We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRIENDLY & ATTENTIVE SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farmers Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY & ATTENTIVE SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

my wife & I visited the Farmers Boy Inn after seeing the Channel 4 TV show, Four In A Bed,
we were staying in Much Birch, about 10 miles away & had to experience the special pies for ourselves. We met Phil who is a real character, he & his staff made us extremely welcome. The pies are a must have on a visit to the Farmers Boy Inn & we were not disappointed. Hopefully we will be back in the near future to experience the friendly hospitality once again & of course the pies.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.
As a small family business it means alot to us & i look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    155
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
104
441
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bham uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed here 3rd of February 2012 and found the accommodation excellent with good food and a friendly atmosphere. I believe it was Hannah at the bar who provided quick and efficient service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
Pete i am glad you had such a great stay, eve with the weather cold outside we like to provide a warm, friendly & efficient welcome to all of our guests!
Big Respect Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

.Very warm welcome when we arrived. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. Food was excellent and very hot, including the breakfast. Room was spotless and facilities were excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend this place for a very enjoyable and welcoming stay.Thanks to Phil and staff, Ian & Gail.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
I am glad you had a great stay, being the crazy night it was!
We look forward to seeing you again!
Big Respect Phil Kiernan Proprietor & Team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we found the service and friendliness of ‘Team Phil’ at The Farmers Boy to be exemplary. They really did work as a team! Other pubs could learn a great deal on running a pub just by watching how they work.

We stayed overnight and we found the room was spotless, comfortable and well appointed. Set well back from the road in a courtyard meant that we had a quiet and restful sleep.

The evening food was excellent quality and was certainly not short on quantity. The selection of breakfasts was just right, with the full English suiting my husband very well. Phil is an excellent host, and we have no hesitation recommending The Farmers Boy Inn. Thank you 'Team Phil' for making our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsposhsimontemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
It was a pleasure to meet you and your husband and we could not have had better winners to our "win a stay at The Farmer's Boy Inn" and we are using your slogan "Team Phil!" for our new name badges as we think it's great!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Big Respect Phil Kiernan Proprietor & team Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

What a cracking weekend away from home. The food, drinks, staff and accomodation were second to none. Easy to find (just off A40) and close to both City shopping or a long walk in the countryside. There was a large choice on the menu and also a good selection of ales and wines. A very warm and welcoming place to stay. We will return !!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieParkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. Your custom & satisfaction are the key to our success.
Big Respect Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

A great stay with friends from Turkey, great food ,drink and accommodation

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Hi Mark, was a pleasure to meet you & your crazy gang. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.
Big Respect Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very welcoming, excellent selection on the menu, Phil was very accomodating and his staff were a credit to him. We will definately be back, thanks Phil!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaD896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue3692, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your detailed review. It means so much to myself & my team. Also its important for the growth of our business. Thank you again.
Big Respect Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing