We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, needs refurbishment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Mercure with my husband for a weekend break on their 2 night dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We picked this hotel as it was close, but away from the hustle and bustle of Gloucester and because of the leisure facilities. For what we paid the food was good value. The service was fine and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. A few extra touches with the presentation of the breakfast buffet and also replacing a very old sagging carpet in the restaurant would definitely up the wow factor a bit!

The real downside was the leisure club. The pool is very small, any more than 3 people in the pool and you'll struggle. The gym was in the entrance way to the changing rooms and had one of each piece of equipment. The changing area and lockers were very run down and in need of an overhaul and a good deep clean.

There was a wedding on the Saturday and this really did take over the hotel and meant we confined ourselves to our room to keep out of the way of the noise and the guests that were spread through out the downstairs areas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that you thought it was good value for money generally. There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to refurbish certain estates over the coming months as some are looking tired.

We are a very popular wedding venue throughout the year, and yes this does mean that the hotel will be busy but most receptions/wedding breakfasts are held in private function rooms, obviously we are not able to control where/when certain areas will be busy if guests to chose to ‘wander’ throughout the day.

Again thank you for taking the time to leave feedback
Kind regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 840 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel looked striking and we were going to stay 2 nights, but left after one ... the hotel had an odd feel to it - no-one seemed to be in charge, reception staff had not been given adequate training or customer care training, the superior room we paid an extra £20 upgrade for was far from Superior , low quality & couldn't wash my hair as the shower was a trickle only ! Loud banging & mens voices kept us awake until 2am ... The pillows were lovely & the food was good!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrypicker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall was not up to our usual standard for this I apologise and am looking into this for you.

There is a very strong management team at the hotel so I am surprised that you felt no-one was in charge during your stay.

I am though pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
Again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We appreciate truthful feedback so we can ensure our standards are always maintained.

Kind Regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our second visit to Bowden Hall and felt since Mercure have taken over it was much better. Excellent bedroom spotless and very comfy bed and pillows.Beautiful views over the gardens and lake. Breakfast good choice and delicious. We will return,good pub at Sheepscombe about four miles away, The Butchers Arms, lovely pub for food and drink in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay here at the hotel. We do try and pride ourselves of our customer service and from your review this is evident.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that this is really a nice place to stay great food clean an tidy very impressed would stay again my only complaint would be the lack of wifi there is downstairs but not in the rooms . This kind of thing should be standard on all hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1967d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with the overall standard of the hotel throughput your stay. There are imminent plans within Jupiter Hotels for WIFI to be rolled out as standard throughout the hotels – this is already the case in some. So hopefully if you return this will be completed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here regularly for work and it is exactly what I expect - food ok, room warm and clean staff polite. I use to stay at the Holiday Inn at Barnwood - but this is better and cheaper.Breakfast is what I expect in a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you find the hotel to be of a good standard and better value for money than your previous choice of hotel. This is always pleasing to hear and may you continue to select us for your future stays!

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings, room was clean and comfortable. Had dinner in the restaurant both nights, the two girls working were polite and friendly however we had to wait a fair while for our order to be taken and a while for our drinks to be delivered and about 15 mins for our bill, i think a couple of extra hands were needed! (both girls never stopped!) Reception staff were again were helpful with directions and even asked if we needed help with our luggage, the hotel only has a small stair lift and it was quite a trek to the 3rd floor! Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall was not up to our usual standard and that you experienced a longer wait than is acceptable whilst dining. For this I apologise and am looking into this for you.

I am though pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and that overall your stay was enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The beautiful location and grounds to this hotel are its best feature. Everything else can only be described as ok! and definitely not the 4* we were expecting.
Our room was clean but the bathroom was very dusty. Our biggest complaint though was the cold. The room was chillier than the corridor when we arrived so we turned the radiator up. It took a while but we did manage to get the room to a comfortable temperature. However, after a trip out the following day we arrived back to find that housekeeping had turned our radiator down again so we were greeted once more with a cold room.
The draughty sash windows were to blame and probably inefficient heating (our shower wasn't hot either) but sadly the Hotel receptionist didn't seem to care. Her only comment was, 'it shouldn't be cold"
My advise would be don't wait until the end of your trip to politely suggest that maybe they should check their heating/hot water system - complain straight away and ask someone to come and check your room.
This could be a fantastic hotel but as it stands it's just ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall
I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall was not up to our usual standard.

We would have happily moved you to another room had we known at the time there was a problem with your room and you were not 100% satisfied with the room allocated to you.

As certain parts of the hotel are a listed building we are unable to install double glazing but do try to maintain all aspects of the building to the best of our abaility.

Again I am sorry your experience here at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall was not the one we would expect you to have.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
848 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $103 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing