We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit to Bowden Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Short visit to Bowden Hall”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Beautiful location and grounds. Main rooms very nice. Our allocated room was dreary and had a stale smell to it. Bed was very comfortable with linen being excellent.
Service was good and so was breakfast.
No air conditioning in the bedroom. Facilities were good in the room and the hotel.
Overall quality not quite up to 4 star at present.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part overlooking the front lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear PP Gloucester

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor after your recent visit to Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you found the level of service and quality of food to be very good and the facilities in the hotel and room to be very acceptable and the grounds and location to be beautiful. I am sorry to hear that you felt your room to be a little dreary. Jupiter Hotels have a number of plans in place to update the hotel and its facilities in the not so distant future. Since your stay you will be pleased to hear that we are now in the process of fitting air conditioning units in the worst affected rooms. This I am sure you will agree will be welcomed by everyone!

Kind regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    277
    148
    76
    30
See reviews for
117
425
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a package with the Gloucester quays food festival which I have to say was very good, with lots of stalls and good entertainment, with free live music (Grainne Duffy was fantastic ) and great weather. We arrived at the hotel towards the end of the day but had time to enjoy the late evening sun in the grounds which were very pleasant. There was a wedding reception being held so there was a bit of loud music late into the evening which could be heard in the bedrooms, as there was no air con we had to leave the window open but I can't begrudge them a good time on their wedding day. The lack of air con throughout the hotel was a real problem for me, our bedroom on the fourth floor was so hot and stuffy, as was the breakfast/dinning room.
The bedroom itself was a reasonable size and in good state of repair although one of the chairs was stained which looked a bit off-putting , shame as other than that the chairs were in good condition so I can understand why it was not replaced. The room had tea/coffee making facilities and a TV. The bathroom was also in good state of repair with a nice shower.
The dinning room was very dated with old chairs and tables and not a place I would want to eat an evening meal. The breakfast was fine with a good choice of hot and cold food.
The breakfasts were advertised on the table menus as £13.95 for those who hadn't booked B&B.
In the evening we ordered a gin and tonic. and a pint of Stella in the bar, the G&T was presented without either ice or a slice, we had to ask for the ice, then ask again for a slice, not the end of the earth but a good indicator of the quality of the place.
We did not make use of the spa or swimming facilities so can't comment on them but they would have to be a cut above the standard of the rest of the hotel to make it 4 star. Also be aware that there is no lifts for luggage , only a disabled stair chair to the first floor so if you are a family of 4 staying for a week on the top floor you won't need to use the gym.
If you are arriving by car the hotel is a bit of a pig to find even with sat nav, but the upside is there is no noise from passing traffic, if you need to get a taxi into Gloucester centre it will be around £10 before midnight.
There is not a lot wrong with this hotel that spending a bit of money wont put right but the lack of aircon would put me off going again, at least in anything resembling warm weather. A winter break with snow on the ground would be quite pleasant !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorcheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor after your recent visit to Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped. Achieving and exceeding customer satisfaction is our main priority and a focus within the company. Since your stay you will be pleased to hear that we are now in the process of fitting air conditioning units in the worst affected rooms. This I am sure you will agree will be welcomed by everyone.

There can be no excuse for the poor service you received in the bar, your comments have been forwarded to our bar manager who will ensure standards are adhered to in future. We really appreciate your comments in regards to updating the hotel. We are aware the hotel would benefit from some investment and Jupiter Hotels have a number of plans in place to update the hotel and its facilities in the not so distant future.

The hotel looks even more stunning in the winter when covered in snow.

Kind Regards


Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had large room at back of hotel, family room. No view but ok. Large bathroom was a bit worried no curtain, there was a net but you can see in at night if light on, but internal walls gave some privacy. Only staff on break at back. Lovely hotel did not eat there, but resturant looked nice. Swimming pool nice, but small. Grounds lovely by river, lovely walk. Staff very friendly. Would visit again if in different room. Clean, a bit dated. Area lovely, hotel in quiet area away from roads.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SpikybuffyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Eileen G

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor after your recent visit to Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be lovely, in stunning grounds in a quiet peaceful location. The restaurant indeed is lovely and we pride ourselves on the quality and service of the food served. Agreeably the swimming pool areas is quite small but the amenities within it are very good.

If you wished to book again, which I hope you do I will personally deal with your booking to ensure you room allocation would be perfect for you.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Room was fair, very dated. Pool was very tired, and the 'gym' a joke, unless you are looking for altitude training! The equipment is essentially on the poolside making it unbearable. Bar food was over priced for passable only quality (we opted for bar food only as the restaurant menu was incredibly limited and unexciting). The Barman with the funky hair however made up for this, giving the impression of slight ineptitude but delightfully endearing with it.

Rather unimpressed with the reception staff bar one, they appeared most disinterested and unengaging.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JD_Dors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear JD_Dors

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor after your recent visit to Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped and that you found the food to be over priced, incredibly limited and unexciting. Or pricing is very competitive locally and your comments have been forwarded to the Chef regarding ‘incredibly limited and unexciting’. We have recently released our new Mercure Menu’s which has a range of menu options within the hotel as well as our Lounge and Restaurant menu’s which feature a lot more choice to cater for any requirement.

Achieving and exceeding customer satisfaction is our main priority and a focus within the company. Since your stay the Leisure facilities have been re-decorated. In the warmer months the centre does get quite warm this being due to the large windows that look over the beautiful grounds of the hotel.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visited Bowden Hall in June and were immediately impressed by the helpful efficient sraff.Our room was large,well equipped and overlooked the grounds at the front of the hotel.Breakfasts were excellent,good choice and cooked items were hot and fresh.We dined in on the first evening and enjoyed our meal but the menu was quite limited.
Being an old building there are some negatives (no air conditioning or lift) but the overall experience was very good and worthy of a recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear SwanseaWalker

Thank you for your kind comments and time to submit your feedback to Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to hear you were impressed by our helpful efficient staff, your room and the superb setting of the hotel.

I am sorry you felt that the menu for your evening meal was quite limited – your comments have been passed to our Chef for future reference. Since your stay you will be pleased to hear that we are now in the process of fitting air conditioning units in the worst affected rooms. This I am sure you will agree will be welcomed by everyone!

kind regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent only one night on a special deal. For what we paid on a room only basis was good value. Breakfast at £10 a head was a good buffet by hotel standards. Room was quite modern and good sized only suffered from lack of air circulation. Other reviews I have read complain about excessive heat, can understand in hot weather with no aiir conditioning could be problematic.
Young and very friendly staff, nice dinner, not too expensive, over priced bar drinks but an excellent bottle of wine at a very reasonable price for dinner.
Car parking good, free wifi on public rooms, location in the middle of nowhere, without satnav would probably never have found it.
Overall an enjoyable night, not first class but good value for money if on a deal would say overpriced at normal rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear 73GP

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor after your recent visit to Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable night here at the hotel and found us to be good value for money with friendly helpful staff that the food was nice and inexpensive with a good bottle of wine reasonably priced.

Since your stay you will be pleased to hear that we are now in the process of fitting air conditioning units in the worst affected rooms. This I am sure you will agree will be welcomed by everyone.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Small group of 4 (Husbands & Wives) stayed at the Bowden Hall hotel on Friday and Saturday evening. This is our 2nd visit to this hotel, as we had enjoyed it so much first time around. Arrived about 16:30 Friday evening and booked in with no problems, staff at the reception were friendly and organised. We took our room key and made our way to our room, the room was a small family room for 3 people which looked directly at a a high grass bank at the back of the hotel, it was really boiling and quite claustrophobic so i went back to reception and asked for a room change. The only room available was a room on the 4th floor in the attic, the only benefit of this room was that it didn't overlook a grassy bank, but as this was the only option available we took it. Our room was absolutely boiling and even with the fan provided in the room (that should have been our hint that it was going to be hot) it was too hot to sleep properly on either the Friday or Saturday.

We ate in the hotel on Sat evening, having made our way to the dining room which is a very nice room, but after getting a drink from the bar we were directed to a room on the 1st fooor due to a private party in the dining room. The room on the 1st foor smelt damp and was very cramped, and as more and more people came into the room to eat it became very hot, noisey and uncomfortable, again the staff couldn't be faulted even with having to run up and down stairs with food and drink orders they were still helpful and happy.

We were also unable to book spa treatments due to the wedding fayre.

Breakfast was fine although a new toaster is well overdue, having to put the bread in 3 times to get it looking like toast is just a joke.

Would we stay again, not if I had to suffer a room in the roof again. Top tip is make sure you request a room with large windows that can be opened to circulate air.

Room Tip: Front of hotel, not on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor after your recent visit to Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped. Achieving and exceeding customer satisfaction is our main priority and a focus within the company. Some of the hotel rooms do unfortunately get quite warm due to their location. We have restrictions in place on how far windows can open due to health and safety reasons. Since your stay you will be pleased to hear that we are now in the process of fitting air conditioning units in the worst affected rooms. This I am sure you will agree will be welcomed by everyone.

Occasionally we do have to use the upstairs function rooms as a restaurant and again I am sorry you did not find this to be satisfactory but am pleased to hear that the staff couldn’t be faulted.

If you wished to book again, which I hope you do I will personally deal with your booking to ensure you room allocation would be perfect for you.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,126 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
831 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing