We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy afternoon tea excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hi, I booked a sparkling afternoon tea for our family of 6 as a present for my mums 50th. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, the staff were really welcoming and friendly. The champagne was lovely, we asked for an earl grey tea for my dad and as well, they were more then happy to oblige. Staff couldn't do enough, they are offered us top ups of tea and refills of sandwiched and cakes, we couldn't eat anymore food though as we were all really food. I would thoroughly recommend it, lovely food, excellent service and lovely staff, lovely treat

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Louisemchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Louisemchapman

Thank you for your review and your recommendation.

We are most glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your sparkling afternoon tea with us recently for your mum’s 50th birthday. We hope she had a wonderful birthday.

We pride ourselves on our service and the friendliness of our staff and aim to be as attentive as possible at all times.

Here’s hoping that should you wish to return to our hotel, be it for afternoon tea or an overnight stay, that your visit will be as pleasant for you.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 879 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Barkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We chose to stay near Gloucester to break a journey between Solihull and Sherborne, and so that we could entertain friends to dinner. Bowden Hall turned out to be the perfect venue. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and expected to stay in a Classic room. We were upgraded to a very special suite on the top floor - fourposter bed, two settees, clean bathroom, wonderful views! We were greeted by reception staff in a friendly manner and our luggage was carried upstairs for us. A large party of tourists arrived just before dinner and were catered for in a separate dining room. Staff in the dining room were very busy but provided a good service, a well cooked dinner, and did not rush us through our meal. They were extremely helpful and friendly. Reception staff dealt helpfully and patiently with a problem when we left. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Anastasia901

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review for our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your one night stay with us. We take pride in the service and friendliness that our staff provides. No matter how busy the hotel is with events and tour groups, we aim to ensure that other guests are looked after.

We will certainly be sure to pass on all your kind comments to all the members of staff involved in making your stay with us such a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel in the near future and hope that your stay will be as memorable as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have to say it wasnt easy to find - we dont have a gps in the car and we ended up going round in circles and missing the turning.
We stayed one night in room 420. On arrival we saw that there must be a wedding or some other celebration and were worried about the noise. However this didn’t impact us as we were given a room on the top floor.
The room was large with a double and single bed. We were surprised to find separate taps in the bath but we got used to it. As soon as we walked into the bathroom we realized the bath was dirty – you could run a finger in it and see all dirt sticking to it!!! Immediately called reception and asked for someone to clean it. After 25 min a girl came up (my husband then saw her working in the bar as well), with some cleaning products and a towel – NO sponge??? One side was cleaned but the other still dirty - so we ended up doing a better job ourselves when she was gone.
We wanted to have dinner in the hotel restaurant after a long day driving but the lady told us that we could eat either at 6.30pm or 8.30pm (it was 7pm) so we opted for room service – which was a bit pricy and cannot understand why a charge of GBP 3 for the tray …. I travel a lot in my job but never paid a tray charge.
The breakfast was ok – the usual stuff – few fresh vegetables would have been welcomed.
I am not sure I will stay there again as there are plenty of nice hotels and b&b in the area and in the Cotswolds to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Alina01

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel.

We are sorry you struggled to find the hotel. It is certainly signposted from the central road in Upton St Leonards right up to the road where the hotel is situated for those that do not have Sat Nav.

We apologise for the bath not being cleaned in your room. We have now mentioned to our Housekeeping team where appropriate measures will be taken to make the members of cleaning staff more aware and to take action. We are in the process of painting all of our bathrooms as their appearance is a little worn at the moment.

After reducing the cost of our Room Service menu, we implemented a tray charge which we felt was in keeping with a 4 star hotel.

At breakfast we provide a buffet of hot breakfast items (sausages, bacon, tomato, mushrooms etc) as well as a freshly made to order breakfast from the menu such as kippers, eggs benedict etc. Alongside this on display are a range of fresh fruit, yoghurts, bread and croissants. We only serve vegetables at lunch and dinner.

Thank you once again for your comments and we wish you well for your future travel.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed with another couple of friends for two days, attracted by a very good deal for room, breakfast and dinner. The deal worked out very well and in the process we also found an excellent hotel that we can use in the future.

The setting of the hotel is in lovely countryside in spacious well maintained grounds with a large car park. Finding the hotel is assisted by local road signs to the hotel in the surrounding locality, but as the location is remote, a prior view of the area by Google Earth is also recommended, to get one's bearings - in advance.

The staff in every area of hotel service were very good, from reception to bar and restaurant and room cleaning and maintenance. The hotel is large and rambling with long corridors and flights of stairs; and that is one of its attractions. There are no lifts but help is at hand from the staff to deliver cases and bags to rooms and to assist generally.

The restaurant provides good choices from the menu for dinner and was well managed by very efficient head waiters. The food was of good quality. Breakfast was by a plentiful buffet for the first day and was cooked to order on the second day, as there weren't that many guests. Again, the quality of the food was excellent.

The hotel benefits from two large comfortable reception rooms/lounges on the ground floor, which provides a relaxing atmosphere for use during the day or after dinner. You may wish to check if the hotel is booked for a wedding or other large event when booking, if you prefer a more sedate setting for your stay; it is used for events due to its spectacular setting.

All in all, a really good find of quality all-round service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the dining room and lounges if wanting to avoid stairs or a longer walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Ashef

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel.

We always appreciate comments from our guests and it was lovely to read such a positive response about your experience with us.

As you rightly mentioned, it is always worth planning your journey to the hotel in advance as we are indeed situated in a more remote setting which adds to the peace and tranquility of the hotel. Aids such as Google Earth and good Satellite Navigation systems will help anyone to avoid the narrower and winding routes that guests in the past have ended up taking.

One small thing to add is that we have a Stannah platform/wheelchair lift for any guests with mobility issues that takes them up to the first floor but as you correctly pointed out, our staff are always on hand to assist any guest with their luggage.

It is a pleasure to read that your stay was made all the more enjoyable down to the service and the staff. For this we will most certainly pass on all of your comments.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next stay with us will be as pleasant as this one.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed overnight and were very impressed with the staff - particularly the breakfast team. They were highly trained and, despite the room being very busy with 2 large parties, nothing was too much trouble and they worked very efficiently and effectively. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and constantly monitored and replenished. Possibly the best service we have received.
We checked in early and whist we were waiting for a room to be made ready for us we were offered a complimentary tea or coffee.
The hotel was clean and well managed and the grounds were lovely.
Our room was comfortable although not very spacious and the bathroom was small.
There is no lift but our cases were carried to our room by a very polite and helpful (and strong) young man. It was quite a maze of corridors but a beautiful, old building.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Wen53

Thank you very much for your review on your stay with us.

We were pleased to read that our staff looked after you and that you enjoyed a comfortable night’s sleep followed by a good hearty breakfast. We pride ourselves on the welcome and service provided by our members of staff. We will certainly pass on your comments to both the breakfast and receptionist teams. All of our teams including Housekeeping work hard to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience when staying with us.


We always offer help with luggage to all guests checking in. We do have a platform chair lift for guests with mobility needs but due to the age and design of the building, we are unable to have a more modern lift installed.

Should you wish to stay with us again, we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
866 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $75 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing