We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a pub should be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything a pub should be.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic pub prompt friendly service. lovely log fire. wonderful quiet ambiance. awesome food. b and b room was comfy well equipped lovely decor. only minor point is shower grout a bit mouldy - but i am a bit of a clean freak and it didn't detract from enjoyment of a lovely stay. room very quiet to especially considering proximity to main road. breakfast was one of the best we've had. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Han250789, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    161
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
119
460
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a great deal.Good standard of rooms which were very clean and well presented.The food here is absolutely outstanding and we have not had better anywhere.Great place Great food Great stay.Well done to you all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Han250789, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stay at the farmers boy over Christmas. Arrived for christmas dinner and left on the 28th December
Everything was great lovely country bub and accommodation was fab, meal was fantastic, staff more than help full, choose your wine for there farm shop and pay at the end of you stay.
Only one small problem rooms far to hot

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mississippi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Han250789, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
635 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a promotional deal!
What a great find! The pub is very cosy and welcoming with top notch food which include their famous pies.
The rooms are clean and spacious with a great shower.
Lovely breakfast and great service! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It means alot to the whole team at The Farmers Boy Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

what a great place to stop, we stop there every time we pass on the way back to Mi Wales. Really welcoming and the food is just great to an the pie's fantastic. I if you ever pass by stop and try you won't be disappointed/

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filltek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It means alot to the whole team at The Farmers Boy Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Superb food, Hannah is fab. All staff very friendly and eager to please. Rooms cosy and warm. Lovely atmosphere, good value for money. Perfect for thr sunday lunch, weekend getaway or pie night. Must try the steak and ale with stilton pie!!!! We keep going back, top place with fab people. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here on the 16th December so would like to write this review while the experience is still fresh in my mind.
We booked to stay here through Groupon on a fantastic rate.
I have been here just for food so I knew we wouldnt be disapointed, which we werent. Food and service were really good and couldnt faulter them at all.
The room was a decent size with a huge bed which took up the majority of the space. Tiny tv which was a little dissapointing. Massive shower cubicle, they only thing that we could grumble on was the bathroom being quite grubby. Dusty radiator and black mould in the shower cubicle,windows and ceiling.
But if that was the only think we could grumble about we honeslty dont mind, could be worse things at the end of the day.
Breakfast was amazing, lack of choice on the continental choices, but loads if you wanted something hot. I went for the egg and souldiers with a side of bacon. Eggs were cooked perfectly and bacon was amazing. My partner thought his cooked breakfast was fantastic and he now likes black pudding!!
Overall a fantastic stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol-blondie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
3.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
165 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing