We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pie-tastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farmers Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pie-tastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The pies wete great ,the owner very handsome in a colin farrell way a pietastic time had by all

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanch O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind Comments & we look forward to welcoming you back soon from The USA. Not sure about the Colin Farrell bit but thank you anyway.... Regards Phil & his Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    155
    44
    15
    8
See reviews for
104
440
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Phil and Team Phil were fab, very welcoming and Hannah was a brilliant member of staff. The room was clean, modern and warm and the pies were to die for! 1st class service, even supplied a bus for the races during our stay. We'll be back next year for the Cheltenham Festival and have emailed our booking already! Thoroughly recommended, excellent accommodation and food and you won't get a better welcome elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi Kate,
It was a pleasure to meet you and Jeff and i hope you are putting those handbags to good use! We've booked you in for next and i know Hannah & Myself are looking forward to seeing you again!
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
I am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just returned from a visit to the Ross on Wye area and booked a table at the Farmer's Boy to sample the famous pies that Phil Kiernan has been insisting are 'Pie-Tastic'. We were not disappointed! After taking some time to digest the extensive menu, two of our party decided on the Steak and Guinness Pie, one had the Game Pie while I had the Steak and Guinness Pie with Black Pudding. They were all really delicious with a lovely light pastry topping. One word of warning, make sure you are hungry if you're going to have one of these pies, the 'mini' one is big and the large one is enormous! We most certainly will visit the Farmer's Boy again when we are in the area and can highly recommend it. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannyandGranddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
I am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and thought the pies were as PIE-TASTIC as i tell people they are
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in the Farmers Boy 23-26 March, had a really relaxing weekend the weather was glorious and the location meant there were plenty of places to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we had a nice comfy bed, good food and all the staff were very welcoming. Also like to say thank you to Hannah she always had a smile on her face and gave us advice on places to visit. We would recommend this B&B and pub.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi Val,
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
We are glad you had a great time with us and that the weather was nice enough for you to explore the glorious area that we live in! A special thank you from Hannah as she is always happy to please!
We hope to see you both again!
Regards Phil Kiernan & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on Saturday night, in room 5. Room was cold when we arrived. But heating did come on later. My husband and I were both cold in the night though. Love the big bed. However the noise from the plumbing was horrendous. Have mention it to proprietor, who promised to sort problem out. Food great, would stay again, if noisy plumbing sorted.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NetRam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
We are sorry that the plumbing was noisy and have got the problem sorted now, it's one of those things that if we don't know about it we can't fix it so thank you for bringing our attention to the problem and we are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay!
Regards Phil Kiernan & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovely traditional food, in large quantities!

Charming owner made you feel at home.

We will be back..!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M3N_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
I am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I, her sister and husband, all decided to stay the night after a family funeral. The Farmer's Boy was our first choice because it was nearest. How fortunate we were, because from the first minute after our arrival until we left after a superb breakfast we were looked after in a first class manner. The boss, his wife and the staff were extremely accommodating and made it a pleasurable stay with good food, pies of course, good wine and a quiet night in a clean and comfortable room. We will certainly go back when we are next in the area. My wife deducted half a star because of a lack of toiletries.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerjealin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
It was a pleasure to meet you all and i am very glad you enjoyed the beer, wine & of course pies!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing