We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Edward Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveler rating
336
329
167
82
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
329
167
82
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttop floorprivilege roomlovely groundspublic roomscountry housesmall lakelovely hotellisted buildingfirst floorlounge areabuffet stylesat navbreakfast and dinnerrestaurant managerfamily weddingflights of stairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 946 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The only probelem we had was the same as NickOSu ,but we were given a room number that did not exist and is was soon sorted out.The wedding meal was very good with fast efficient sevice.
The new year eve party was very good with lots of interesting people to talk to again the meal was very good, but as we booked back in june we could not remember what we had ordered from menu, again this was soon sorted out, full marks to the staff. We found all the staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. Only ate in the hotel for one night apart for the wedding and new year, as we know the area very well and know where all the good pubs are to go for a meal.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so a satnav is helpful or be good at map reading. A word of warning, there no lift at the hotel only a whellchair lift to the first floor, so if you have a heart condition or breathing problems, then it advisable to ask for a room on the first floor ,also parts of the car park are on a steep slope. The hotel is need of some refubishment, but do not let the stop you from staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Bonduranger

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry that there was a bit of confusion when checking into the hotel but notice from your comments that this was sorted quickly and efficiently and that your overall stay and experience was a good one.

The hotel is a little of the beaten track but within easy access to the M5 junction 11 and set in beautiful grounds so worth the treck!

There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the not too distant future.
Again, thank you for leaving feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a Xmas break and it was fantastic. Although we live fairly locally we wanted a treat and were not disappointed.
Everything was what we had wished for. The food was excellent, service great with 'happy pleasant staff' even though they were rushed off their feet nothing was too much trouble. Yes some parts of the hotel are a bit dated but it's Georgian so has lots of character. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.
If you want to stay somewhere where the food is excellent, staff great and beautiful surroundings then this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear EllieLou

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that you found all the staff to be helpful, happy & pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were checking in for a New Years Eve party with friends. It took ages for the 2 Reception staff to find our booking as there was another guest with same surname! They eventually gave us the door swipe keys, which would not work. Back down to Reception who obviously believed that we were swiping the cards in the door lock incorrectly. Sent is back up with a helpful young man, who also couldn't get our swipe cards to work. After using his master card he discovered the room was already occupied - shame as our party were in the adjoining rooms. The New Year Eve food, table and room decorations were very good and waiting/bar staff were brilliant. Breakfast this morning was very average, but again waiting staff very helpful. Overheard the DJ last night moaning to the Reception staff that he thought the room had too many pensioners in - they weren't pensioners they were customers!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickOSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear NickOSu

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave back feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your check-in wasn’t up to our usual standards and that in fact the room you were given was in fact already occupied – this is not acceptable and I apologise for any confusion over your room reservation been O’Sullivan and the reception team giving you the key to Sullivan’s bedroom.

I am pleased to hear that you thought all staff members to be extremely helpful throughout your stay.

Your comments on an ‘average’ breakfast are again something I will need to look into – we pride ourselves on the quality of food we serve to our guests and regularly get excellent feedback about it.

Lastly, and most disappointingly for me is the comments made by the DJ which you overheard on New Year’s Eve – for this I can only apologise sincerely for. Every guest in our hotel is treated in the same manner whether 9 or 90 and comments like this should not be made by the DJ. I WILL be taking this up with the DJ personally to ascertain why he thought such comments were deemed necessary.

Again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews