We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentines Weekend”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentines Weekend”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a long valentines weekend and it was perfect. The place has so much character, the food was brillaint and the staff were so friendly that they made us feel like locals. great base for exploring the Cotswolds and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madeindevon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
113
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Myself and my wife fancied a last minute getway during the Diamond Jubilee. After looking for a dog friendly hotel in the Cotswolds we found The Crown Inn. And what a diamond it is! We stayed 3 nights in all and the owners and staff were very very friendly and just could not do enough for us during our stay. Both of us have a wheat and dairy intolerance and they bought us some Soya milk for breakfasts and were more than happy to provide us with changes to meals to accomodate us. We have two small dogs which we took with us and they were treated like royalty, what with eating with us in the resturant and sitting in the bar with us. Other couples we met also had dogs with them and they all were having as much fun as us.

The food was fabulous, and washing it all down with real ales set in a 17th century cider house, chatting with the locals was so relaxing.

We even had an invite (which we took up) to go to the Village Jubilee Celebration where we where treated as if we were long lost friends.

We also had some friends drive about an hour to meet us for the day on the Monday and they were so impressed they even stayed for an evening meal and then quickly booked a room at the Inn and stayed that night!

The area is also fantastic and the hamlet of Frampton Mansell is set in a truly beautiful area. If you like walking you will love the area.

All in all we cannot recommend The Crown Inn enough and we will most definitely be returning. The only downside was we had to leave after three short days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The food was fantastic and great value for money as it wasn't very expensive at all. Myself and my partner loved it so much we came back the next night on our trip. Warm and welcoming atmosphere as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranquilityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.
I booked The Crown Inn, after finding it in the AA pub guide. We were not disappointed.
On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly reception staff, who allowed us to check in despite it only being 1.50pm (check in isn't until 3pm). We were escorted to our room and given a run down of how things worked (door locks, breakfast etc).
The room was of a good size, comfortable and fairly modern looking with a small TV and tea making facilities, with plenty of storage space.
There are a couple of things that could do with updating - some of the cushions on the bed were showing signs of wear and the windows were a little foggy.
There was signs of mold on the wall and blind in the bathroom , however this was due to there being no fan. The only way to vent the bathroom was to open the window. Sadly the weather wasn't the best while we were staying , so I didn't want to do that.
Another little niggle, was the the placing of the mirror. Absolutely great for dressing/drying your hair, but no good for us ladies with hair straightners. I had to plug mine in where the tea point was and the cord was not long enough to stretch to the mirror.
The bed was comfortable and we slept well.
The towels supplied were nice and fluffy and of a very decent size , often I find they are a little on the small side. These however were very big.
Breakfast was served in a room off of reception. The table was nicely laid, there was quite a good choice of cold or hot options and the produce used was excellent.
Staff again were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

We ate both nights in the Inn. I truly loved this quaint pub. It was so atmospheric and cosy, with lovely thick walls and original features. There were open fires that were lit and candles dotted around. I found myself sitting wondering what it would have been like when it was built.
There are only about 12 tables , so I would recommend booking. We booked the first night and the second we took a chance and it worked out Ok as we like to eat early, but this is a very busy , popular pub. Quite a few of the tables were reserved. Considering it was a monday and tuesday we were here, I was surprised how busy it was There was a constant stream of customers.
The menu, although not extensive , had a good selection of dishes and there was a specials board.
The first night I had the homemade burger and chips, which was excellent and the baked lemon cheesecake was to die for. My husband had the fish and chips, which was lovely.
The second night we both had the roast shoulder of lamb , which was very nice. I especially liked the cauliflower cheese puree (I think thats what it was ) that the vegetables were served on on the plate. Hubby can also highly recommend the sticky toffee pudding and the banoffee pie.
The staff were very friendly and attentive, but not in your face and will serve extra drinks to your table.
On the whole I found everyone here to be very smiley and welcoming, but not in a fake way , just really genuine and they treated the locals and us visitors alike.
The only real downside to this trip was the persistent annoying english weather - rain ! Which prevented us sitting outside and enjoying the view and the surrounding countryside.
We will defineately return and would recommend this pub & b&b.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raqwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

fantastic cider and a great place to meet. i would definitely recomend it to anyone.thank you again and ill be back. James G

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed one night on Good Friday wished we had booked to stay the 3 nights.The ,Room was in the annex, it was a very pleasant suprise.warm and inviting decorated to a high standard. It was clean and comfortable we had a good night sleep.Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent..And the pub had a very pleasant atmosphere plenty of draught ales to choose from and the staff very attentive.Cannot comment on the breakfast as we had an early start and didnt stay for it.
We did a lovely walk just down the hill from the pub along the diss used canal path.We stopped at the Daneway Inn for a drink.In Sapperton village we had a lovely lunch at the Bell.This was a lovely walk until we got lost in Sapperton at Wysis Way. we got this walk from Pathways and the directions were not great having said that it was still a lovely walk and great day out.
I would highly reommend the Crown Inn and Frampton Mansell is well worth a visit and we love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent a night here after a day in the Cotswolds, in and around Stroud. The room was comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The food in the restaurant was good and the bar had a great, lively atmosphere. I would highly recommend a visit, if not a stay, at this establishment. Frampton Mansell is a lovely little village with lots around it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchess38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frampton Mansell
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
246 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
670 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
561 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing