We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hatton Court, comfortable but not convenient for Cotswolds”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hatton Court, comfortable but not convenient for Cotswolds”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked this for two nights reading that it was convenient for exploring the Cotswolds but in fact it's a long drive to the triangle from Stow to Broadway or Chipping Campden and coming back to the hotel you get caught in bad traffic in the afternoon between 4.30 and 5.30. It all looks close on a map, but you are on cute little winding back roads all the way. Part of the charm I suppose!

Next thing, the bed was the most comfortable I have had travelling around the UK for the past 2 weeks, and king size not these little English queen beds which I would call a double and the breakfast is excellent. But beware of the dinner in the bar. We didn't want the 3 course set dinner in the dining room having already had a big lunch and had already been to the pub in the next village, Painwick, for dinner the previous night. So we opted for dinner in the bar. The beef burger was served with a couple of slices of tomato but not even a lettuce leaf, just lots of chips. The sausages and mashed potatoes were just that. It wasn't expensive, but not cheap either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    419
    185
    110
    95
See reviews for
147
756
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed two nights on a package deal, as soon as we opened our door, champagne and strawberries were waiting for us. The room was very spacious and clean and the food was wonderful. Both nights we had a three course meal which was beautifully presented and tasted excellent. The staff were all lovely and are a credit to the hotel, would definately recommend :oD

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband had a break at this lovely hotel. The hotel and grounds are beautiful as are the rooms. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. The staff were attentive,friendly and polite. I would definitely visit again and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in an executive room which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a great little find. So well located for ambling around the Cotswolds. Breakfast was superb with a huge menu to choose from. Our room was great, although a little tired, with original lead windows.
Staff exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyMalolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a 'Winter Warmer' package at the Hatton Court Hotel, Upton St Leonards. This was an unexpected delight. We had been upgraded to a Superior room with its large jacuzzi bath, soft white towels and dressing gowns and champagne chilling awaiting us. The bed was huge and very comfy indeed. Throughout out stay the very smartly dressed staff were attentive, friendly and service at both dinner and breakfast was very organised and efficient. Dinner allowed us to savour each course without being rushed; very relaxing all round. Presentation of each course showed that back of house attention to detail matched that of those we met. Not sure how extensive the menu actually is, as we actually noticed a few items came around again on our third night. This however allowed us to try out those delights we had missed first time around, so not a problem for us. As a family with an impending wedding giving us the usual financial headaches I could not help but notice that Hatton Court appears to offer a very comprehensive wedding package, shame we don't live nearer!! Very pleased to have found this little gem - give them a try!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoholou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, Beds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have just got back from this place which was booked as birthday surprise ( winter warmer package). The welcome was warm, friendly and even though the room wasn't ready due to arriving early, bags etc were put into a holding area for us without delay after booking in . There was an offer of hot chocolate and cookies ( more on this later) which we left until later as we wanted to peruse around the town centre . It was a pretty average town centre and reflects the present national retail picture , pawn shops , wetherspoons pubs and stores that have succumbed to the recession and where boarded up. The little indoor shopping centre was ok but nothing special . The Gloucester Quays is a better option as it houses retail outlet stores there are some bargains to be had , plenty of parking too. Back to the hotel , they'd run out of cookies but we were given carrot cake, scones with cream ,jam and hot chocolate that was just that , really hot just how it should be . ( other places take note) The evening meal consisted of 5 courses and some of these dishes looked liked something off of master chef and tasted divine , full marks for the breakfast too. The staff were all attentive and friendly and I can't believe this is only a 3 star hotel . Well done to all the staff , we will be coming back soon ! Also recommend checking out the cathedral if you are into that sort of thing .

Room Tip: Our room was overlooked by the car park but we didn't hear any noise ( both heavy sleepers) . I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutonlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a work trip. Very good value as I used a booking agency and had bed and breakfast for £75. Evening meal -- which was excellent -- was £25 for two courses in the attractive, if slightly over-formal, restaurant. Very comfortable large room in the annexe with lovely views. Huge bathroom -- a little tired -- but perfectly fine. Nice touches included a cafetiere with coffee bags on the hospitality tray. Good breakfast with lots of choice at buffet as well as cooked. Really lovely welcome too. Particularly warm praise goes to Monica on Reception who was kindness itself. I didn't put 5 stars as I felt the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant needs to be a little more relaxed and less pretentious but maybe that's just me! Everyting was good and I will return if in the area. Note: it's 15 minutes taxi ride from station, costing about £11.50.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
13.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing