We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we had more time!!!”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only we had more time!!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We arrived half an hour early but were immediately shown to our room. Easter Weekend but totally unexpected was an Easter egg on our bed - nice touch we thought. The champagne was in an ice bucket waiting for us which we cracked open immediately. The room was huge and contained everything we needed, including a TV and DVD player just in case we wanted to do nothing. The bathroom was also huge and the bath was gorgeous, you could have had a party in it. The room was also clean so all my boxes were ticked there.

Once we'd spent the afternoon drinking champagne, eating our egg and chilling in the enormous bath, we went to the bar for a very chilled out drink (drink prices what you would expect from a hotel so no surprises). Then we went for dinner which was amazing. 3 course meal provided in our package... we were expecting a limited set menu but no... we had access to the normal full menu which was brimming with choices. The food came with a smile from brilliant waiters who were extremely polite and professional.

So then it was off to bed in lovely clean sheets and a very comfortable bed. The best thing was that breakfast was served until 10am which meant no need to get up ridiculously early. Once again the restaurant surpassed themselves with a delightful breakfast of everything you could wish for and hot English breakfast freshly prepared.

We went back to the room after breakfast for more time chilling before check out at 12. And like I said... if only we had more time!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    429
    190
    112
    97
See reviews for
155
771
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We were looking for a weekend get away and saw a great deal on travelzoo for £180 for two of us for two nights including Dinner and Breakfast for both days.
We arrived late on Friday night and weer still able to get Dinner. As a all in I expected them to be tight on the meal times but they couldn't have been more helpful.
Our room was in the extension I think, with stone staircase leading up to entrance. Our room was on the second floor and was of a reasonable size, with a big corner bath, which was inviting. The room was clean and the bed was good. There was some noise from the Mway at the bottom of the hill but it was far enough away to not be intrusive and we slept all night with the window open.
The next morning we woke up late for breakfast and thought we had missed it, but when we phoned reception they brought us up some bacon sandwiches and fried eggs without any prompting.
On the Saturday evening we got lost in time in the Temple Spa with the open air spa and sunset over Bath, which was beautiful, and managed to miss dinner. We phoned on our way back to the hotel, which is about 40mins from centre of Bath, and they made us meals and when we got back delivered them to our room!
Yes we couldn't believe it either..... great staff, going above and beyond what was required or expected. Bit like the overall experience of the hotel really.
As I said a great deal, we will certainly use this again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will_30something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland On sea Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very quiet with lovely views over Gloucester and cleaned daily, towels were also replaced daily. Restaurant served a varied menu which was to the hightest standard. There was also a wide selection of wines and champagne available.
The hotel was in a good location for exploring the Cotswolds and would recomment any overseas visitor wanting to visit the area to give the hotel a call.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 40th Wedding Anniversary at The Hatton and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Having booked the 2 night deal through Travel Zoo (£89 per night for dinner bed and breakfast plus free champagne) and then read the reviews I was a little worried about what I had done. Decided that the food had to be worth half the cost so room still less than a Travelodge.

We arrived late afternoon on Bank Holiday Saturday and were greeted by an efficent receptionist who had all the answers to our questions and directed us to the new annex and up to the top floor. Room 51 overlooks the front of the hotel and is quiet. Room quite small and the sloping ceilings are a challenge if you are tall. Room clean, linen spotless but only one blanket and heavy (slightly faded) bedspread. Room was warm and you have control of the radiator. Champagne was in ice bucket but we didnt try it. Saving it for another day! Nice touches of bear, mints, tea making equipment, Bathroom clean, towels spotless.

Dinner was great. 3 courses with about 4/5 choices per course. Paid the extra £1.25 to get Sticky toffee pudding and it was worth it! Nice touch to have coffee in bar with sweetmeats not just a boring After Eight mint. Staff very helpful and food came very promptly. Ate there two nights and the menu changed completely so plenty of choice.

Breakfast was well cooked although mushrooms a little salty for my taste. Tea and coffee came promptly and was topped up without question.

Views from dining room were great. Tables a bit close together. Had a cream tea on the decking one afternoon and this was well presented.

Noise of motorway could be a problem if windows open in summer but you soon got used to it.

Would certainly go again as so much to see in the area. We went over to Forest of Dean and tramped about to justify another lovely meal!

Didnt find the gym or outside pool but maybe next time!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Spent a two day break at The Hatton Court Hotel. The setting is lovely and it is such a peaceful environment. We missed the view as the weather was inclement but the service and food certainly made up for it. All the staff were most helpful and professional- nothing was too much trouble. We like good food and were not disappointed. The quality and cooking were excellent. The location is very central- we took a trip to Painswick which is just down the road- a charming little village. We ended up in Cheltenham where the races happened to be in progress so we spent the rest of the day there.!!! The dinner in the evening at the Hatton made for a prefect day in spite of the weather. We will certainly be making a return visit and we recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We chose the location for our wedding and was not disappointed despite the re-furb that was going on. The whole event ran smoothly and the staff were very attentive and professional at all times. The room was spacious but lacked light for make-up and beauty treatments. A new chef had recently joined and we took up the offer of sampling the wedding breakfast to be and were very impressed. All guests from our party commented very faviourably about the whole wedding breakfast. The lamb was superburb - the best we have ever had. Full compliments to the chef and his staff. We were very impressed also with the staff being so friendly and helpful and for making our day so special. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandGGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The hotel was on the hill in Upton St Leonards with great views overlooking Gloucester and the River Severn. Its location is ideal for the Cotswolds. The Hotel was clean and well represented, the room was of a good size and spotless, and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The quality of the evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and varied as was the breakfast (With the traditional full English being rather good). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone holidaying in the Cotswolds P.S. One small negative comment on room 26 which had some sought of air conditioning unit on the bathroom roof . This seemed to be on 24hrs a day and unfortunately caused a low thrumming noise to pervade the whole room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TACColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,117 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing