We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 others visited Hatton Court in September for Afternoon Tea, with a Groupon voucher and we all really enjoyed it. There were plenty of sandwiches, cakes and the scones were really nice. The champagne was just as good. Compared to other afternoon teas I've been to, this one has to be the best one yet! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank antontothemax2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    429
    190
    112
    97
See reviews for
155
771
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The first room that we were given was very dark,in the eaves and had no bath. We were upgraded to a room in the "new wing". Which was much lighter. The bathroom,however was awful. The shower screen was covered in mould,the skirting boards were full of muck and quite frankly,it was not acceptable.

We had dinner in the restaurant. The soup was cold,we had to ask for bread and the service was very lacklustre.
We asked to see the manager the next morning. He was great,listened to what we had to say and gave us a discount with one free dinner. We really believe that he would look into our concerns and do something about it.

Room Tip: Don't go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the 6 course taster menu and really enjoyed it. The courses came quickly and there was a nice variety of dishes. Lovely food, nice location and the service was good. Using the voucher made it excellent value and we had no problem booking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pookie_324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I used the recent Travelzoo offer for the tasting menu. The food was lovely, exactly as described, the prosecco bubbly and the service very good. When the bill arrived for the wine and cheeseboard we had ordered I noticed that we had only been charged for one bottle of Chablis rather than 2 - I pointed this out to the waitress and was just slightly disappointed that she did not thank me for my honesty in noticing this but simply walked off and returned with another bill showing the 2 bottles which we then duly paid for! Just a slight criticism of an otherwise lovely evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for one night Saturday 21st September for a weekend away. When we first checked in the first impressions were not good. We stood at reception for a while before the lady sitting in the back office said hello. We then had to say we had a room booked before a young lady from inside the back office came out. There was no warm welcome and we had to ask what time breakfast was, something that we should already have been told automatically when checking in. The room was very small but had a lovely view. It was very obvious the room has not been updated in a while as there was lots of chipped paint in places and it felt very old fashioned. The shower cubical was very small and the water just trickled out so I was unable to wash my hair while I was there as I would have been there all day. There was bottles of water in the room though which was good. There was a wedding going on that day which we had no problem with but it was quite noisy in the hallway/outside our door when they were going to bed. When we drove back to the hotel after eating out that evening (9pm) we could not get a parking space in their car park due to the evening guests that had turned up for the Wedding reception. We had to park in an overflow car park which was in a field down the road. Reception advised they told evening guests to use the overflow car park but there was no one making sure this was done. The barman working that night was really nice, very socialable and friendly. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay, the service was excellent especially the young man serving us and the food was really good too. I recommend the Eggs Benedict. They even offer hot chocolate which I was really pleased about as I don't like tea or coffee. So overall is was an ok experience and would have been better if the maintenance of the room was updated and the reception staff had the same customer service as the restaurant staff. If I visited again I would see what other hotels there were in the area. The King's Head pub down the road was a good place to eat/drink with good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from lovely afternoon tea at Hatton Court Hotel - Tara restaurant. Lovely experience from start to finish. Nice venue, really helpful staff. Used a Groupon voucher and had no problems with booking (nor for using on a Sunday due to Saturday being fully booked).
Lovely selection of sandwiches - catering for veggie diet too. Fresh cakes and scones.
Would recommend and would like to go back to sample the rest of the menu. 5* from me :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend with friends at hatton court. Wonderful views across the city.
Our room was a great size with a huge comfortable bed. Our bathroom had an enormous corner bath with a very good shower over. Everything was a bit worn and threadbare, needing a refurbishment. Hence the four stars rather that five. But extremely clean everywhere.
We ate in the Tara restaurant both nights as part of our package. The food and service was excellent and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. More than enough, especially as lovely fresh bread was offered and replenished. Was lovely to be able to eat and drink together with friends without worrying about taxis to get home after. You can hear the motorway if you have your windows open, but you can see how close it is on the map before you book, and soon get used to it. Never bothered us.
The second night there was a wedding at the hotel, out in the marque in the garden. The music did not cause us any problems and stopped at midnight. However we were rudely awakened by a drunken guest trying to hammer his door down at 2.30 in the morning, but the hotel cannot be blamed for that.
Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice for cooked plus a good buffet.
Lovely area to explore too, even though we don't live that far away we hadn't seen much of this area.
I would go back to this hotel again, lovely food and mostly lovely staff. If the management spends a bit of money on refurbishment it would be a top rate hotel, come on management team....it's worth spending a bit of money on!

Room Tip: Room 24 was larger than our friends, huge bed and corner bath, and away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,117 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing