We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent stay.”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Could only stay for a single night on this occasion, but had a fantastic time. The location is a quiet
village. Our room was spacious clean and comfortable. The pub itself is steeped in character, open fires and low ceilings. Food was wonderful, excellent quality and generous portions. Beer also very good. Excellent value for money. Will be back for a longer stay in near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

A tale of 2 reviews - stayed a year ago & had a comfy room with pretty pictures on the walls & a nicely tiled, fitted out bathroom. No complaints. This time, however... Ok so it was a very late booking but I got the impression that I had been given the 'last' room (ie not used unless busy) but still charged the full rate.
The bedroom was ok but no pictures on the wall & a bit small but the bathroom was dreadful - old, dark green suite, bath which was so small I couldn't lie down (I'm 5ft 2!!!) and a shower that had definitely seen better days.
I was told that they were fully booked so couldn't change rooms so I decided that I would put up with it as only staying one night.
To add insult to injury I was told on checking out that next time I should ask for a room with a refurbished bathroom! I had no idea that there were different standards of rooms - certainly not mentioned on the website nor was it mentioned when I booked. However, I was still charged full rate for a substandard room - disgraceful.
I like the pub but not the customer attitude. If they had smiled, offered me a reduction in the rate or even apologised then I would have felt that they cared but as it was I left feeling that my 'experience' at the property was not important - needless to say, I will be staying somewhere else on my next trip to the area.
Such a shame - it's a nice place

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabholslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

stay here in march as a base for cheltenham festival with 7 other friends we was greeted at the reception and promptly shown to our rooms even though we arrived early morning.we came came back late at night and went for a couple of beers in the pub and we were made to feel welcome.next morning we went down for a full english breakfast which was excelent especially the sausages.overall i would recommend the crown to anybody and if i should return to the area i will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerseysideStgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this wonderful pub with excellent accommodation in the middle of torrential rain, slightly difficult to get there! It was made even better by the super friendly helpful service, good menu and excellent food. A very nice atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely olde Cotswold pub, with a fantastic atmosphere but so disappointed with our food, it was 'bland' perfectly edible, but the fish pie was swimming in liquid with little fish & the risotto had no flavour.

Maybe we were unlucky on this occasion, the drinks & service was good!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Caravansera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

As a local who enjoys nothing more than a Sunday walk and lunch in a decent pub, thank goodness for The Crown. I used to be a regular at The Bell in Sapperton, but it's never been quite the same since Paul and Pat left. The Crown, on the other hand, is everything a great pub should be.....cosy with candles and log fires, friendly staff, great beer and great food. Even our dog is welcome. Please, please visit The Crown and reward them for doing such a great job.....I can't walk any further!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank invinoveritasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Love it, love it, love it! Great food, great beer and ideal location. Roaring fire just capped the ultimate in rural ambiance. This should be on ever bodies bucket list. We live about 4 miles away but still manage to visit at least once if not twice a month.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Enderley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range: $101 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing