We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country weekend away”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Cadnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect country weekend away”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the first review I have bothered to write but after seeing a few bad reviews for this hotel I thought they deserved me making the effort to say how excellent the hotel and service was. We stayed on a very cold night and very quickly upon requesting a couple of very helpful staff bustled in with lots of extra duvets and throws and extra electric heaters.

We stayed in room 1 which was a superior room costing £135 for a Saturday night. The room and very large bathroom was big enough to become a one bedroom flat but still managing to feel very closely and comfortable. My 4 year old son had endless fun bathing in the jacuzzi bath ! The staff were fantastic with my son all weekend and treated him as a guest in his own right rather than a nuisance.

Food was fantastic both at dinner and breakfast. All in all a very relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original historic part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    436
    191
    112
    97
See reviews for
159
776
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Sunday Lunch at Hatten Court – Excellent value for money. The hotel restaurant has views across the surrounding countryside and over the city; it’s a pleasant setting for a family lunch. Although we were on a groupon deal even at full price I would have been very happy. Staff were friendly and helpful without being over intrusive. The food was of a great standard. Great little find if you are looking for somewhere nice to dine in Gloucester.

Room Tip: food is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels for business and this hotel scored high on several counts.
Very friendly and helpful staff with comfortable rooms and excellent food.
Great value too.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone - and will return if I am in the area again.

Room Tip: I was in a room above the main door and unfortunately the lights kept me awake. The room would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My Husband and came for a meal with our granddaughter, not knowing what to expect as we had never been here before. We were served with bread beforehand and then the meal, to be honest we have never tasted better , from starter to desert. The attention to detail . The staff are very attentive , next time would like to have a look around the grounds because due to the bad weather it was not possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53Hazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We brought some friends here recently on recommendation to eat in The Tara Restaurant.
I have to say the whole experience was superb including very attentive bar and restaurant staff.
We ate from the taster menu which i believe is all locally sourced and we were not disappointed.
Every course that was presented to us was to die for!! The chef even took time out to come over and speak to us which I thought was a lovely touch. We shall definitely be coming back again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here on Friday . Fabulous helpful receptionist . Was great value , nicely decorated and a jacuzzi bath . Breakfast was fabulous all locally sourced and freshly cooked to order . Nice views of the countryside all around . We slept like a log . Beds perfect and a truely enjoyable stay well done !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janesmithmiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I attended at this Hotel, for two nights, either side of a Registrar Officiated Family Wedding. It is an impressive main building, with an equally impressive Annexe, set upon a hillside, but, I felt that the approach to the Front Door, from a country lane, along a driveway, was marred by the need to negotiate the large car-park, particularly on foot. The checking in process was efficient, and we were booked into a first floor room in the Annexe. The double room was clean, attractively decorated and furnished, and a good size. The bed, in this room, was very comfortable, and we enjoyed a good sleep on both nights. The view out over the countryside was pleasing, but, looking down, the view of half a dozen alloy ladders, and beer barrels, in a yard, did detract. Be aware that the Annexe has an outside access staircase, and, inside, does not have a lift. There were very young children staying in here, and their parents did not find it easy to get in or out, when also carrying buggys, bags etc. There was a period of time, during the Saturday morning, when both our shower and basin was unable to produce hot water. To our knowledge, several other guests in our party were also inconvenienced. A room-maid did apologise, and stated that this was not uncommon when the Hotel had a large
number of guests in residence. Friends, staying in the main building, had the same problem on the Sunday; they had paid for a room with a jacuzzi bath, but, were unable to fill it with hot water!
The room for the Wedding Ceremony was very attractively decorated and laid-out. The authorised capacity is, I believe, for 70 people. We were blessed with warm, sunny weather, and, after the Ceremony, the terrace and lawn area outside, was enjoyed by mingling guests, while the official photographer went about his task. The Wedding Breakfast was taken in a large marquee, permanently erected, with easy access, just a little down the slope below the terrace. Halfway into the meal, the quality of the marquee's construction was severely tested, when there was a tropical style downpour, accompanied by thunder and lightning! But, we all stayed warm and dry. The buffet style meal was most enjoyable. The staff were, throughout, very attentive and pleasant. Lucy, a Trainee Operations manager, I believe, was very helpful and supportive.
Our stay here was pleasant and enjoyable. Apart from the items mentioned above, there a few little 'gripes' which I feel are worth bringing up. When the Wedding was first booked, just over a year before the event, certain price details were quoted and agreed, which were later changed and disputed. This was not entirely resolved satisfactorily. We were only permitted to book 10 rooms, as part of the Wedding Package. After these had been allocated, guests could book a room, but, at a higher rate. As a result, there were about 30 guests, who opted to reside, for one or two nights, in hotels spread around Gloucester and area. Why the limit? All of these guests could have been accommodated in Hatton Court, at least boosting their bar takings! When booking a room for my Daughter, and her Family (Husband & 9 month old daughter), a cot was requested, in three 'phone conversations with the hotel. But, upon arrival, there was a bed provided, instead of a cot. When this was pointed out, the Receptionist replied to the effect that, she had a friend whose very young child was happy in a bed. This response was not appreciated. A cot was provided. On the Sunday morning, a room separate to the Dining Room, had been booked for the specific Breakfast use of resident Wedding Guests. The food was fine, but it's provision to the Buffet table was a little slow at times. One guest, who attempted to go to the regular Dining Room, was 'actively discouraged' by a Staff member, but, because of the food situation, she, and several other guests, moved across the corridor. A female, suited, staff member, perhaps put out that she was having to be responsible for two rooms, reminded me of a School Ma'am, by her manner in moving around the room, carrying the 'Class Register', sharply asking guests for room numbers.
Overall, I found Hatton Court to be a satisfactory venue for both a Wedding function, and, a weekend stay. The countryside is very attractive, in any weather, and the Hotel is convenient for both tourist attractions and commercial areas, such as Gloucester Quays.

Room Tip: If there are any mobility issues, then a room in the Main building is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
812 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
831 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
679 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing