We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service - Bad Management”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel, first being excellent, so not sure why this lovely venue has gone down hill, their service on this occasion was appalling but even more concerning was their attitude to the complaint on the day and more so to the follow up complaint in writing to the manager and a copy to person/s in the hotel organization, which appears to falll on deaf ears, hello.
Basically the reply by the hotel manager, which incidentally was only forwarded to me after another follow up letter to him , a month later. This was pretty basic, denying most points and not addressing the major points of the complaint and appearing only to be interested in the 90% of good reviews the hotel got and not the 10% of bad reviews. No real apology received especially in view of the seriousness of one underlined issue and which could of had a potentially fatal outcome, fortunately this didn't happen but only down to the quick actions of one of the four in our party. We did have an offer of a 20% discount should we want to stay again, our thoughts, is that the best you can offer, a free stay would be considered.
Our stay on Saturday 15th September 2012 was supposed to of been a lovely treat as it was
both husbands birthday during that weekend but unfortunately turned out to be a nightmare and one we wouldn't want to repeat or wish on anyone else.

Reviews read after our stay indicated a stay at Hatton Court whilst a Wedding was on wasn't
a good idea or recommended, which we clearly experienced on this occasion but which according to the manager had no bearing of our stay which is even more worrying. Its rather sad as our first stay nearly 2 years ago was an excellent choice. Come on guys face facts and get your act together as Hatton Court needs to offer a first class service to all guests. Future weddings will depend on future reviews and satisfied guests. Hatton Court needs to rectify,concentrate and commit to an excellent service and more important train staff to a high standard, otherwise the future of the hotel will be put in jeopardy. Don't say you haven't been warned!

Lynn Orchard
Bristol




a with their service and even more concerning with their attidue y the reasons behind the appalling service we encountered on this most recent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything was fantastic. We used to stay regularly at this hotel about 4 yrs ago but it lost it's edge. Gave it another go as it had different management, and glad to say that everything is a lot better with refurbished rooms and a fantastic chef. The room was very clean and relaxing. The bar area is still very drab because of the poor taste in decor. I mentioned this 4 yrs ago and this year and I know there have been other comments made but the hotel don't seem bothered. it is a shame because it would be nice to relax at the end of your meal in there with coffee. We look forward to returning as this wont put us off. All the staff are very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently stayed for a weekend in the deluxe room, with champagne, chocolates, flowers, four poster etc. thouroughly dissapointed with just about everything! Arrived around 2pm and rooms were not ready until 3pm as expected. Invited to the bar and proceeded to wait 30 minutes for service. The room was deluxe yet was very tired, wardobe doors did not fit, stains on carpet, dirty glasses, cobwebs. Dinner was mediocre considering it was fine dining. Made reservations on both nights and had 30 min wait first night, 1 hr the next night, no apology. Breakfast requests for toast to be browned and bacon well done were ignored despite sending back. Complained to manager who would look into complaints within 48 hrs. Still waiting 3 days later.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hatton Court for a large family celebration. The staff were wonderful - polite and helpful.

Food was excellent - the hotel put on a hot and cold buffet the evening we arrived, which was very well received, particularly as members if our party were arriving throughout the evening.

We all had breakfast together in our function room the following morning and there was a very good selection of English and continental dishes to choose from.

Saturday we had a fabulous dinner, and considering there were 28 in the party, none of us had to wait long for our meal.

The rooms were absolutely fine - no complaints on cleanliness, decor or facilities.

Only slightly negative point, which didn't affect our party is that disabled guests may struggle as there are no lifts.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent a pleasant weekend at the hotel and would summarise as:
- charming and very pretty hotel, in a lovely location
- great views across the countryside. NB only some bedrooms have this view - worth asking!
- very friendly and helpful staff
- nice cosy and comfortable bar area
- "Superior" room was nice, light, airy and good quality, but quite small and bathroom needs updating really
- a short trip into Gloucester itself (10-15 mins by car)
- breakfast was OK, great views from the restaurant but standard of cooking was average. Eggs and bacon etc not very good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner surprsied me with a night away to this gorgeous hotel, we stayed in the honeymoon suite and when we arrived there were flowers, chocs and champagne waiting for me! The room was to a very hire standard with a private terrace, 4 poster bed and huge jacuzzi bath! The staff were very well presented and friendly and i felt that we could of requested anything and they would have gone out of thee way to provide it! We had a 3 course meal in the Tara restaurent which in my opion was first class dining... Couldn't of asked for more attentive waitresses.. As a result of this amazing trip and amazing hotel, we will now be planning a 2014 wedding there!! PERFECT!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite - Room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for couple of days for a company meeting and team building event. We got amazing food, very smooth service from the friendly staff and a brilliant time was had by all. Hotel is lovely and set in an elevated position with beautiful views. Rooms are light, airy, and modern, some with jaquazzi baths and mini bars. Would definately recommend for all occasions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun_the_sheep50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
876 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
864 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,685 reviews
24.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $92 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing