We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th Birthday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed May 8, 2012

WOW! What a time we had. From MATT The Events Manager,the chef ,to the young ladies in attendence at the table, nothing was too much trouble.They all just couldn't do enough for us.The Table was amazingly decorated .The Food was beautifully presented and delicious .We are now looking for an excuse to do it all again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuji5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Mrs Chuter

Thank you for your time to submit your kind feedback regarding your Birthday Lunch with us at Bowden Hall. I am thrilled to hear that your event was a success and we were able to contribute to your enjoyable day.

I am very proud of all our staff at the hotel and it is great to hear such wonderful comments. We put customer service at the heart of our aims and its great to hear this comes across. Comments such as these really boost the team’s moral and show their hard work paying off so thank you once again. They truly are an asset to the company.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 865 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for just one night and had requested a quite room. The hotel was not full & we were given a room over the Leisure Centre's swimming pool and you could hear music until 8.00pm. It was then quiet but illuminated by floodlights until midnight, we wouldn't close the curtains because the room was so stuffy.

The room was clean but the whole place is badly in need of investment. The furniture in the room was cheap with just a hanging rail for clothes, no wardrobe, the bathroom needed refurbishment. There was no airconditioning and the window was only able to be opened slightly.

The outside of the building is impressive and is no doubt hindered by its listed status.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was enjoyable.

In short you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments to Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear your stay was not as enjoyable as hoped but I am glad our staff and food made a good impression on you.

As you may be away Jupiter Hotels took over the company 6 months ago and plans are in place for investment into the hotel in the not so distant future.

Bowden Hall is a beautiful building and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Gavin Jones,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a Lovely weekend with the girls at the hotel. Simon, the barman was exceptionally sweet very attentive and patient, six rowdy ladies can be very challenging!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am thoroughly glad to hear that we were able to make your birthday weekend an enjoyable one. Thanks for your kind comments towards our staff and glad he was able to attend to your needs with great service and friendliness.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Jones,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Thoroughly nice place - excellent staff special mention for Clare who does the beauty treatments and Simon in the bar! Room nice and clean, good dinner, not so impressed with the breakfast though - fried eggs were set hard, bacon hard, beans cool - so could do better in this area!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind comments towards our staff and facilities at Bowden Hall. Sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not up to standard but we really appreciate your comments and will definitely look into this matter further. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon where we aim to impress.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

After a long day travelling it was areal pleasure to stay at Bowden Hall. My room was large and very comfortable. I ate in the restraunt and found the menu and food a real treat. My first visit but one I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretBLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your first stay with us at Bowden Hall. I am glad we made a great impression on you with our choice of delicious food and comfortable accommodation.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A four day visit at the end of February to celebrate my wife's 80th birthday was handled expertly by all the staff at Bowden Hall. The accomodation as usual was great and the celebration dinner was just as we wanted and expected. The service was great and all our needs catered for. I keep going back to Bowden Hall and whilst they give me total satisfaction I will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xamswerdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to make your Wife’s 80th birthday celebrations one to remember. We aim for high standard in food, service and accommodation and glad you experience this through your continuous breaks away with us at Bowden Hall.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful stay - the staff were helpful and friendly, especially Simon who (unasked) brought welcome pots of tea after a long day. nothing was too much trouble including detailed information about local walks. Accommodation very comfortable, clean and warm and 3 of us stayed in the one room and it was spacious. As visitors to England, we felt we had an iconic experience in a large country home. Would happily stay again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Lib M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. We have some great staff at the hotel and we always aim for a high standard in customer service so I am glad this came across in our service. Bowden Hall is a beautiful hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your room and our facilities.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Keep a look out on our website for some great weekend break deals.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,343 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
859 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $89 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing