We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLEN T, FANTASTIC, OUTSTANDING HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
horley surrey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“EXCELLEN T, FANTASTIC, OUTSTANDING HOTEL”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast at this outstanding hotel, we do a few UK breaks, this was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. From arrival, the staff were so polite, helpful and efficient. Our room 236 was excellent, very spacious, had a wonderful view and everything we needed. Beverages were topped up daily as were were bathroom essentials, room was spotless and bed very comfortable. Leisure area good, pool and hot tub great. Food first class, breakfast and evening meals just so tasty and well presented, dining room has a wonderful ambience, as does the whole hotel. Fantastic views and well kept grounds. All staff so friendly, I wish I could mention them all, we have never visited a hotel where service was so perfect. The lady cleaning the downstairs was so thorough, every day she was cleaning the legs of the chairs and polishing everthing in sight. Our break was excellent value, we will definitely return on their next offer, we loved it so much, we did not want to leave !!!!. We would rate this hotel 5*, there was absolutely nothing we could critise, it was PERFECT.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel 236, it was excellent and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and time to submit these to Trip Advisor. I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our beautiful facilities.

We aim for high standards in customer service and glad this came across during your visit. I really appreciate your comments made towards our staff and food as it shows what great teamwork can create.

They are really an asset to the company. I do hope you can take advantage of our great offers again and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    272
    146
    75
    30
See reviews for
113
420
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Arrived for a four night stay on 28th May and had a room on the 3rd floor above the swimming pool. Room was very hot and I had to have a fan on all night. Spoke to reception the next day and they immediately gave me a room on the ground floor which was lovely and cool. The food was reasonably priced and very tasty. The burger stack was enormous! Would recommend this hotel to friends, family and colleagues. The grounds were lovely to walk around after a busy working day, then a relaxing meal in either the lounge area or the restaurant. I found all the staff friendly, approachble and very helpful. I will definitely visit again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineB41ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and time to submit your feedback to Trip Advisor.
I am thoroughly glad you enjoyed our food and beautiful facilities. Our staff are an asset to the company and I am glad our focus on customer service came across during your visit.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to Bowden Hall in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Selected this hotel as their website clearly stated rooms had air conditioning. This wasn't the case, and the room only had one tiny opening window, with a restrictor on it. Staff not even really bothered when I pointed this out to them. Far too hot to sleep, room was boiling and airless. When arrived at reception, my confirmed booking was not on their system. Bathroom slightly grubby and obviously in need of refurb. Vegetarian option for a starter was pea and ham soup!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebashstreetkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments to Trip Advisor. I am sorry there was some confusion from our website about our facilities and I am afraid some of our windows are restricted from opening the whole way due to health and safety reasons.

We value you your comments regarding these issues and will look further into how we can improve on these matters.

We have recently released our new Mercure Menu’s which has a range of menu options within the hotel as well as our Lounge and Restaurant menu’s which feature a lot more choice to cater for any requirement.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Such lovely welcoming staff, in particular the restauarant staff. A lovely setting. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments towards our restaurant staff and our beautiful facilities. We have a great team at the hotel and glad the hotel was to your taste.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to Bowden Hall in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Booked over the phone and dealt with an extremely helpful person. We only did an "overnight" stay but would have been happy to have stayed longer. The breakfast was lovely and all the staff made us very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments and time to submit your feedback to Trip Advisor. I am glad our food and service made a good impression with you and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing stay at Bowden Hall. The staff were very approachable and nothing was too much trouble. Our suite was over 3 floors but we enjoyed the quirky uniqueness of it A suggestion would be too put a glass roof in the lounge so that you could view the stars at night when relaxing in the lounge.
We enjoyed excellent food for dinner and breakfast, all freshly prepared, once again the staff were attentive and welcoming.
We will be returning for another visit and highly recommend a stay here. unfortunately we had no time to use the spa but definately will next time.
Top Tip: look out for the offers. we had a great deal : )

Room Tip: request a good room prior to arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our popular Tower Suite and glad it was to your taste. It truly is a unique and interesting room and part of the original period feature to the hotel. Thanks for your suggestion; a glass roof would definitely be an impressive quality and something we could look into.

Thanks for your kind comments towards our delicious food and attentive staff, we aim for quality customer service and glad this came across during your visit.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel where I hope you can make use of our spa facilities.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
822 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing