We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for food and drink!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Staff are very friendly and attentive, and the food is second to none! We had theire 'famous' 2in1 pie of coliflour cheese with Steak and guiness which we thought was amazing, only to be out done on our second evening when we ordered the 8oz fillet from their specials menu....I cannot find the words to decribe how nice this meal was... all i can say is, ORDER IT and find out for yourself! It is testiment to a pub when it is consistantly busy every evening! We were lucky to get in on our first night as we never booked, but the staff made room for us!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_T_OD_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 821 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here over a very wet and rainy few days in July. The rooms work well, and function as you'd expect. Plenty of parking.

But the jewel here is the pub, the food they serve is second to none. The pies really are top notch. I was doubtful as to whether I would enjoy them, as I am not a fan normally. However, you really haven't had a pie till you have one from here. Try the 2 in 1 pies (meat on one side and then cauliflower cheese on the other), lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We got an absolutely marvellous deal from Groupon - but we would have happily paid the going rate for our stay at the Farmers Boy Inn (next time!). The Inn is located in a beautiful setting surrounded by Gloucestershire hills and small country roads - great for walking (the triangular walk down Barrel Lane just up from the Inn was easy and beautiful - approx 4 miles). The pub is lovely, very atmospheric with rustic beams strung with hops, a lit coal fireplace and generally a very lovely pub ambiance on top of which we found the locals really friendly and welcoming. Our room was fairly basic but clean, comfortable and way more than adequate - we might have struggled if we'd had more luggage. The room may have felt smallish since the bed was an impressive size (2 x singles zipped together - not at all lumpy the way some of those zip beds can be) and pillows/linens spotless and perfect for the weather. Our room was toasty - and we had control over the temperature - except for overnight when it's obviously on a timer -which makes sense. The shower was a great size for my xxl partner. We ate in the restaurant: I had the fish and chips - fish was excellent and my partner had the pie of the day (pork and apple) which was also excellent (he gave it 10 out of 10) - ("pie-tastic" to use the preferred colloquialism!) the only criticism we had would echo earlier reviews - that such scrummy food deserves home made chips - nothing wrong with the McCain ones but based on the calibre of the rest of meal(s) we can only imagine how good their home made chips would be and we would have been willing to pay more for Farmers Boy home made chips! Check in and check out were friendly and efficient - we were shown to our room and felt very welcome. Breakfast was also very good, there was a pretty extensive breakfast menu to choose from which is a real bonus. I had a cheese and mushroom omelette and my partner went for the full English- both were great - I was also impressed with the brown toast which was hearty. On a slightly negative note we found there was a lot of promotion in the pub/restaurant (for pies, awards, owner etc.) which we felt was unnecessary and a little 'in your face' - the place speaks for itself- it's great- so while we 'get' the promoting of the business it was a little off putting to have the owner stare back at me even from the ladies loo!! We walked away with a very positive experience of the Farmers Boy Inn and we didn't need to be told everywhere how good it is. We had a brilliant time, a restful and enjoyable stay, great food and we'll definitely visit here again and will recommend to others. We stayed in room 6 - bright and sunny yellow tones. On a final note it is really great to see the proprietor taking so much care and with obvious passion for his business. Thank-you Farmers Boy Inn for a great birthday get-away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emmaslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Farmers Boy Inn, very warm and welcoming. We ate in every night as the food choice was amazing and absolutly delicious. The pies were to die for, we bought a few to take home with us. Breakfasts were very good also. The rooms although not very large were very comfortable, very clean. Having the Farmers Boy to come back to each evening after a busy day touring around the beautiful countryside made our aniversay trip all the more special. A big thankyou to all the Staff for their friendliness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi,
thank you for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed are stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both we will keep you the table in the window for when you return!

Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is our first time at the Farmers boy Inn, and it was pie-tastic. We were met and shown to our room by Amy, who in turn looked after us in the bar,she made us feel welcome and was nice to talk to.
After a few Stone ciders we went to our room to get changed,brilliant shower and our super king size bed looked inviting.
Time to eat, I had the 'Steak and Guinness pie topped with Irish mussels' what can i say 'Yum scrum'' perfect. Sascha had the Gourmet 2 in 1 pie Steak and Guinness with cauliflower in a sauce. It must have been good there was nothing left. 5star food and service. No room for dessert.
Back to the bar and the excellent service commenced with Hannah, after a while Phil the owner turned up with his new addition to his family, Archie a pointer puppy.
After a couple of Brandy's we were ready for bed, 10/10 for comfort and slept brilliantly.
Breakfast, full English for me, plenty of, cant complain.Sascha had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, she loved it.
I would highly recommend The Farmers Boy Inn, for the dog lovers out there the place is dog friendly.
We will be going back in the summer and can see it becoming a regular habit working our way through the pie menu.
Thank you to the Phil Team.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi,
thank you for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed are stay with us, and all aspects of the Farmer's Boy including the Local Stowford's Cider!

Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our second experience of the Farmers Boy was even better than the first and I gave it 10/10 then.

This visit was for my partners birthday and all worked out perfectly - the room / meals / atmosphere / staff are all a credit to Phil and Hannah.

Well recommended to anyone looking for a meal 'just how a pub should be' - Fantastic all round !

10/10 - we'll definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonMParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi,
thank you for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed are stay with us, i hope your wife enjoyed her surprise flowers!

Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I love the Farmers Boy Inn. Have stayed there twice and been really looked after both times. Fantastic food and a really fun atmosphere. Whilst nonbody ever seems to be in a rush, everything is taken care of in a timlely manner - don't you hate it when you're asked by waiters "how's your meal?" when you've just stuck a load of food in your mouth? Not here, you're left alone but when Phil comes over to talk, he does just that. We found out about the area, places to visit in a really frendly way. Just as if we'd got chatting to someone at the bar having a pint.

The rooms are really well set out, with plenty of space, storage and comfortable beds. We both slept really well. the food is great, just really simple, quality food with fresh ingredients that you always hope for but never quite get in most pubs. And the pies are a diferrent level, just amazing!

Can't wait to go back, visit the shop and be looked after again! Thanks very much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi,
thank you for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed are stay with us, you'll have to come back to enjoy a pint of Guinness with me!

Look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards Phil Kiernan Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
94 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Belfry Hotel
The Belfry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littledean
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yew Tree Inn
Yew Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Longhope
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range: $84 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing