We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The surly gentleman who attended to our check-in and the cold traditional English breakfast were the only weak features of this hotel. The location is excellent. The other staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was delightful with all you needed for a relaxing stay. The dinner was average, lacking imagination but reasonably priced. Our room was in a section apart from the main hotel with many stairs to climb.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    423
    187
    111
    96
See reviews for
152
758
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We ( 4 ) started at one of the groups other hotels and quite frankly it was not what we expected
probably because we knew and were expecting the standards at Hatton Court. BUT having stayed there before and it was only 18 miles away we explained our disappointment and asked if we could change our booking to stay at the Hatton Court which is one of our favourite hotels. True to form, nothing was too much trouble, and we drove to Hatton Court who had prepared two superior rooms for us and gave us the same terms as we had booked under this particular deal at "the other place" Except that we had to pay perhaps a little too much premium for the change to what was now clearly a totally different standard of hotel to others in the group. The food was really good especially the taster menu on the first night. Because of the change they did not realise, until we went down for a pre dinner drink that one of our party was a non meat eater, which can be difficult with taster menus, but even that difficulty was catered for without any issues . All drinks were reasonably prices and every member of staff very friendly and willing to help. We even joked with one about his muscles and tattoos or at least the girls did ! Well done Hatton Court you took what could have been a real disappointment into the realms of first class attentive service backed by superb accommodation and food ..

Room Tip: If you want luxury and service stay here. If you do not want to take your walking boots off and like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

we stayed saturday night on the "romantic package" deal, which includes a 3 course dinner, and breakfast the following morning, a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates and rose petals in the room. we stayed in an executive room in the wing, which was a decent size, we found the bed very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a large bath, which was great as we both love having baths.the evening meal was nice, and the breakfast the following morning was also very nice. the hotel has good views sitting on top of a hill, though it would mean if you wanted to go anywhere you would have to drive or take a taxi.the hotel has an older feel to it as opposed to a modern hotel, and it would depend on your point of view as to whether you would like this or not. we don't live too far away so we would probably not stay here very often, but decided to take advantage of the offer and have a night away, and we did enjoy it and thought it was good value for what we had included

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked via travelzoo and had a great value for money weekend. We paid £179 for 2 nights bed and breakfast and tasting menu on the first night with an executive room (huge bed, mini bar, large bathroom). Staff were helpful and breakfast and dinner were very good. There is a bizarre arrangement at breakfast where a waiter walks around the restaurant filling your cup with tea or coffee. Unfortunately visits were few and far between so to ensure a good supply ask for a pot.

Room Tip: executive rooms are a good size. Large comfortable bed, mini bar with complimentary water, good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonneyblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Bought afternoon tea as a Groupon deal.. Only average. Dry cakes, dry sandwiches. Very small helpings.
Bought equivalent at Baths Pump room. Same deal almost. Much better than the Hatton Court hotel. But considering we only bought afternoon tea, I don't really like to rate the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grenville c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Hatton Court for putting on a smashing New Year's party. Both my husband and I were very impressed with the five course gourmet dinner and thought the service of the waiting staff was impeccable. We really enjoyed the music and other entertainment as well and couldn't have asked for a better way to see in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlosResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed Saturday night on a Travel Zoo deal, our room 14 in main house was clean but very tired, the wallpaper needed sticking on every join, the windows were so dirty we could just about make out the Malverns, the carpet had bare lines in places. My Husband fixed the TV the aerial was not connected properly, and we showered in the bath holding the shower head as the wall bracket was missing. I did tell reception & she said she could get someone to look at it, but we told her as we'd showered not to bother.
The taster menu was ok (2 fish courses!?) drinks very expensive
Lovely log fires
Breakfast was ok fried & scrambled eggs were both overcooked, waited ages for a second cup of tea!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
791 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,101 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
352 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing