We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location, very quiet and lovely views. Very friendly and efficient staff. Plentiful food available at the breakfast buffet. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but could improve their bathtubs as they seemed to have seen better days. The spa room was small but fulfilled its purpose. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest Jnr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Ernest Jnr M

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel following your recent visit

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the spacious and comfortable guest bedrooms while been able to enjoy the lovely views.

I will discuss you comments with our Property Director regarding the bathtubs.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall in the not to distant future and keep looking at our website for our great weekend break packages

Kind regards

Gavin Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    267
    144
    72
    29
See reviews for
112
411
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were welcomed and made to feel welcome by the staff at this pleasant old house which has been turned into a very nice place to stay. Our rooms were clean and very well situated with a superb overlook of the grounds and the surrounding area. The restaurant and the food therein were of a high class and all six of us enjoyed our meals. This hotel is one we shall use again and I would recommend The Bowden Hall hotel without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Roger M

Thanks for your feedback. It sounds as if you really did enjoy your stay

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely feedback and for rating us so highly. It is much appreciated.

We hope to see you for your in the near future

Kind regards
Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend break at the Bowden Hall. The reception and bar staff were attentive. The room was perfectly adequate, well furnished, comfortable bed and very clean. We were on the third floor which without a lift proved good exercise! The package included a meal on the first night in the restaurant. We ordered our wine in keeping with the fish dish we had chosen but it was not until we had had our starter that we were told there was no sea bass. We chose the steak on the table d'hote menu only to be told that that was off too. We were invited to eat from the a la carte, so ended up having a different steak dish - but unfortunately we were drinking white wine! The same thing happened with the dessert - the cheesecake was off, as was another dessert. Again settled for an a la carte dessert. Staff were short handed but the waitress did well. Service at breakfast on the second morning was appalling. As we arrived we were asked if we wanted tea or coffee and that was it. We were not shown to the table, nor was it explained how breakfast operated. The waitress showed up with the tea and coffee but no milk. She was extremely sour-faced and unpleasant. The decor in the dining room does need to be refreshed but we enjoyed the regency feel of the hotel. Had it been summer we would have explored the lovely grounds a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Andrew T

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry your experience here at the hotel was not up to our usual standards. I have taken your comments up with both the Head Chef & Operations Manager regarding your experience and can only apologise to you we were in the transition period of introducing are new menu on the Sunday Evening so stock of the old menu was very limited and I am sorry that this was not explained to you at the time.

There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the near future. I have forwarded your comments to our property manager for his perusal.

Kind Regards
Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel seemed nice enough on the outside, unfortunately that was the best of it. Food was poor, waited an hour for the starter and then another 45 mins for main course, the starter was nice and tasty, the scallops, but at less 10mm thick, I think they had been cut in half, there were three in total so at £7 not cheap. Main was the fish and chips, I was disgusted at the size and sent it back and advised I would not be paying, also when I asked for vinegar for the fish and Chips I was brought a bottle of balsamic ! This was probably the straw that broke the camels back. I left the table without eating and sat in the bar with a bag of crisps and a pint. The whole party, six in total were given a couple of free drinks and a free pudding. Both nights we were asked at 10:45 pm if we would like any more drinks as they were shutting the bar, first time I have known that when your a resident in a four star hotel. On the morning we checked out, the receptionist asked if we had a "late one, last night". We informed her the bar closes at 10:45, but she advised it was always open until all residents went to bed. On the two different nights, it was different people, so seemed endemic of the way the night shift staff wanted rid of guests by 11:00 pm. Oh, and on the second and last night the tv's went off in all the rooms due to a "dodgy" signal, so no bar and no tv. The hotel needs updating and some bad habits of sending the guests to bed early need sorting ! It must have been a long while since this hotel was given its 4 stars !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnr3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Johnr3773

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I have noted the areas of concern as highlighted and please accept our sincere apologies.I have discussed these with our team here at the hotel and rest assured we have implemented the appropriate measures to prevent a future reoccurance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I loved this hotel, it's such a beautiful place, a little difficult to find, but worth the time to find. This hotel has been extended over the years and has improved rather than wrecked the look of the building. The room wasn't oversized, but a much better standard than some we've stayed in. Very clean. Staff were brilliant and friendly. We ate at the restaurant and this was a little disappointing. Lovely setting, we had a brilliant sunset streaming through the window. The food wasn't up to the setting, hungry horse level......but the prices weren't. Maybe it was the chef on the day, but I'm not so sure, I think they might share the same wholesalers as little chef....Worth a stay, but book a restaurant in town, it's ok to fill your belly, but not for a foody. If your here for the breakfast that's another flip, because that was pretty good.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Tony M

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am please that your overall experience of the staff was very good during your stay. I am concerned about your comments on the restaurant finding it disappointing. The overall feedback we get from our restaurant is indeed very good and can’t explain why your experience was different. We do not use the same wholesaler as Little Chef but a lot of local suppliers.

We have this week launched oure new bar & restaurant menu with excellent feedback so far.
Again, thank you for leaving feedback.

Kind Regards
Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break at Bowden Hall. Previous comments have been fairly positive and I can understand why. We enjoyed a pleasant stay despite the recent heavy snowfall though it would have helped if a little more effort was made to clear the hill up through the car-park as I spent several minutes unable to move anywhere except sideways into the hedge. Finding the place can be a little difficult so make sure you have detailed instructions.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a little issue with extras on the bill that were supposed to be free but this was soon resolved when we checked out. It appears that the free newspapers and films offered for superior rooms are not recognised by the billing system, or maybe the website has got it wrong?

The room was warm with a very comfortable bed, full size bath and shower however the furniture is fairly basic and not the most modern. The lounges are comfortable if a little tired and several curtains could definitely do with replacement as they are very frayed.

Service at breakfast was very good and we very much enjoyed the range of food on offer and the fact that it was freshly cooked.

The small health club has a jacuzzi, sauna, basic gym equipment and a swimming pool. We were lucky that the rather narrow pool was not well used as there is only room for 3 or 4 people at most if they are all swimming lengths. The changing rooms could also do with refurbishment.

All in all we were happy with our stay but surprised at the 4 star rating. It is a world away from the top class 4 star London hotel we have recently visited.

Room Tip: Floors creak a lot so try and get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalo_Chorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Vrokastro

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that you found all the staff to be helpful, happy & pleasant.

There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the near future. I have forwarded your comments to our property manager for his perusal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked rooms after booking our works Christmas Party here. There were nine of us and the 4 rooms booked were clean, comfortable and provided exactly what we needed.

The Party was great fun, and at the price it was worth every penny, the DJ played a good selection of music and the dancefloor was never empty.

A photographer was on hand to take photographs of the guests if they wanted, which you to pay for, but the photos were worth it.

Considering the large number of guests, the quality of service and food was great, the staff were busy, but still attentive.

Breakfast the next day was in our daughter's words "lush". It was a very nice breakfast and a nice way to start a new day.

Would have no hesitation in recommending Bowden Hall to friends and family, infact roll on next Christmas!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake, the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Paul V

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that you found all the staff to be helpful, happy & pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing