We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Poole
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a lovely setting!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bowden Hall Hotel as we were guests at a wedding. We booked just a double room, bed and breakfast but when we got there we had been upgraded to the Tower Suite. What an amazing room! We absolutely loved it! It is so quirky and the views from the sitting room are incredible. We watched the sunset over Gloucester. It was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was there. If you do stay try and get this room it was amazing and great value for money. The bathroom was up todate and the shower lovely!

Check in was so easy and all the staff we spoke to were brilliant. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and worth the money.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia_MPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lucia_MPoole

Thank you for your kind feedback on our hotel.

We hope you enjoyed your friend's wedding.

It is always lovely receiving a positive review from our guests. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were comfortable and enjoyed breakfast.

We will be sure to pass on your comments to the members of staff involved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    270
    144
    72
    30
See reviews for
113
416
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I found this hotel perfectly adequate and reasonable value for money. It's a beautiful building in lovely grounds, our room certainly didn't live up to the promise of the exterior but it was decent enough in terms of size, decor and cleanliness. The staff we came across were all pleasant and helpful, the bar staff having to ring reception to authorise charging things to rooms was a pain although obviously that's a problem with a system rather than those who have to work with it. There was no lift to our floor (or at least not one we found) which was also a drawback as we had plenty of stuff to lug. The best thing about our stay was dinner in the bar, we both had simple meals and they were very good and pretty reasonably priced. The worst thing was breakfast which was poor, I'm never keen on food under heat lamps as how good it is depends entirely on how long it has sat there, even if I'd timed it perfectly I'm not sure breakfast would have been up to much. I would stay at this hotel again but I wouldn't detour to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear danw71

Thank you for your review on our hotel.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

In response to the points that you have raised, upon check in a guest is asked for credit card authorization in order to charge food & drink to a room. The receptionist then stamps the little folder that holds the key card. If this key card folder is not shown to a member of staff then they automatically contact reception to check it has been authorized. It is a system that we are currently looking to update to be more guest friendly.

With regards to the lift, we do offer assistance with luggage upon check in plus we don’t advertise on our website or online anywhere that we have a lift in the hotel. However we do have a chair lift to the first floor for disabled and guests with mobility requirements.

The breakfast buffet is a popular choice for many of our guests, however we do appreciate that this isn’t to every guest’s taste and therefore offer a menu on each table whereby you can order freshly made hot food such as eggs benedict, kippers etc. We apologise if this wasn’t offered to you when you were initially seated.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived at this hotel which looks lovely from the outside and is set in a pleasant area of Gloucestershire although very close to local houses. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful as was the person at the bar. We were thinking of booking a Christmas break for a group of friends. Our coffee was nice but at £3.00 for a small cup why wouldn't it be. However, on glancing in to the Restaurant it looked crowded and haphazard and almost like a Bingo Hall. Most of the customers seemed to be burly men in their work clothes. Possibly some sort of convention because many of them were wearing name tags on ribbon around their necks. Many of the vehicles in the car park looked rather intimidating and thuggish and more at home in a field than the car park of a four star hotel. We quickly decided this was not the hotel for us and that we would be looking elswhere for our next break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegetaround548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here earlier in September just for one Saturday night.

Beautiful building and lovely gardens. Hotel has quite a cosy feel and we had a large family room. We didn't have any view as it was set against the hill so if you are looking for a view I would advise requesting it when you book. As it was at one end of the hotel and there was a wedding happening that day it was good to be out of the way. It was very quiet. Was also rather sweet to see a family of ducks padding past at one point.

Yes the rooms are a little dated but ours was clean and quiet.

After being out all day we decided to eat at the hotel. There was a coach party of lots of people when we got there and I thought it would be a slow service because of that, however I was wrong.

Our waitress was very, very good. Engaging without being intrusive and good humoured. We watched the other staff, some who were quite young and they were all knowledgable and attentive. Unlike a lot of hotels I have been to over the years!

I had sea bream and my other half had pork. Both very nice. Decent enough cheeseboard too washed down with more than a little bubbly.

We had a couple of drinks in the lounge next to the restaurant. Sofa was so comfy I nearly fell asleep!

Breakfast was buffet style but was fresh and the continental breakfast bits were clean and tidy.

There is no lift here and it is quite a walk to the rooms at the end of the hotel so I would bare this in mind if you don't fancy a long walk.

Staff were all very polite.

Hotel interior is a little dated in areas now, but as our room was clean we really didn't mind. Plus we did not see or hear the wedding party during the evening as that worried me when we arrived!











  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseNSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear LouiseNSurrey

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall

We very much appreciate your comments and it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We were glad to read that despite their being a wedding that there was little noise disruption and that the arrival of a coach tour at dinner time did not hinder the service during your evening meal.

We pride ourselves on the friendliness and efficiency of all our staff and again glad they made your stay more enjoyable.

The hotel does have a platform lift at the first set of stairs for guests with mobility problems and the elderly however we do not have a conventional elevator due to the age and design of the building. Any special requests are usually made on booking.

The public areas are due a refurbishment to account for wear and tear within the hotel.

We do hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we had stayed in the hotel for a family wedding over the weekend, when we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist and over the couple of days the receptionist were extremely polite and helpful.
We had room 223, the view want good at all that's why the nets were up I think, but to be honest we weren't in the room only to change and sleep.
We had air conditioning in the room and it was great whilst trying to change and sleep as the rooms were very warm , but I think we were the only ones as other members of the family didn't and were very hot and bothered whist trying to dress for the wedding, and the family rooms were the same, 5 in the room and no air con just a fan which didn't help at all
My husband thought the bathroom was small but I thought okay, matter of own preference, the room itself was very roomy and plenty of space, in fact one of the largest I've stayed in in the UK.
plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner etc. Fantastic big beds think may have been queen not quite sure. There is a hairdryer and what I thought was fab an iron and ironboard very useful.
Breakfast was good plenty of choice, but beware of the toaster it bites and a couple of us were burnt on it whilst making toast.

the wedding meal I thought was great and felt very very full after, on the whole the wedding went great and enjoyed it.

the room was already set for the evening and was on the side of the hotel and was nice and cool and plenty of space, the buffet was fantastic but I think a lot was not eaten as we were full.

We spelt well and were fed well so that's good enough for me.
Not much to do at the hotel went and fed the ducks with the kids, bit out of it down a windy road.
Value wise we were guests at the wedding so cant comment on that.
Must say the drinks were very expensive and a lot did comment on that, but I suppose they have a captive audience.

Overall the stay was very pleasant we all had a good time and that was what matters
I think that some of the public areas need new carpet because of wear and tear

Room Tip: 223 air con, 435 attic room but okay but can get warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear dazzamac

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and that our reception team were polite and helpful. We will certainly pass on your comments to those involved.

With regards to the air conditioning, 21 of our rooms currently have air conditioning and we are working towards all of our rooms having air con available however, this is a 2 -3 year plan so will take a little time to be implemented fully. We are glad that you found the bedroom spacious and functional with everything you required.

The large communal toaster in the restaurant does have a Caution:Hot! sticker on it and just requires guests to be a little more careful than usual however our staff are able to do the toast for any guest that asks for it.

The bar drinks are in keeping with a 4* hotel and as you correctly state, the local market place

There has been a large investment into refurbishment since joining the Jupiter Hotel group for all public areas within the hotel including a new carpet.

May we take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well what can I say the place is dirty. The carpet doesn't fit the room in the lounge. The windows are filthy and the furniture is chipped. The cream tea arrived very disappointing mr kipling must of been busy. Cake's were supermarket bought, The salmon on the sandwiches' were vile and the other finger sandwiches were more butter than actually filling. I have had amazing cream tea's like in upper slaughter at lords of the manor. I wouldn't feed this cream tea to a dog. I will never be going back as it's filthy! The plate had dirty water mark's on them. The tea cup had someone else's tea stain on them urgh! Need I go on apart from it has wasted my time and money!....lesson learnt....utter rubbish!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Laura P

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.

May we mention that this is the first time we've had complaints about our afternoon tea.
The cakes are indeed ordered in as we don’t publicize that the cakes are home made by the chef. This is the same right across the Jupiter Hotels group.

We pride ourselves on cleanliness and service so were disappointed to learn that you experienced this. As a 4 star establishment it would be hard to compare us to a 5 star one that you refer to.

The hotel is due shortly to undergo an extensive refurbishment on all the public areas. The carpet you have mentioned about is currently being looked into and we aim to have it refitted as soon as possible.

As you say you will not be returning may we wish you all the best for the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
115 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,557 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
25.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing