We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! ”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this wonderful pub with excellent accommodation in the middle of torrential rain, slightly difficult to get there! It was made even better by the super friendly helpful service, good menu and excellent food. A very nice atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 264 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely olde Cotswold pub, with a fantastic atmosphere but so disappointed with our food, it was 'bland' perfectly edible, but the fish pie was swimming in liquid with little fish & the risotto had no flavour.

Maybe we were unlucky on this occasion, the drinks & service was good!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Caravansera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

As a local who enjoys nothing more than a Sunday walk and lunch in a decent pub, thank goodness for The Crown. I used to be a regular at The Bell in Sapperton, but it's never been quite the same since Paul and Pat left. The Crown, on the other hand, is everything a great pub should be.....cosy with candles and log fires, friendly staff, great beer and great food. Even our dog is welcome. Please, please visit The Crown and reward them for doing such a great job.....I can't walk any further!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank invinoveritasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Love it, love it, love it! Great food, great beer and ideal location. Roaring fire just capped the ultimate in rural ambiance. This should be on ever bodies bucket list. We live about 4 miles away but still manage to visit at least once if not twice a month.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Enderley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I eat and drink here at least once a week, even though we live 9 miles away. The reason ? Fab atmosphere, great young motivated staff, consistently great food that is well priced. Standards have been really high for a long time now. keep up the good work !! No other pub in the area can match this place

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank joneseyoaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great place, lovely food and such pleasant and helpful staff. Really nice to find a real pub with accommodation that welcomes dogs. Great beer, lovely food and a lovely atmosphere. Will definitely go again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Visited The Crown with 4 friends for an evening meal. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, the ambiance was superb and to crown it all we were visited by carol singers in traditional costume which rounded the evening off very well. Very traditional country pub stone built and log fires. We would certainly visit again if in the area.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range: $101 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing