We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the above hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Car parking was free, and close by the hotel entrance. Reception was very efficient and friendly. Booking in was very quick. Our room, a twin bedded one, had all the emenities one required. the only downside was the range of TV stations was limited.
We dined off the "table d'hote" menu as required by the price deal of our stay. Although not extensive the choice was adequate and the food very good quality. Service was excellent. Breakfast was self service. Of note was the range of fresh fruits as starters. Sometimes one find the range of fruits given are mainly of the tinned variety, not so in this case. the remainder of the breakfast was of a high standard.
On two occasions there was no heat in the radiators when we required them; however a quick call to reception put the matter right immediately.
Check out was very quick and efficient and carried out in a very pleasant manner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Vanroyce

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read about our guests’ experience with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We receive a lot of positive feedback regarding our Reception team and Restaurant and bar staff and we pride ourselves on this service and we are glad that they were helpful and efficient.

We find our food is indeed of a high quality which reflects the star rating of the hotel so we are happy to read that you enjoyed both your dinner and breakfast respectively.

I will be sure to pass on all your kind comments to our team and anyone who was involved in making your stay with us a pleasurable one.

Should you find yourselves staying with us again, we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 852 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our disappointment was that the leisure centre is closed for good. We had hoped to have a spa day a swim and just chill.
The staff were attentive and afternoon tea was good. Our long trip was made good by the lovely beautician and her excellent massage skills.
I wouldn't book an overnight stay now the pool has been drained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear JayneK

Thank you for your comments.

The leisure club closed earlier in the year and we subsequently removed all advertising where we could for it from the internet and with any agent who uses us. We apologise if this affected any aspect of your stay.

We are pleased that you found our staff attentive and enjoyed your afternoon tea. We are blessed to have a wonderful, skilled and friendly onsite beautician and we are glad you enjoyed your massage with her.

What the hotel lacks in leisure club facilities, we hope it makes up for in service, warmth, comfort and friendliness.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure Bowden Hall while touring the Cotswold. I booked the hotel on Expedia for a double room for 2 people. Somehow, the hotel booked us into a triple room. When I enquired at check in and that we only needed a double bed, the lady checking us in responded "but there is a double room in there". I got a bit annoyed and not wanting to kick a fuss, checked into the triple room anyway. To their credit, they did move us to a double room when I called from the room. In my opinion though, they should have sorted this out when we were checking in and seeing that we are only 2!

Other points:
1. The hotel is is nice surroundings, very good for receptions and parties.
2. The hotel isn't in the city centre and I would not recommend it if you don't have your own transportation.
3. It also is along narrow winding roads at certain points. I thoroughly enjoyed driving in the area though.
4. Free wifi is limited to 200mb daily usage (if I remember correctly!).
5. There are no air condition in the building and rely on opening the windows for air. I am not sure how this works in the summer.
6. Lots of ladybugs in the area, including around the window frame and in the rooms (at times).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GudFellaRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear GudFellaRudeBoy

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

Couples that book online are sometimes allocated a triple room for the reason that the room may well be bigger or situated in a more desirable part of the hotel (perhaps one that has a view or is on the first or second floor). We apologise for any confusion caused upon check in and we are glad that you were eventually moved to a double room.
The hotel is certainly tucked away and is down a couple of winding lanes to add to the peaceful and tranquil setting and we are glad you enjoyed the drive in the surrounding area. The hotel is extremely popular with weddings and functions due to the building with its large open spaces and attractive grounds.

Free WiFi is provided in every part of the hotel with the added option to upgrade to a more premium service should you require to do more than check email. Options to upgrade to a higher usage are available on the main login screen.

We currently have 21 bedrooms that have air conditioning and aim to have all the rooms fitted with it within the next 2-3 years. The public area is quite bright and airey and we tend to have the lounge/patio doors open during the Summer months.

Occasionally we have ladybirds present on some of the windows due to being located in the countryside. The bedrooms are aired during the day by our housekeeping staff so the open windows may attract a few now and then.

We hope you enjoyed every other element of your stay with us and we wish you well for all your future travels.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Why do so many chain hotels have a blandness, this hotel is no exception. Whilst the facade promises luxury and grandness the only part of the building that has whiff of the past is the lobby, hall and there is a hint of decadence in the main reception but on the whole the hotel disappoints.

The reception staff are efficient but then everyone else struggles to understand what you are asking for. The bar is not run well with empty bottles of Tanqueray teasing you and so you are forced to down grade to Gordans - I remember why I don't drink it.

There are no lifts to the fourth floor and no porters to help carry your bags up the narrow stairs and along the endless bland corridors. The hotel is over hot and with the heart, guts and detail stripped out just leaves you with a sense of disappointment and loss for our heritage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamLl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear SamLI_12

We appreciate your comments.

Our hotel is certainly in need of a little bit of tlc in places but we do not agree that the ‘chain’ (Jupiter Hotels) or the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall is ‘bland’.

Our building is certainly grand and we are currently in the processes of refreshing the décor in the public areas and many of the bedrooms however, our staff with their friendly and helpful attitude, the quality of the food and the comfort many of our guests have experienced are elements that bring people back to stay with us.

We apologise if you were not offered assistance with your luggage. It is a pre-requisite for our reception staff to offer guests help with their luggage when needed so we will look into this for you. The hotel does have a Stannah platform lift that goes up to the first floor for guests with mobility issues and our more elderly guests. However, due to the age and design of the building, we are unable to have a more modern lift installed to all floors.

With regards to the ‘heat’, we have many rooms that contain air conditioning but again, cannot implement this throughout the hotel’s public areas. The downstairs is large, bright and airy and the patio doors are usually open throughout the day during the Summer months.

The hotel does not pretend to have a heritage. It’s not National Trust however it does appeal to brides & grooms, tour groups, conferences and families looking for a conveniently located place to stay when visiting the impressive surrounding villages, towns and attractions within a peaceful environment which we hope we accomplish.

We wish you all the best for your future travels

Warm regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hi, I booked a sparkling afternoon tea for our family of 6 as a present for my mums 50th. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, the staff were really welcoming and friendly. The champagne was lovely, we asked for an earl grey tea for my dad and as well, they were more then happy to oblige. Staff couldn't do enough, they are offered us top ups of tea and refills of sandwiched and cakes, we couldn't eat anymore food though as we were all really food. I would thoroughly recommend it, lovely food, excellent service and lovely staff, lovely treat

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Louisemchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Louisemchapman

Thank you for your review and your recommendation.

We are most glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your sparkling afternoon tea with us recently for your mum’s 50th birthday. We hope she had a wonderful birthday.

We pride ourselves on our service and the friendliness of our staff and aim to be as attentive as possible at all times.

Here’s hoping that should you wish to return to our hotel, be it for afternoon tea or an overnight stay, that your visit will be as pleasant for you.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Barkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We chose to stay near Gloucester to break a journey between Solihull and Sherborne, and so that we could entertain friends to dinner. Bowden Hall turned out to be the perfect venue. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and expected to stay in a Classic room. We were upgraded to a very special suite on the top floor - fourposter bed, two settees, clean bathroom, wonderful views! We were greeted by reception staff in a friendly manner and our luggage was carried upstairs for us. A large party of tourists arrived just before dinner and were catered for in a separate dining room. Staff in the dining room were very busy but provided a good service, a well cooked dinner, and did not rush us through our meal. They were extremely helpful and friendly. Reception staff dealt helpfully and patiently with a problem when we left. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Anastasia901

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review for our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your one night stay with us. We take pride in the service and friendliness that our staff provides. No matter how busy the hotel is with events and tour groups, we aim to ensure that other guests are looked after.

We will certainly be sure to pass on all your kind comments to all the members of staff involved in making your stay with us such a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel in the near future and hope that your stay will be as memorable as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
854 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $91 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing