We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed January 12, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EchoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 840 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

The only probelem we had was the same as NickOSu ,but we were given a room number that did not exist and is was soon sorted out.The wedding meal was very good with fast efficient sevice.
The new year eve party was very good with lots of interesting people to talk to again the meal was very good, but as we booked back in june we could not remember what we had ordered from menu, again this was soon sorted out, full marks to the staff. We found all the staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. Only ate in the hotel for one night apart for the wedding and new year, as we know the area very well and know where all the good pubs are to go for a meal.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so a satnav is helpful or be good at map reading. A word of warning, there no lift at the hotel only a whellchair lift to the first floor, so if you have a heart condition or breathing problems, then it advisable to ask for a room on the first floor ,also parts of the car park are on a steep slope. The hotel is need of some refubishment, but do not let the stop you from staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Bonduranger

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry that there was a bit of confusion when checking into the hotel but notice from your comments that this was sorted quickly and efficiently and that your overall stay and experience was a good one.

The hotel is a little of the beaten track but within easy access to the M5 junction 11 and set in beautiful grounds so worth the treck!

There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the not too distant future.
Again, thank you for leaving feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a Xmas break and it was fantastic. Although we live fairly locally we wanted a treat and were not disappointed.
Everything was what we had wished for. The food was excellent, service great with 'happy pleasant staff' even though they were rushed off their feet nothing was too much trouble. Yes some parts of the hotel are a bit dated but it's Georgian so has lots of character. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.
If you want to stay somewhere where the food is excellent, staff great and beautiful surroundings then this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear EllieLou

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that you found all the staff to be helpful, happy & pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighburyCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were checking in for a New Years Eve party with friends. It took ages for the 2 Reception staff to find our booking as there was another guest with same surname! They eventually gave us the door swipe keys, which would not work. Back down to Reception who obviously believed that we were swiping the cards in the door lock incorrectly. Sent is back up with a helpful young man, who also couldn't get our swipe cards to work. After using his master card he discovered the room was already occupied - shame as our party were in the adjoining rooms. The New Year Eve food, table and room decorations were very good and waiting/bar staff were brilliant. Breakfast this morning was very average, but again waiting staff very helpful. Overheard the DJ last night moaning to the Reception staff that he thought the room had too many pensioners in - they weren't pensioners they were customers!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickOSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear NickOSu

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave back feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your check-in wasn’t up to our usual standards and that in fact the room you were given was in fact already occupied – this is not acceptable and I apologise for any confusion over your room reservation been O’Sullivan and the reception team giving you the key to Sullivan’s bedroom.

I am pleased to hear that you thought all staff members to be extremely helpful throughout your stay.

Your comments on an ‘average’ breakfast are again something I will need to look into – we pride ourselves on the quality of food we serve to our guests and regularly get excellent feedback about it.

Lastly, and most disappointingly for me is the comments made by the DJ which you overheard on New Year’s Eve – for this I can only apologise sincerely for. Every guest in our hotel is treated in the same manner whether 9 or 90 and comments like this should not be made by the DJ. I WILL be taking this up with the DJ personally to ascertain why he thought such comments were deemed necessary.

Again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a Christmas event and sadly it seems to have gone down hill in the last 3 years. The rooms are tired and we moved as our first room smelt badly. Rooms in a premier inn are now more superior.
The staff at the event were great and we received good service although the food was quite disappointing for the price.
The most frustrating part of the stay was the breakfast everything was running out and the staff were all running around in total meyhem. I asked for coffee three times and eventually after 20 minutes and several tables served in between we finally got coffee. There is nothing relaxing about queuing and having to repeatly ask for things that had ran out. i didnt wait any longer for cooked breakfast as several things had ran out and i actually wanted to sit with my husband while he ate not stand in a q waiting for food to be cooked. I noticed several other guests complaining so I was not alone in my disappointment.
We didn't bother complaining as the poor receptionist was having her ear bent by another disgruntled guest and I just wanted to leave. My advice would be if you want to relax and receive table service don't go there.
Such a shame as previously I have attended dinner dances and business lunches and been so impressed with the lovely old building, I just hope they improve in future.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mrspjontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall was not up to our usual standard and that you experienced a longer wait than is acceptable whilst dining Breakfast this was unfortunately un avoidable due to an urgent incident at home with our Breakfast Chef which caused us to get behind in food preparation For this I apologise.

I am again sorry to hear you had to move rooms. There are plans in the not so distant future for the hotel to have a light refurbishment.

I am though pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and that overall your stay was enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is our second visit to this OUTSTANDING hotel. Perfectly situated in a rural village but close to many lovely villages and cities and towns. Lots to do and see, and a great spot for walkers. everything is 100% positive, the ambience so peaceful and relaxing. The staff wonderful, I wish I could mention them all, Sue, Simon, they all stand out and their customer service is second to none, nothing is too much trouble. The leisure facilities are pleasant, we used the gym (which has 2 rowers, a walking machine, stepper and exercise bike), every day. The pool was a nice temperature and the sauna and jacuzzi very relaxing and all well maintained. As for the food, we were dinner, bed and breakfast basis, every meal, including breakfast was of the very highest quality. It was hard to choose what to eat as everything was so appetising. A great spread for breakfast, with haddock, kippers, eggs benedict, plus lots from the self service buffet, just great. The restaurant staff were so attentive and polite, We cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff are a great team, so friendly and nothing is a problem. All in all, this is the VERY BEST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN.. And we are fortunate enough to have stayed in a few. We will certainly be returning, Gavin and his team deserve a big pat on the back, we love Bowden Hall, a perfect 'get away and relax' break, we have been totally spoilt by every member of staff we have come across. Can't wait for our next visit. A big Thank you to all the staff at Bowden Hall.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel, very spacious with every facility you could...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am delighted to hear you feel we are ‘outstanding’ and you had such a pleasant stay here at the hotel. We do try and pride ourselves of our customer service and from your review this is evident. There is truly a great selection for breakfast as does make it difficult to chose!

Again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
848 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $101 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing