We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Location”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The accommodation rooms for the Crown are sited in a purpose-built block to the rear of the inn itself. They are of a reasonable size and clean, though could due with some refurbishment. The beautiful views of the Golden valley were spoiled by steamed & stained window glass, caused by broken seals on the glazing units!

The inn is set in a lovely location and just oozes character. Plenty of wooden beams, flagstone floors and little nooks and crannys to suit everyone. Food at the inn was good, though a little pricey, as was the cost of the room, which at £85 was a bit steep. £75 would have been about right.

Nonetheless, a recommended place to stay with friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakenose, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2009

Thank you very much for both your constructive and generous comments, in response I would like to inform you of our plans and try and justify our prices. Currently we are in the process of a full hotel refurbishment bringing all our rooms up to date, replacing all double glazing, bathroom suites and decor. We do appreciate that they are a little tired and old.
My partner & I have now owned the Crown for roughly 18 months, In that time we have managed to complete 5 of our 12 bedrooms, with also a great deal of refurbishment on the original 17th century pub including all new slate & Cotswold stone roofs. As we are a privately owned business that doesn't have the support of a large hotel company, refurbishments do take longer, due to the large sums of money involved.
We base our hotel rates on a number of considerations:
1. Our idyllic location.
2. The large size of the rooms
3. En Suite Facilities
&
4.Other prices in the area.
With all of this we are not cheap, but we feel are tariff is reasonable.

Our menu is devised of the finest fresh seasonal and local ingredients all prepared and cooked on the premises. The prices of our Main courses range from £8 to at most £13 we feel that again this is not cheap but it is a very reasonable price.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and were not put off too much by the points that you have mentioned. I hope my reply resolves some of your concerns and we hope to see you again in the future, (to maybe try one of our newer rooms) as we especially value customers that let us know their opinion.
Many Thanks
Simon & Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2009

Very atmospheric and charming pub serving good food and real ale. The bedrooms are in an annexe but are nicely decorated, clean and warm.
In a lovely quiet location. Breakfast was excellent and hearty. Service friendly and very efficient.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

This was the latest of many visits to the Crown, the rooms were extremely comfortable and were very good value for money. Breakfast was great; I am a big eater; my wife was also satisfied with the other cereal and fresh fruit that was served as an alternative to the Full English.

The Pub and Restaurant are idyllic, Great local Ale and locally produced food at a reasonable price. Simon and Gemma (The Landlords) were very welcoming and went out of their way to help me and the rest of my party during our stay.

We like this place so much we now use it as a regular meeting place for us and our friends. We have also held a 30th Birthday party and Christmas Party there in the past in the Function room.

Look Forward to seeing you again soon Simon and Gemma!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winstan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

3 nights stay, was great, nice room spacious and clean.

Good beer and cider.

Beautiful little village spot.

Staff were excellent.

Food very good especially the specials.

Will return soon

Stayed: September 2008
Thank sofieRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We spent three days at this lovely 17th Century Inn. In a very small Cotswild village overlooking the beautiful Golden Valley .It was recently purchased by local operators who are paying attention to details. Darren, the manager went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.

Staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are fairly basic, but very clean, well serviced and apparantley a cosmetic makeover is in the works. Very good value for the money.

Breakfast daily was great as was the one dinner. we had.

Note: If you are looking for night life within walking distance, look elsewhere. The neighbors for this great getaway are beautiful adjoining farms and beathtaking scenery.

Not to worry, you are only 10-15 minutes drive to Cirencester, Stroud and beautiful Tetbury. Also 5-10 great pubs within 10 minutes. Also , I can't remember the last time I left my hotel room unlocked, but we did here during the day!

Well worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank susume724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frampton Mansell
4.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.3 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
864 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
19.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range: $96 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing