We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farmers Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We waited 1 hour and 10 minutes after ordering, to be served our food,and the restaurant was not that busy. There was only one waitress who seemed to be working at half speed, so the barmaid and owner helped out here and there. My husband had one of the famous pies and some of the meat was tough, we all had the chips which tasted like the cheapest supermarket variety, and were awful.None of us enjoyed our meals. The restaurant needed a good dusting, and the chairs were most uncomfortable. all in all a big disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for you response. I am very disappointed that your visit to the Award winning Farmers Boy Inn wasn't a Pie-tastic experience.
I am also very disappointed that you did not enjoy our marinated Cotswold Beef, disappointed that you didn't enjoy the luxury leather restaurant chairs, disappointed that you found the 17th century oak beamed restaurant dusty, disappointed that you found the UK's brand leader McCains rustic Steak chips disappointing. Also disappointed that the young waitress wasn't fast enough for you.
I hope this not put you off visiting the Award winning Farmers Boy Inn in the future as I would be very disappointed not to have the opportunity to make sure your next visit wasn't disappointing.
Thank you once again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    155
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
104
441
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed 4 nights and very impressed. Convenient location to local attractions such as the Forest of Dean. Lovely chalet type rooms, nicely laid out and very clean. Beds were very comfortable and nice to come back to after a long day out. Unfortunately couldn't get the TV to work and the internet connection was not good. The inn itself is a traditional English country pub with low oak beams. The restaurant was fabulous with a very welcoming atmosphere and the staff were friendly and hospitable. There was a good choice of breakfasts,and a packed lunch can be ordered, and I booked a table each evening in the restaurant. The food was fantastic, good, wholesome English food, homemade and plenty of it. Also a large garden area to sit out in and relax, and dogs welcome. Didn't try the pies, but took 2 home with me from the pie shop next door and my son said they were delicious. All very reasonably priced and I definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skmtryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have just spent 2 nights at the Farmers Boy Inn, the accomodation is really comfortable. The pub itself has a lot of character abd the staff are very friendly and efficient. Excellent food, a bit pricey but well worth the money. Thanks to Phil and Team. Will be back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Inn has a lovely English pub decor and atmosphere with a fantastic restaurant providing a large choice of breakfasts and meals throughout the day. The staff are extremely friendly and hospitable. The guest house is made up of a number of chalets with fantastic facilities. It felt more of a home environment than a hotel. The rooms are very well decorated with tv/freesat, tea and coffee facilites, ensuite powershowers and free wifi. I was very happy and will definitely be returning when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gb1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

A gold medal performance! Nice room and excellent service from the always helpful and personable staff. The food was always tasty and well presented and then there were the pies, They were . . . simply PIETASTIC!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

fine detail let it down from being 'very good' or excellent.

I was allowed access to my room at 10.30am, it was very clean and attractively laid out, small and compact but certainly more than adequate from my initial viewing. I particularly liked the clean and pretty linen. Fist impressions count and I was initially pleased. I then went out for the day returning late at night to find that the only toiletery was a small plastic bottle of handwash. There were no showering gels/body washes/shampoos, it was fortunate that I had my own. I suspect that this was an 'oversight' as my friends staying in separate rooms did have body wash etc. The only other point which I feel could be improved is to have black-out lining for the curtains, the bright sun simply woke me up very early and black out curtains would solve this.
Breakfast was excellent and the pub and a good reputation for food generally. Staff were very friendly and the boss was working very hard in the kitchen when I saw him - a good example. Had I not been in my birthday suit (!) when I found out about the lack of body wash, I am sure the staff would have replaced it if asked.

I am not deterred about returning next year when I am sure the grade will change to 'very good' if not above that.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for an 'end room' to only have one neighbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were lucky enough to win a night's dinner b&b as a competition prize and really couldn't have been better looked after by Phil and his lovely team. We decided that we had to have the pies for dinner: I had the gourmet Steak and Guinness with Mature Blue Cheese and my husband sampled the same pie but with Brie instead of Blue Cheese, alongside a delicious plate of new potataoes and vegetables. Was the nicest pie I have ever eaten but so filling! Others in the restaurant were sampling desserts but we couldn't even contemplate eating anything else! Breakfast the next morning was really delicious too and you really could appreciate the quality of the locally sourced ingredients, including bacon, sausage, black pudding and free range eggs, which I had scrambled and I have to say again, were the most wonderful scrambled eggs I have ever eaten! Room was really good, too; tastefully decorated and relaxing with Sky TV and a great shower. Enjoyed so much we would happily pay to go back and are planning to do so before too long, as we would love to take in some more of the lovely scenery in the area and perhaps tackle some walks to alleviate the affect of all that great food!
The passion for the business which Phil clearly has is obvious to see and his staff all seem to share the same ethos, nothing is too much trouble for them and they are often one step ahead of your needs in ensuring that you enjoy a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. Tell all your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you all soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Phil and his team
As seen on C4's Four in a Bed TV Show.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing