We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We've stopped by Hatton Court on a couple of occasions just for coffee (we're quite local so never stayed overnight). Great place to sit and relax with a coffee taking in that wonderful view of the Severn estuary, or alternatively sit by a cosy wood fire. The staff are always very helpful and polite. We'll definitely be back - maybe even for a meal.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hatbat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    427
    190
    111
    97
See reviews for
155
770
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed overnight on New Years Eve and had a wonderful evening. The room we were staying in was in the old part of the building as we took our dog with us. The room was large with excellent views. The meal was lovely and we can find no fault despite them catering for large numbers of people. The casino night was great fun and there was a disco to end the evening in a seperate room. All the staff were excellent throughout the evening, in particular Craig and Chrissie. Breakfast the following morning was very nice. We visit regularly and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Remember when skating was all the vogue some years ago and the judges held up cards up to 10 ?
Well the thing that frustrates me with TA is he inability to give half marks otherwise I sometimes feel the current rating system is unfair to some establishments.

Hatton Court is a case in point, a great place let down by a few things so really it would be a 3.75 out of 5 or as it was when I was at school an A minus.

It's in a great location on a hillside with great views and would make a great wedding or event location.

We had a superior room with jacuzzi ( note this is a jacuzzi bath and not the real thing) the rom size was well above average and well maintained on the whole. The bed was surprisingly comfortable despite being able to feel the springs. The restaurant had a varied fairly modern menu and I couldn't fault the food and service.

What did take the shine off for me was the unhelpful attitude of the staff when we tried to cancel due to family illness (see Malthouse Farm review) - a very genuine request to cancel was met with the intransigence of a traffic warden about to issue a ticket. The only other issue I would raise would be that the bath and shower have a really good clean I.e. grout cleaned, black mould removed etc.

Thanks for a good overall stay but please be more accomodating to those of us who are genuinely unable to attend

Room Tip: Choose new wing unless disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night New Year break which was excellent in every way - terrific value for the price and extremely restful and entertaining. Staff were exemplary - creating that very difficult balance between efficiency and friendliness. This is a very well-run hotel where the personal touch is held in high esteem and trickles through to everyone. The food is not only wonderful to taste but is also beautifully presented. The entertainment on New Year's Eve included a fun casino and disco - all in all an imaginatively conceived evening.
This was the perfect way to get away at New Year. Thanks to everyone for a great time. We will return!

Room Tip: Room 16 - spacious and comfortable. As far as I know it was a standard room. If so it was just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I ( to get over the Christmas break) recently stayed at the Hatton Court Hotel.
Firstly we were greeted by warm helpful staff and registered quickly and efficiently.
We were shown where to go to our room, and once at our room found everything to our liking.
Ranging from decor, comfortable bed and amenities.
There it ended when next morning at breakfast the food, my wife had porridge (undercooked) and I had English Breakfast too well done.
On the second and third days breakfast very very disappointing with quality of food namely the scrambled eggs on toast that I ordered was very sloppy and disappointing.
The dining staff were just standing around looking bored and could have been more productive in my view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a long weekend between Christmas and New Year, a good time cos deals to be had but still peaceful - except the awful piped music in every public room, the same cd over and over! Switch it off!! The reception was charming. Very efficient. Unlike the barman the first afternoon - which was like finding nemo and it took four attempts and twenty mins to get a drink! Afternoon tea was a little disappointing but the dinner made up for it. Included in the cost of the room, we had a three course meal which was jolly tasty with plenty of choice - but do yourselves a favour - get rid of that ridiculous bread trolley! The room was a superior jacuzzi. Nicely appointed room (would be nice to have a comfy chair) and the bath needed some attention. It was quite worn and was a little off putting. Very comfy bed. Warm and blissfully peaceful at night. A bit jaded but worth a visit and we would go again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall a good experience, but we were VERY disappointed with our room. When I mentioned this at reception, the young receptionist had the cheek to say , " you were in a room that hasn't been refurbished as yet, if you had asked to stay in the new wing you would have has a better Room" !!!! I was horrified !!!! ..... Perhaps, in the interest is excellent customer service, I could have been offered a refurbished room????? Too much to ask perhaps???? I would look for other places to stay before returning here purely due to this flippant statement !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing