We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We thought this room was empty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Witcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We thought this room was empty”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I feel very sorry for your excellent reception staff Katia and Jean having to explain, justify and apologise for what is going on during the major refurbishment of this Premier Inn. A carpark full of white vans and portacabins, drilling and hammering most of the day, plastic sheeting everywhere on the carpets and stairs to try and keep some of the dust down. We were not impressed with the builders coming into the room without so much as a knock muttering we thought this room was empty - and even though I was running a bath decided to wander into the bathroom checking whatever to do with their building work... This behaviour is inexcuseable and the promise of reception to "have a word with them" was hardly sufficient, AVOID this premier inn for the time being... I have been trying to contact Customer Services for a whole week without success...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riversmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    163
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
144
274
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

On arrival, was told that some refurbishment work was being undertaken and that it wouldn't trouble our stay. This was not the case. Power tools etc. at 0730am and loud talking and swearing outside our room window. Hotel was undergoing refit which was not specified at the time of booking. Carpets had carpet protector on them giving the whole hotel a feel of being on a building site.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithtippers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed for a Birthday mini-break and chose this hotel because of its location between Cheltenham and Gloucester, and because of the great walks nearby. However on arrival, was told that some refurbishment work was being undertaken (there was no indication on the website during booking) and that it wouldn't trouble our stay.

This was not the case. Power tools etc. at 0730??? As a postman working 6 days a week, a lie-in shouldn't be too much to ask. I feel badly let down by Premier Inn. They promised a full refund but only refunded1/3rd (£34)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

For the same price (often less) you can get a hotel with character and a gym (e.g. Mercure at South Marston, approx 30 mls away).
Hotel was undergoing refit which was not specified at the time of booking (I think). Carpets had carpet protector on them giving the whole hotel a feel of being on a building site. Also, bathroom was shaby with mouldy sealant around the bath.
Strong smell of fresh paint in the bathroom too.

Room Tip: All the same, pretty bland really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magellanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just come back from a short break, and highly recommend this hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome, the room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel is in a quiet area away from the motorway and is an ideal location for touring, around the cotswolds and lots of lovely places. The Beefeater adjacent provided us with a great breakfast in the morning with lots of choice, for a very reasonable price, Will definitly return again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2012

great hotel and great value for money recomend very spacious rooms

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillybilly1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Quite location, plenty of parking. Flat screened tv's with freeview, free wi fi for 30 mins. Friendly staff. Beefeater next door.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Witcombe
0.4 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
1.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester Business Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Address: Ermin Way, Little Witcombe GL3 4SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Little Witcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Witcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, close to Leckhampton Hill and Great Witcombe Roman Villa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel Little Witcombe
Premier Inn Little Witcombe
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing