Black pudding & battered Brie Wow!! & then 2 Sirloin steaks to die for the worst thing to recomend were the Rustic Chips the best chips I have ever had crispy & floury inside /Maris Piper/King Edward tried them all but the sad thing I had to leave some broke my heart!!
Breakfast so sadly forgot to ask member of staff her name she waited /cooked & so perfectly perfect eggs bacon etc nothing was to much trouble even though can we come back and have new bedrooms
Thank you
GreatnPub
Alan &Shirley Howells

Room Tip: All good only 8 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyH737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Lets start by Thanking YOU.
Delighted you had a great stay and break at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn and i look forward to welcoming you back v soon.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    158
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
108
451
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July while touring the area. The rooms are in a small courtyard behind the inn and at first glance resemble small mobile homes. They are indeed small, but the beds are large and comfortable, and the showers are really excellent. Despite being on a main road, we did not hear any traffic noise. Also, despite being in the middle of the heatwave, the rooms were not too hot. The breakfast was very good if rather on the large side with two doorstops of toast with each order. We did eat in on one of our evenings, and although at first glance the menu seems quite expensive, in fact the pies included the vegetables and potatoes, and were really, really good.

Overall I would not rate this very highly, but the staff were very friendly, and it was very convenient as a base for the Forest of Dean and the surrounding towns like Monmouth and Chepstow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wewozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for you review. The team is a little confused as your review is very well written and seemed to compliment all at The Farmers Boy Inn. We Thank you for this but cant understand why you have decided not to recommend us further. Once again a little strange but as we say in the emerald Isle "Enjoy the Craic"
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

arrived for a one nite stay with a groupon voucher.. check in ok friendly staff you book what time you want breakfast.. stayed in rm1.. went into rm the smell of dogs hits you straight away damp doggy smell.. chair and beds had dog hair on.. really do need to advertise as dog friendly.. rooms could do with a proper clean filthy skirting boards radiators.. cob webs in corners of room.. staff in bar friendly didn't eat there as a bit over priced.. nite very noisy you can here everything that goes on in room next door inc using the toilet! no signal on tv.. very noisy road as a40 main road..breakfast we were accused of being late even though we were there at our allocated time.. turns out it was another couple who were late.. breakfast ok.. glad we hadn't paid full price..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank c B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Another Voucher deal that never understood the passion, the atmosphere, the warmth, the fine wines, the amazing food and the delights of this 17th century building which does have a little dust and a few cobwebs in the corners. We have been on the A40 for a long time which has easy access but I do agree can get a little busy from time to time. I scratch my head at times.
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited the area for my Mums 80th birthday celebrations.

Easy access for Ledbury, Hereford, Ross on Wye, Coleford and all the forest attractions. Not a lot to do at the Inn itself, as it is on a busy main road (not that you were aware of that as the accommodation is behind the Inn). There is nowhere to go for an after dinner walk, you do need a car.

Accommodation was clean, en suite facilities excellent and the bed real comfy!

Food was superb and reasonably priced.

All round as a stop off place, it would be hard to fault, stop the car, have a great feed and a good nights sleep followed by a hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: Parents were in room 4, mum remarked that the boiler was noisy ( suspect this fed all the 'bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank your for your review and kind words.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just enjoyed a 2 night stay using a Wowcher deal!...This place is award winning, and with all the awards on display you wont forget it - Even the toilets remind you!
On arrival staff were very friendly and easy going, a theme which continued throughout our stay. The room was clean and exactly what is required for a short stay - massive comfortable bed, adequate on-suite and a TV. Although on the A40 we did not find traffic noise an issue, and found we were perfectly placed for our outings (Clearwell Caves and Canoeing on the Wye). We ate dinner in the large garden, service was good, the food fantastic and filling. Breakfast offers a good choice, I had crispy bacon and poached eggs which were delicious, so i had the same the following morning. If there was one thing I was unhappy about it was that only one packet of 3 biscuits was left for 2 guests...give us a pack each Team Phil!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank your for your review and kind words.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room very clean and bed nice a large and the staff welcoming. However waited half an hour in restaurant before having to ask for our order to be taken and then waited another 40 mins before dinner arrived. The food was good when we finally got it. Breakfast however was awful! The muffin was rock hard and we had to send it back. The scrambled eggs were overlooked and rubbery. The poached eggs were overdone and there was water on the plate which made the toast soggy. Unfortunately they served the crusts toasted which didn't help either. When we arrived back for the second night they had forgotten to put towels in the room. However we didn't have to wait so long for dinner the second night. Food was again good. The inn is on the A40 so there's no walks or village to wander around - you have to get in your car to go anywhere. Because the weather was hot we had to have the window open which made it noisy in the morning and as all the rooms are in cabin affairs out the back they are all on the ground floor so didn't particularly like having window wide open as definite lack of privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auntiebins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you you personal review. I can only apologize for the lack of high customer service you received at The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn. Its not acceptable and we make NO EXCUSES.
Please contact me philipkiernan@btconnect.com so i can arrange a FREE night on me. This is what i call a Broken Window and Broken Windows can be fixed.
Regarding location and the minor comments made, i find once we find ONE NEGATIVE we will always find more. Its Human Nature. Its how we react and deal with them that matters.
Kind Regards
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from a two night stay using a Wowcher voucher. The staff were very pleasant, the accommodation although on the small size was very good, clean and nicely decorated with little touches. The food was very good, we were very impressed, although there was not enough fruit available at breakfast and the poor young lady was having to do all the orders and cook the breakfast because the Chef did not turn up. But all in all enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again and recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Anne1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank your for your review and kind words.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
671 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
545 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
359 reviews
11.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing