We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed February 28, 2014

we booked our 2 night break at the end of January from an advert Ina national newspaper. We found all the staff very friendly. the room was basic but adequate and most importantly it was wArm. Breakfast every day and dinner for one night was included and we were pleasantly surprised that we had the choice of the full a la carte menu, and the meal was excellent. Hotel is located in a quiet area but only a short drive into Gloucester. We would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Neilshanahan

Thank you very much for your comments.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We were also glad that you had a comfortable night's sleep and that the food was excellent.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the nearby city of Gloucester and the regency town of Cheltenham along with the charming Cotswolds. Being set in such rural surroundings ensures a quiet and pleasant stay.

Thank you for recommending the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall and we look forward to welcoming you back should you wish to return in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 840 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

My Partner treated me to night away at Bowden Hall for my birthday,As we approached the hotel the magnificence of the building came into view,set amongst ancient pines and beautiful lawns with its abundance of wildlife.
We were greeted with a warm professional smile and were offered help with our luggage,a nice touch.

On locating our room we were impressed at the smartness of a busy hotel,well done housekeeping.

Our room was spacious,clean with a massive double bed with mattress topper and high end quality bed linen.

Most importantly it was warm,with traditional radiator and air conditioning.

After a comfortable quiet night,would breakfast let down this unique Hotel...

Not at all...breakfast was buffet style with tea and coffee being served by the smart and friendly waiting staff,the range of food available coverd every taste or dietary requirements.

The traditional English could not be better,with regular replenishment of hot bacon,sausage and eggs.

All in all I would certainly stay at Bowden Hall again and recommend it.Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valiant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valiant66

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed every single aspect of your stay with us recently. Needless to say that we have indeed done our job as Bowden Hall is certainly more than a grand old building.

It's always lovely to receive such praise as we genuinely feel our staff put in the extra mile when it comes to service in every department. We are certainly extremely proud of them and how they welcome our guests is very important to us and will pass on all your kind comments.

It was good to read that this made your birthday all the more enjoyable and we do hope that you decide to return and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed one night using an Amazon Voucher deal. The building was beautiful in lovely grounds. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had a regular room which was quiet and well appointed with a comfortable bed and well equipped ba...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAL318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear DAL318

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience.

We aim to provide a relaxing and pleasant overnight stay with a good hearty breakfast the following morning all rounded off with friendly service so we were glad to hear that you enjoyed all these individual elements at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

Should you choose to stay with us again in the future then we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. In the meantime I shall pass on your comments to all the staff involved in making your stay such a memorable one.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A lovely hotel in country surroundings and only short bus ride into Gloucester. The rooms were spacious and comfortable . The staff were friendly and they all seemed happy to work there which always gives a hotel a nice atmosphere. The food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent. The choice was good and I thought good value. There was a good choice of wine and reasonably priced. We arrived early and as our room was ready they checked us in. We ordered papers for the next day and they were delivered early. We had a late checkout so enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. There was a wedding at the hotel and it was Valentines weekend so the hotel was busy but as a customer you would not have known no one was rushed and no one waited for anything.They seemed well organised. Everybody had a smile and a "good morning" I did not see an unhappy customer or member of staff. I would recommend this hotel and I would re visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynehetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear waynehetherington

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit.

We were most pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

It was indeed a very busy weekend with the Valentines package and a wedding however, we always endeavour to serve every guest in the same manner regardless of why they are staying and we are glad that you found the service and food to your satisfaction.

We are extremely proud of our team as they work endlessly to ensure a comfortable and pleasant time for all our guests from the welcome on Reception to the service at dinner and at breakfast. Our housekeeping team also work hard to make sure that the rooms are as clean and comfortable as possible.

The hotel is also very conveniently situated for those wishing to visit the nearby Cotswolds or the historic city of Gloucester as well as the elegant regal town of Cheltenham and it's famous racecourse.

We hope that if you do stay with us again that your experience will be as pleasant as this one and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked this hotel for a Valentines treat for my wife, and it did not disappoint ! The service at this hotel was very good indeed, from the greeting we received at check-in (look out for Alison... she's fab!) to the service at dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - all first class. Probably what makes this hotel stand out is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, which is probably the most important thing when staying in a hotel.
As for the room, this was very comfortable with a 6'' bed and triple aspect views - fantastic ! Our stay was definitely worth every penny and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Anthony8877

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently with your wife for our Valentine's package and that it was a success! We certainly endeavoured to create the right ambience for couples that night in the newly carpeted restaurant so we are glad that it was appreciated by our guests.

We're happy that you liked your room and that you experienced a comfortable night's sleep.

We will certainly pass on your comments to Alison on Reception. The manner in which guests are welcomed is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall should you wish to return to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I arrived at this hotel for a one nights stay after looking over it on the website that looked fabulous! when i walked through into reception I noticed immediately that the place looked very out of date and defiantly needed a facelift for a 4 star hotel! I arrived late and was given a very brief check in process and not told alot about the room only where to find it!

When i walked into the room it was ok but not what i expected, it again looked very tired, there was alot of noise during the night due to neighboring rooms i guess no sound proofing! I could even here the people next to me going to the toilet!

The food seemed to be fair but when i went into the main lounge to relax i noticed the couches look very grubby!

for the money i paid i would never return here or to any of the hotels in the group if they are anything like this one!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin Pearson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Natalie112014

Thank you for your comments.

We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy every element of your stay with us.

Our website photos are pretty accurate and in fact are about to be updated as we have recently had a new carpet installed on the entire ground floor in all the public areas which makes it look a lot fresher and updated.

As long as the receptionist who checked you in was polite and friendly and asked if you needed assistance with your luggage then your check in sounded normal and is kept as a simple straightforward process and indeed directions to your room were provided

We have noted that no complaints were made regarding noise during the night that you stayed with us so we apologise if you were kept awake by any other guests.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We are due to get Married at Bowden Hall with in the month, we decided to visit them for a meal as I had never eaten there before.

I have seen many comments made about Bowden Hall and I would like to say it is a lovely place, with lovely staff who make you feel welcome from the start and if we get the same food as we did when we visited I will be very impressed and so will our families.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Localboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear localboy23

Thank you for your comments on our hotel.

We were pleased to read that you and your fiancé enjoyed dining with us in the lead up to your wedding that will take place here at Bowden Hall.

As ever we are proud of our friendly and helpful staff and glad that they made you feel welcome from the outset of your evening.

We have no doubts that the food will be to the same standards on your wedding day and we do hope that you have a wonderful day and that your guests enjoy the day too.

We look forward to welcoming you all to the hotel very soon.

Best Wishes

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
848 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $103 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing